Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

The hotel is in a beautiful location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff and the comfort
Cons: The food at dinner could be better quality and a more varied menu.
Location: Fantastic location right on the beach and only 15 minutes away from Galle
The hotel is right next to a beautiful beach as well as having 2 nice pools. Bedrooms very comfortable and good size. Staff delightful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Manangement, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and your positive remarks about our staff and the locations. We are sorry to hear that the dinner was not according to your expectations and are continuously evaluating and improving our menu. Kind regards, The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Good Hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Water at the beach is not very clean like Mirisa Nice hotel with good beach view Good pools
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pools. I am afraid the conditions of the beach and sea are not under our control. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel & facilities, poor food & service

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel with great facilities and activities. Excellent room with amazing jacuzzi bath. The pools are brilliant there is plenty to do at the hotel itself. The service was average at best, possibly the worst we experienced in our 7 hotels in Sri Lanka. The food is also the poorest we found in Sri Lanka, but it didnt spoil our stay - a top tip would be to go for a room only or B&B option, definitely do not go full or half board as there are a raft of restaurants metres away (also serving breakfast). If anyone at the hotel is reading this, please provide something drinkable - the coffee is appalling, the water is chargeable, and papaya and the watermelon options are pointless (no-one was drinking them). Would stay again, but on a room only basis PS - we noticed there was, what appeared to be, a hotel consultant analysing and working with the staff when we were there. I'd expect the service to improve, hopefully they'll improve the food too.
3 out of 5
by Valsan

Adequate only for very short and functional stay.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, friendly and accommodating staff. Food at the restaurant (by the sea) was nothing to shout about (very basic and bland, lots of room for improvement). If arriving with a driver, the hotel does not provide a lot of assistance and amenities to the driver (as opposed to all other places we stayed), which needs to be rectified.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel at a great beach but food poor

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Hotel and beach very good.
Cons: The food was disappointing, just a dull buffet every day, otherwise there were just awful so-called "pizzas" on offer.
Location: The beach was great. The many beach cafes and restaurants didn't offer quality food, it took us days to find a hidden restaurant that was truly good.
The busy nearby road was without proper safe pavements, so rather tricky especially at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Was disappointed with this hotel - i would give it 3 stars not 4 stars! -It was pourring rain they didnt even offer us umbrellas - when getting out of the car, our luggage were all wet. -Breakfast was terrible!!! -staff wasn't very helpful in finding cabs.
3 out of 5
by Sigal

not a high level hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
the rooms were with bad smell. the food was less than everage
4 out of 5
by kaisir888 from dubai

nice quiet beach holiday

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
good overall... location was the best... food was average but there are better restaurants nearby so not a problem. service was OK but a bit slow. hotel facilities are OK but dated, however they are pretty good for Sri Lanka.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
good friendly staff. nice food and specially mr dayal gave us a exceptional service in the restaurant. nice swimming pool. overrall it was a good trip at calamander and we will recommend calamander to our friends and family. well done guys keep up the good work.
5 out of 5
by Jasmeet

Above average

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
We were four and stayed for 3days it was I guess the best hotel on that beech but still there were some things which I didn't like as the bathroom was not maintained properly and it was smelly too. Breakfast was almost same every day