Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

wonderful

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Quiet and relaxing, only 12 rooms, so not many people. Nice lounge areas to sit and read. Short tuk-tuk ride from the Fort. Beautiful grounds.
Cons: No, all was excellent.
Location: Only, 5 min from station by tuk-tuk, on a small hide to catch the breeze.
Great place to stay. Quiet, clean, relaxing, and staff very helpful. Excellent pool. Great food, especially breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Nathan

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Charming little place on the outskirts of Galle. To be clear, if you want to walk around colonial Fort and look at the cute buildings, you'll need to take a $4/ten min tuk tuk ride. Not a huge deal, just something to be aware of. Gorgeous building and they did a great job. I stayed in the Capitan's Suite, and had a bathroom the size of a Manhattan apartment. Decent food. Good Sri Lankan breakfast with hoppers, etc if you are into that. Not much going on in the immediate around the hotel, so expect to go into Galle Fort to eat/hangout/sight see or take a trip down the coast to some of the numerous beaches. Charming staff. Note: if you have children, they'll love seeing the rabbits, turtles, peacocks, mongeese (is that the plural?) and monkeys that run wild over the property, so that was a nice added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Colonial home just 2km from Galle Fort

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The peace and quiet. The sense of history. The gentle cool breezes that blow across the front verandah on a warm sunny day.
Location: Hotel is about 300 metres from the lighthouse hotel and beach. It's 2km from Galle Fort. Both are easily accessible by walking or $4 Tuk Tuk.
We celebrated a perfect 16th wedding anniversary in The Admiral suite at Tamarind Hill and absolutely loved it. Many hours were spent on the wide colonial verandah, reading and relaxing. The days were beautiful, sunny and warm 30ish. The verandah had a constant but gentle cooling breeze making it ideal for whiling away an afternoon. The colonial home (hotel) is a little out town surrounded by natural bushland. The only sounds were the local wildlife, monkeys and peacocks, both of which wander the property. It was extremely peaceful and relaxing, sitting and reading on the verandah or beside the pool. If you want a quiet spot near Galle Fort and the experience of on old colonial mansion, you can't beat Tamarind Hill, The Admiral' room. You can really get a sense of the luxury they enjoyed. The master bedroom was enormous with a traditional four poster bed, mozzy netting and antique ceiling fans. The bedroom included sitting and dressing areas. The ensuite is bigger than most hotel rooms. There was a further sitting room / launch with matching size to the bedroom. This was all topped off with two of our own private balconies. It was all very indulgent. The alcohol was about half the price of anywhere in Galle with a G&T for about $4 US. Meals where good, but Galle Fort is also a 5 minute slow Tuk Tuk ride away if you wanted a broader selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Colonial hideaway just 2km from Galle Fort

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: The Admiral suite, especially the private verandah. It was extremely quiet, peaceful and cool.
Location: 2km from Galle Fort, 100m from Jetwing Lighthouse hotel. Easy walk down to the beach next to the Lighthouse hotel. 5 minute Tuk Tuk to Galle Fort.
We celebrated a perfect 16th wedding anniversary in The Admiral suite at Tamarind Hill and absolutely loved it. Many hours were spent on the wide colonial verandah, reading and relaxing. The days were beautiful, sunny and warm 30ish. The verandah had a constant but gentle cooling breeze making it ideal for whiling away an afternoon. The colonial home (hotel) is a little out town surrounded by natural bushland. The only sounds were the local wildlife, monkeys and peacocks, both of which wander around the property. it was extremely peaceful. If you want a quiet spot near Galle Fort and the experience of on old colonial mansion, you can't beat Tamarind Hill, The Admiral' room. You can really get a sense of the luxury they enjoyed. The master bedroom was enormous with a traditional four poster bed, with mozzy netting and antique ceiling fans. It included sitting and dressing areas. The ensuite is bigger than most hotel rooms. There was a further sitting room with matching size of bedroom. This was all topped off with two of you're own private balconies. It was all very indulgent. The alcohol was about half the price of anywhere with a G&T for about $4 US. meals where good, but Galle Fort is also a 5 minute slow Tuk Tuk ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Great rooms, staff, and food. The pool guy especially wanted me to mention him as being great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely little hotel minutes from Galle Fort

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed four nights at the Tamarind Hill and the room, restaurant and gardens were fantastic. They have a lovely swimming pool in the garden but could do with getting rid of the cumbersome daybeds and replacing them with a few more sun longers plus parasols that can be moved more easily as there is very little shade while at the pool. Otherwise, the staff were lovely, the food excellent(breakfast and dinner - try the curry!), rooms nicely appointed and the hotel positioned just five minutes by tuk tuk from Galle Fort. Breakfast on the terrace (a la carte which was a lovely change from the usual buffets) with the local peacock displaying his feathers is a setting that would be hard to match anywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb old colonial style hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel was quiet and comfortable with friendly attentive staff
Location: Within 10 minutes of Galle fort. Lovely on site swimming pool.
Our greeting by Sameera and "Bonny" when we arrived was warm and friendly. Suresh and the restaurant team where excellent. The whole experience was the best throughout our trip in Sri Lanka.
5 out of 5
by Wei Jun from China

Tamarind Hill Ooz with Class

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
One word to describe this hotel- Class. We miss the lovely rabbits in the garden, they are so adorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A true Sri Lankan gem.

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
The rooms are both beautiful and tranquil (and the a/c created perfect air both in temperature and quality - it actually inhales like fresh air: a unique and very appreciated outcome when it's very hot and extremely humid outside the door!). Each of our rooms had their own mini (fully private) courtyards and, as for the ensuites, the almost 'outdoor' shower set-up was fabulous! Note: Our party travelled as 3 colleagues with 3 rooms which caused the only hiccup: Hotels.com couldn't make the booking on-line however the Call Centre assisted quickly and cleanly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK.

A beautiful hotel.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: It was so unusual but every thing was at it should be.
Cons: Not a lot.
Location: We enjoyed the town especially the old part and it was easy to get to.
The photograph did not do it justice but I had getting a good shot myself. We enjoyed the animals and birds around the place and the food was excellent. Two days was not long enough so we will have to come back.