Ratings based on 2,375 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Check in was quick and easy, parking is 18 a day and you have to pair your own car sadly. Two elevators In the hotel but they were taking up to 5 minutes to get to you. The hotel staff inside the actual hotel was super nice, although the representatives on the phone particularly Desiree and a few others were rude and lacked knowledge of the hotels deposit fee and etc. Thursday before my trip I was going to find a new hotel due to the reservation staff being extremely rude but I’m glad i didn’t. The location was perfect, next to the galleria, but not in the direct line of the galleria traffic. And none of the cleaning ladies speak English, I kept asking them to come back and clean the room when I left for my funeral but they knocked every five minutes until I left. Overall I enjoyed to hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great Value mid-range with the spirit of the W

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: This hotel was a great value for the location. It was cheap without feeling cheap.
Cons: Aloft had no on-site kitchen and the maintenance was lacking in some places.
Location: This hotel is located in an upscale shopping district with that also features fine dining options.
For better or worse, the connection between this Aloft hotel and the "W" hotel chain is obvious. Aloft is to W as Hampton is to Hilton, or as Fairfield is to Marriott. This is an older mid-grade property that has been redecorated in an ultra-contemporary style. There is a pervasive vibe of “trying too hard” . . . imagine the parents of teenagers desperately trying to be “cool” or “hip.” There is a small bar in the lobby but no built-in restaurant. That’s OK because it is next door to a Ruth’s Chris and there are lots of other great food options in this part of Houston. It is hard to explain, but the place FEELS a little nicer than it really is. This feeling, along with the competitive rate from Expedia, makes the Aloft near the Houston Galleria a GREAT VALUE compared to other options in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to family.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location to downtown.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: To family
Excellent and quiet. Clean and courteous! The location to downtown Houston. Close and walk distance to stores.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice, but missing basic amenities

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Nice room. No iron or ironing board. Water ran out of shower onto floor even with door closed. $18 a day for parking on top of what you’re paying for your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by aloft gm, Hotel Management
Hi Phil- We do apologize that you could not find the iron and ironing board in your room but rest assured that each room does have one located in the headboard by the shower door. We ensure that we have placement stickers locate inside the closet with directions on where they are located and each one of talent members can always walk any guest through where to find it. We would love to invite you back and the next time you stay we will ensure you know where all our amenities are located so we get a higher score on your review as we always strive for a 5.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

These Aloft Hotels are consistent

Posted Nov 21, 2017
I tried my luck with Aloft in Denver then in Houston the following week. These hotels are consistent regardless of location. The rooms are small but okay, the coffee in the room is better than the lukewarm sludge they serve in the lobby/breakfast area. The breakfast is the worst of any hotel I have stayed at. Candidly, we were in the Denver Aloft for a 3 day meeting. Most people went out to get breakfast and coffee or went up to their room to brew a cup. I have stayed in many other hotels in both areas and would not stay at an Aloft again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by aloft gm, Hotel Management
Thank you for candid feedback about your recent stay. We do apologize that the Aloft concept did not exceed your expectations but we would like to ensure that have the information about all the brands that the Marriott family has to offer. Thank you again and we hope you will find a brand that suits your needs the next time you are in Houston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Close to galleria

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Nice hotel. Trendy and vibrant. Decent workout facility. Really, my only complaint is that they use “conditioning shampoo” instead of shampoo and conditioner. Seems trivial, I’m sure, but you’re not a Best Western.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Very clean, neat and friendly staff. Well worth the money. There is a $18 parking charge also FYI.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The location is at the heart of houstons galleria, a walking distance to a lot of attractions. The hotel has also been kept very well. I will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet a bit private
Cons: Make it easier to park on higher parking level closed not sure why
Location: For us close to family and the gallaria
Nice place to stay when you want peace and quiet. Always enjoy our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Excellent staff. Great exercise room. Such a great location. Very accommodating of pets!