Ratings based on 2,721 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Fantastic!!!!

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The service
Fantastic. all staff and service is incredible! is amazing !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB Canada

Due for a decor refresh, showing its age.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location, style.
Cons: Aging decor needs updating/maintenance
Location: Best location for city access, shopping and best restaurants in the Post Oak/Galleria area.
Experience was good, friendly staff and a comfortable bed and soft linens. Building decor (high style) is now showing its age with excessive wear and tear, needing some TLC and maintenance repair. Leaking A/C and flickering light fixtures. Towels were a little old as well. However, would still come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
You know what they say, “Location, location, location”! We agree – Hotel Derek is incredibly lucky to have a plethora of boutique restaurants, eateries, and boutiques within walking distance. I do have good news for you too – our guestrooms will be going under the knife later this year and will receive a massive facelift in many area. We would love to welcome you back to see the new and improved Hotel Derek during your next HTown visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, ohio

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Bathroom door had either feces or smeared blood near door handel. The rim around the bed was ratted and felthy. Towels were damp. It took over an hour for housekeeping to address the matter. And the sheets had a brown stain on them. Very very disappointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Mia, all I can say is …. ewww. I can’t apologize enough for the various housekeeping issues you experienced during your past visit and I’m disappointed, as I’m sure you were, to hear about them. Please let me assure you, this is not the norm, nor the experience we design for our guests. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back for a redo – we desperately need one – so please reach out to me directly when your travels bring you back to Houston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from katy, TX

The Romantic get away

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This hotel was situated in the heart of downtown and it was perfect for my romantic weekend getaway. We danced the night away and a class club. Then instead of heading home we decided to give this hotel a chance. It was gorgeous inside. The rooms are pristine and the accommodations were as well. The only thing I feel that hotel should work on is the price the valet parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Natacha – we love your review of your past stay at Hotel Derek! I’m thrilled that Hotel Derek was the perfect location to host your romantic getaway. Don’t wait too long to visit us again – we miss you already!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

nice hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The Hotel Derek was great. Room was nice and very comfortable. Restaurant food was good. The bar was nice but could be better if the lights were a little dimmer. A little to bright to truly relax. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Great location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

BEWARE: Dishonest "Hotel Derek" fees will be added

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Cons: Stop your deceptive trade practices
We were charged a "Hotel Derek" fee of $15 for "amenities" such as pool, gym, etc. although we used none of this stuff. We were also charged $25 for parking. Very dishonest hotel, as we were comparing rates to other hotels that do not add these things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HOUSTON Texas

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I love this hotel the rooms are gorgeous and the pool is small but it is so relaxing and cute me and my friends live in Houston and we booked rooms here just to relax and have girl time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Room design and quality is top

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Rooms are not just roomy, but nice and well designed. Entrance and pool area are average. Surprising extra charges were a negative when seeing the final room bill. $ 15 service fee, $ 25 parking and if it wasn't for the power outage, which gave free BF as compensation, mediocre BF $ 25
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Worst trip ever in us

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Shuttle bus was good system...easy to go get the mall And one nice smiling lady attendant
Location: Galleria mall
Way to high cost for the hotel room and services Too much photoshop for those pictures Bad smelly room and air conditioning. Mattress was aweful..all of my family had sick after trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Pleasant environment

Posted Aug 22, 2017
I really like my stay in this hotel. Every place look different. The room are clean and great staff. I would recommend this to anyone .