Ratings based on 2,788 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice Hotel on a Busy Thoroughfare

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: The hotel is comfortable and pleasant. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Location: There is a good Italian restaurant across the street. Memorial Lutheran Church and School is a long walk, but convenient by hotel shuttle and #82 bus.
The hotel is comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a good Italian restaurant across the street. The hotel has a convenient shuttle and the #82 bus up and down the street is frequent and cheap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Stay was okay.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: take away or lower the parking fee. there was lots of space available.
Location: galleria close by as well as shopping and restaurants
Had issues with my card...was not working at my room. Went downstairs for a new card, went back up, and it still didn't work. I had to call them and wait for a security guard to come up with a new card.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel so do your research

Posted Nov 9, 2017
I booked through Expedia and the hotel ended up charging me for my room, as well. Initially, I wasn't sure what the charge was for and once it posted to my account, I called the hotel. The lady over the phone said it was an error (on their part) and was nonchalant about the situation. I was irked because if I hadn't called, I wouldn't have gotten a refund and the charge was for a whole one night stay! Aside from that snafu, hotel is really nice. Staff at the bar was super friendly. Location is great. Close to the Galleria and a lot of the hip new food places- hopdoddy, steak 48. Would book again but would also keep an eye what's being charged on the card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Hey Jetsetter, thank you for your feedback. We will definitely look into the situation so that this never happens again. We agree – our River Oaks/Galleria area has so much to offer our guests that we can’t wait for you to come back and visit. We miss you already!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Great location, very comfortable

Posted Nov 9, 2017
I was in Houston for business and stayed here. The staff was great and the room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is in a great part of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Brad, Hotel Derek loves you and we love the reference to Hotel Derek complementing Houston as a whole. We’re blushing! Isn’t our River Oaks/Galleria area the best? Come back and visit us on your next trip to HTown!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Nice hotel very clean and friendly staff very romantic feel i loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Lynn, Hotel Derek loves the 5-star review! I am glad you experienced great service and loved our cool, bold and edgy aesthetic! We miss you already!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Over all experience was great! Definetly going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Hey Jetsetter, Hotel Derek thanks you for the 5-star review! We miss you already!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Rip off charges

Posted Nov 4, 2017
When I went to check out I was charged for water and MINI BAR I DID NOT USE. Desk clerk WIULD NOT BELIEVE ME. Charges NOT removed from Bill. WHAT ABOUT QUALITY CUSTOMER SERVICE!?@
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Martie, please give us a call. Lets talk. Customer service is alive and well, but so is advanced technology. We’ll check the reports, and make things right – that’s a promise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Derek

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: I liked the option of shuttle service within a 3 mile radius and hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Galleria area.
Cons: The rooms need to be renovated and bathrooms should also be upgraded
Location: Caracoal (Mexican seafood) very nice but pricey. The galleria is a 5 minute walk
I stayed in room 518, the room needs renovating and the shower was falling apart. I had to turn the nozzle very tight in order to turn the water off completely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Leslie, we are glad you enjoyed our chauffeured service and our great River Oaks/Galleria area! Isn’t Caracol the best? Be sure to come back and visit us this Fall to check out our newly designed suites!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

none

Posted Oct 26, 2017
There was a $15/night extra charge that should have been included in the original offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: It was nice to have a shuttle available when dark.
Cons: It would be nice when checking in I would have received a map of the area. I had to ask for it the next morning.
Location: Close to the shopping mall & within walking distance to my conference meetings at JW Marriott's.
For a 4 star hotel I expect the toilet to be flushed. The bathroom area just didn't seem to be clean. The cleaning lady left her polishing cloth on the counter. The reception desk wasn't able to give me change which would include $5 or $1 bills. Generally the staff looked just like "I am doing my job." However the clerk who checked me out had a very upbeat character & smile like you expect in a 4 star hotel. The shuttle didn't arrive in 5 min. as I was told and since it was 11:00 pm I called after 20 min. to make sure I wasn't left at the J.W. Marriott's without a ride from the Derek Hotel. I did appreciate the location of my room at a low 3rd level and close to the elevator since I was a single woman. I think the Derek Hotel falls a little short of 4 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
Sasha, thank you for taking the time to share some hits and misses from your recent visit. I am sorry that you did not receive the service that you absolutely deserve, and what is typically readily available here. Please reach out to me so that we can personally discuss your stay. We’d love for you to give us another shot – we’re every bit of four-stars – and want to convince you of that too!