Ratings based on 875 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2018
I'm on a business trip and The Marriott is always great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by SPECIALIST PROPERTY ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at the JW Marriott Houston. As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel right across from The Galleria Mall.

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: Right across from The Galleria Mall my family was very happy. Good location.
Cons: I will not stay in a room that is next to the elevator at this hotel.
Location: Good location. Close to all the tourist attractions.
Very nice and professional staff from the front desk to the South Grille Cafe. Family friendly hotel. I would stay at this hotel again but will request rooms that be far away from the elevator area. We requested two connected rooms and our rooms were right across from the elevators on the 17th floor. My family was able to sleep except me. I kept hearing the banging noise every time the elevator is moving during the night. I was not able to get a full night rest. Besides that, everything was great!! Antonio at the front desk was very nice. We had breakfast at the South Grille restaurant in the hotel and the staff there was very attentive and professional. The food was great too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by 2225, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for sharing your experience at the JW Marriott Houston. As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
***********************************************************
5 out of 5
by Catherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Terrika

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
I️ really wished they had breakfast cheaper the $20 but the hotel was great ovetalll.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai, uae

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Great staff and excellent service. Amazing location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

JW Marriott Houston - a fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2017
This review is long overdue. My wife and I stayed here in May during a trip to various Texan cities, and our 5 nights at the Marriot were unquestionably the highlight. Not only is this a beautiful hotel in a great location by the Houston Galleria, it has the distinction of being - by a mile - the friendliest 'chain' hotel I have ever visited. I've stayed all over America in expensive hotels, receiving varying standards of treatment, and tended to leave feeling that I was just one of many thousands of visitors who would pass through their doors that year. The significant difference here in Houston was that without exception the staff were not just pleasant and helpful but also extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble, and within a day of arriving I had that rare experience in the service industry of actually feeling like I was connecting with a human being and not just blandly interacting. I guess a ton of credit must go to the management team, who have not only made paramount the selection of quality people to staff their hotel, but also created an ethos of warmth and amiability. Having seen a lot of Texas over those few weeks, I was surprised to realize that I had enjoyed Houston the most by far - and the reason is this hotel. I can only hope that these standards continue, and am looking forward to visiting again next year.
5 out of 5
by Otto

Check the behavior on bar customer

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing. Just a comment a situation on the bar on Saturday October 21 between 9:30 and 10:00 pm A lady coming from a party put her shoes on the table ! Me and my wife was taking a drink in the same table (the big one in front of the bar top) and it was so disappointed to see no one from the management do something about The bartender was amazing but she was so busy with all this people coming from a party
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to big shopping mall

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The room was roomy and comfortable
Cons: I have stay at several JW's, there has always being bath robes, slippers and shower caps, there were none in my room.
Location: Great location for a shopping spree, lots of fine dining.
Everything was very good, except the fact that the room did not have bath robes and slippers, which I was expecting at a JW hotel
3 out of 5
by Flavio

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
I had problems checking in and with the bill. Although I had pre-paid for my stay, I got double charged for my room. Service at the concierge level was mediocre and not worth the price. The room was next to the elevator and I could hear the elevator cables running and doors opening and closing most of the night. It annoyed me because, as a Ritz-Carlton Gold Elite member, I have specifically specified that I do NOT like to be close to the elevators.