Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devizes, UK

A historic hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
Great place to stay with many features that recall it's earlier days as an important stopping place for travellers on the old Route 66 but with modern consciences.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated Hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Looking at Famous film stars who stayed there many, many years ago
Cons: Rooms must be modernised including the en suites
Location: Location good for the route 66 trip
Hotel rooms requires modernised including the ensuites
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

A historic hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Room Rates
Location: Red Rock Park and Museum
This hotel is recommendable for those who are happy with something historic with a unique atmosphere. However, the room (I payed $130 for one night, even not including breakfast) does not seem to deserve the price. It is as small as a little kid's room in an old house, though clean and well kept. I might consider staying here again if the rate were $40-50. In this small city Gallup, you will find a number of hotels and motels along Route 66 that offer spacious rooms at lower rates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Historic hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We paid 174.00 for our room ended up overlooking the back ally, had rust in our tub! I understand that maintaining a old building is a lot of work but I'm thinking there isn't a lot of money going into the building. Peeling paint really bad Bathrooms! Hotel was way to warm to even be comfortable. On the other hand the restaurant was great and the staff warm and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Lots of character, but just stop and look, don't stay. Rooms are OK but the killer was the bed - just like a bail of hay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Carakter
Good atmosphere and the history is sitting the the walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

"Charm of Yesterday, Covenience of Tomorrow"

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Checking in at the El Rancho, I was assigned the Paulette Goddard room, opposite Gene Autry and next door to Robert Mitchum. My room was spacious, clean, possessing a certain Western charm, and replete with a comfortable armchair, television, a portrait of Ms. Goddard and a door which opened out onto a balcony. The balcony overlooked Route 66 and was bathed in pink from the El Rancho's famous neon sign. On entering the El Rancho's great lobby, I was immediately transported back in time, to an age of elegance and glamour, when movie stars wore mink and tweed and red carnations. This style typified the furnishings: deer heads mounted on the high walls, vintage cigarette machines, a shoeshine stand, a grand piano, plush seating surrounding a large fireplace, and the prize: dozens of framed portraits of some of the El Rancho's esteemed guests, many signed: Spencer Tracy, Jimmy Stewart, John Wayne, Errol Flynn, Bogie, Rita Hayworth, etc. Being something of a connoisseur of classic Hollywood, I was completely captivated during my stay. The very air was imbued with the presence of these celluloid greats, as though their ghosts still tread the carpeted boards. I urge you to experience the El Rancho for yourself, if not for a taste of that old Hollywood magic, then for the friendly service, the affordable, appetising menu, the gift shop selling Native American wares and biographies of the Duke, or just for a frosty one in the 49er Lounge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay for the history and nostalgia

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The nostalgia
Cons: It is very tired and basic
Location: Gallop is a place to drive through really
Fabulous old decor and history with rooms named for starts and wonderful old black and white signed photos. Be aware as the rooms are from the 30s etc the are few powerpoints, no hair drier in the room and the bathroom is very old and very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oldham, UK

Charismatic hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Fun hotel with lots of character. Walking into reception area was fab, piano playing and first impressions were great. Room was cosy but comfortable. We had drinks and some food in the bar which was good and the service was great. If you are looking for loads of space and all mod cons then this may not be the place for you (their attached motel may be different) however if you fancy staying in a part of quirky New Mexico history them this is the place for you. We enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Just don't bother

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Visit for the foyer which is lovely but with no fridge, coffee maker or hair dryer in rooms, it is just NOT worth the cost. Take a look around hotel for best Route 66 experience then stay elsewhere!