Ratings based on 882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Sep 22, 2016
I've definitely seen worse, but this hotel wasn't in the greatest of conditions. Our room was dirty, had dead/dying bugs and the hall smelled of smoke. Breakfast was very limited. For the price and being a sleep only hotel, it will do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Christine Delk Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are working hard to improve the hotel and the service. We will work on the issues you had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Great price

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Excellent stay for the price, especially with breakfast included. Spacious room with microwave and refrigerator. TV was old and the pool is empty, but the price was right for our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy you were satisfied with your stay. We are working to make improvements to the hotel and service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was nice.
Cons: Extend the breakfast to 11:00 a.m.
Location: There was nothing close by other than Taco Bell. I drove about 7 miles to get to the casino.
The room I got was near the ice machine. The ice machine was loud and noisy. I had a hard time sleeping. I was not happy with the room assignment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Christine Delk Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry you were not happy with your room. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you encountered.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your time or money

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Close the door for good
I booked 2 Identical rooms. The rooms were not identical. 1 room had a refrigerator and microwave and the other didn't. Neither room had any ventilation in the bathrooms so if you steamed it up you couldn't clear it out, The door to one room was so hard to open that I had to slam it hard with my shoulder to open it. One of the beds in one room was broken and sagged badly near the headboard. The rooms were adjoining but the pass through door to one room had a broken knob so the doors could not be opened. I booked the room expecting a pool to soak in after a long day of driving and found that none of the facilities, pool, spa or any other were operational. When I talked to the desk staff in the evening after checking in and finding out about the problems, the desk clerk looked at me like I was from another planet. When I spoke the the desk staff in the morning at check out I got a shrug of shoulders and was told "We have a lot to do". No apologies for the problems. The morning breakfast was so poor we went to McDonald's. All the garbage cans outside of the motel were full to overflowing. I was overcharged for the pet fee. If it had not been so late in the evening, I would have looked for a different place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by r, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have been asking the 3rd party sites to remove the pool and spa as well as the fitness center restaurant and bar for several months to no avail. We do our best to accommodate reservations. If we have the type of rooms requested that is what we assign. If the room request can not be met we do our best to get the rooms to as close to the request as possible. Again, I am sorry you did not have a good stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

They seem like they are closing their doors

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All of it. They said they had a pool and spa, bar and pool room and workout room but when we arrived they said it was closed for good.
Location: You need a car.
The hotel has NO pool, spa, pool room with bar or workout room. You just get a room here and its very noisy and unsafe. Don't stay here if you want to get sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Joan Hughes - General Manaer, Hotel Management
I am sorry you were misinformed. We have taken all of those items off our website and 3rd party websites. There is a renovation in progress. All of our employees are looking forward to our new look.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt lake City, Utah

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel. Good brand
Cons: The temperature control in the room didn't work properly and we were cold. There were no blankets in the room. Pool and hot tub under repair.
Location: Easy to get to close to the freeway.
The hotel comes from a long line of fine hotels but I feel they have gone downhill over the past several years. The room was nice, large and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are working hard to improve the hotel and the services it offers. We hope to see y'all again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: really...........nothing!
Cons: Everything, patio, swimming pool, TV, cleanliness, maintenance of the rooms!
The beds had dog hair underneath them...........corners of the room where not clean.............bathtub drain stopper was laying on the side of the bathtub. Grease marks were around the drain for the bathtub. Beds are old and not comfortable. TV was very old, still of the very wide type, probable 10 to 15 years old. The picture on the TV was very dark........hard to see what was going on. The swimming pool was empty as was the whole recreational area.......no tables, no chairs. Wow.............I really didn't expect much, but, now I know what 2.5 stars mean. If I wasn't so tired from the days drive..........I would have moved on to any other hotel/motel. This is my last stay at a RED LION motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we are sorry your stay was not enjoyable. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced.
4 out of 5
by Bryan

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a 4 star review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Bad Value for a Short Stay in Gallup

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
It is in a distressed part of town. It wasn't so much a bad neighborhood, as it was a economically distressed part of Gallup. There were businesses closed everywhere. The front desk was okay, but we asked for adjoining rooms and they didn't give them to us. The TV had about 20 channels. The wifi was slow. The thermostat was broken, so I don't think the air conditioner heater was working. The pool and spa we closed and drained dry. The exercise room was closed for renovation. The room and bathroom were clean with decent amenities. Breakfast was pretty good Not bad for a quick one night stay in Gallup.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are working hard to fix any issues you experienced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient. Good value for the price

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Nice, clean, good value for the price. Both google map and iPhone map pointed us to the opposite direction when we got off I-40, and it was in the middle of the night... Motel staff told us it happened all the time. Otherwise it was a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a 5 star rating. we work hard to insure your stay with us is enjoyable.