Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gladewater

Great Pet Friendly Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Very pleased with this hotel! Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean. We travel with our fur babies and we're very pleased this hotel accepted our pets. I was able to do my laundry on site without charge which was wonderful! I highly recommend this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Galveston, TX

Not family friendly.

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Curtains did not close. lights from the pool shined in all night long. bathroom sink was cracked. Bathtub drain plug was laying on the bathroom sink.beds were hard and uncomfortable. Unattended front counter when we arrived. Did not have a baby crib for our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Bugs

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Eradicate bugs and fix smell. Teach better customer service to staff.
Well...it started as I was checking in. Staff was pleasant and the lobby was clean. I was optimistic. As I was talking to the front desk clerk, I noticed something out of the corner of my eye. It was a small moth flying that erratic dance that moths fly. As I turned my attention back to the front desk, it flew right into my right nose as I was breathing in. It went about as far into my nose as something was possible to go. Well, that happens. No big deal. As I checked into my room, there was a good sized bug swimming in my toilet. I hated to interrupt his leisure activities, but I sent him on a new journey. Later, as I was reaching for some toilet paper, there was a different type of bug hiding in the nice folded corner of the paper that the maid so nicely prepared for the guests. Ok...I've gone camping before and it has really only been two bugs in the room and both in the bathroom. No worries. However, the thing that bothered me the most was the smell in the bed. It smelled....well, I just don't know. Kind of like bug spray and kind of like just something else. It didn't smell fresh. As I checked out in the morning, I mentioned "I had bugs in the room last night". The response was "Thank you for telling us". That was it. Nothing else. I had done them a favor and they were thanking me. I wouldn't have written this review if they had responded in a positive, empathetic manner but dismissing my comment with no eye contact...I won't be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richardson, Tx

great home away from home with baby

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: kitchen and easy access from I 45, close to everything in Galveston
small room but has a full size refrigerator, perfect with connecting rooms for large family and great price so two rooms cost about the same as other other hotels for one room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They need to clean this place

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Cons: Triple your cleaning crew. Set a much higher standard of cleanness. Wipe your elevator, vacuum hallway and keep them up!! Otherwise join motel6 chain.
Even though candlewood is a self-serve suite with no breakfast, there is no excuse for dirty hall way, elevator and room corners. The hall way has strong cigarette smell. Dim light and dark room color make you feel "unclean". (If the crew cannot even clean the hallway, how can I trust them with my room?) Galveston tourists could bring in a lot mud and sand. If the owner does not care about details(including maintenance), this property is going to be just another cheap run-down motel on the island in a few years. If you charge a rate of nearly $200 (after tax), your guest is going to expect a lot more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent location for. Attractions

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Decent location to attractions like Moody Gardens other than that not so much
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M.

July 4th in GALVESTON

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This hotel could use a deep cleaning, is was CLEAN but could be cleaner..!! Rates were HIGH but it was a Holiday weekend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Wouldn't recommend this hotel- even for one night.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: It looked nice on the surface.
Cons: Hire better staff, especially cleaning staff and maintenance crew.
Location: It is literally backed up to a dump drop-off. No views of any water. The closest thing to get to without driving is a Target store.
We picked the hotel for just one night before a cruise, but I won't stay here again. First of all, the property has a garbage recycling drop-off right behind it. I should have taken the clue and left without staying... The staff (the one and only staff person I saw the entire time we were there) was very slow checking us in, and every time I talked with her she would stare blankly at me for several seconds-- I'm not sure if she was that rude or if she was under the influence of something-- very strange lady. The room was a nice size, but not very clean. I found items left from a past guest, so they do not clean thoroughly. The A/C worked okay, but it stayed on almost all the time no matter what temperature we put it on. The "market pantry" items for food purchase were disgusting. They had cereal, but no milk, no juice, no water. The items we did buy for breakfast were frozen microwaveable meals and they were freezer burned when we opened them. So much for the photos of cereal and muffins that they showed you in the elevator! The exercise room had a broken A/C so you definitely could get your sweat on in there. They never had towels in the racks at the exercise room or the pool. The place was nice looking in the lobby and rooms, but it seemed like no one worked there-- unkept and unclean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great value for the price

Posted May 18, 2015
Clean and friendly hotel, a very short drive away from all the main attractions. My only complaint was that the walls were a bit thin, but that's what earplugs are for. It didn't really affect our stay. Parking is plentiful and free. Staff were quick and courteous. Hotel is kept in very nice condition. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Ok

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Only stayed for one night. Good stop over. Had an ok kitchen if you need to cook. Hotel staff friendly. Room was nice but hotel itself could use some work.