Ratings based on 1,857 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denton, Tx

Keeping it Simple

Posted Sep 15, 2016
We have driven past the Commodore many times, always wanted to stay there. Finally, we did. Quick and easy check in, staff was attentive and friendly. The room was simple, clean- no mystery odors or stains. The view from the balcony was great, ocean and beach right there. The pool was well kept, wasn't crowded...we were there in September. Overall, had a great stay, also, be sure to check out the Gumbo Diner next door, great place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach, giid, & bars

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Hotel has nice pool. All rooms have an ocean view. Great location. Multiple restaurants and bars in walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx.

Quieter part of Galveston. Family oriented.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: No matter what room we get, there's always a spectacular view of the gulf. I would love information on the family suites. Would like to take our grand
Cons: Would like more info provided regarding places of worship near the hotel.
Location: Loved shrimp n stuff restaurant, the spot, the shopping for our grand babies' souvenirs.
It was very family friendly. No rowdy drunks. Loved the view of the gulf. Friendly and helpful staff. The never ending coffee saved our lives! It was nice to go downstairs and get a small snack from the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Really quite and safe. The pool was nice. Close to some good restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed our stay at the Commodore.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: It was clean
Cons: A comfortable padded chair or cushion in the room would have been great.
The Commodore on the Beach is a very nice place. The room and bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. We found the pool to also be clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
I loved the view from my room and pool area is nice 8ft pool is nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Nice hotel, friendly staff and right across the street from the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to beach

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Not enough parking, a/c quit working on the second night, slight plumbing issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected better with price I paid...

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Beds were extremely uncomfortable...both my husband and I woke up all through the night unable to get comfortable. The tv didn't work at all. The "complimentary" breakfast consisted of store bought muffins, cereal cups that weren't even the food kind, oatmeal you could cook in the microwave. I brought coffee back up to my room but ended up just pouring it down the sink because it was the most horrible coffee I ever tasted. The only good thing is it overlooks the beach and the staff was friendly. If I would've know how it would be I would've just paid the same price for a better hotel more inland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort worth Texas

Nice but not moneys worth

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Close to the ocean and other local spots
Cons: Hotel cleanliness needs to improve about 200%
Location: Perfect location everything is walking distance
Location is perfect walking distance to the pleasure pier and some local bars. If you are going with a family I do not recommend this place the rules are not in forced their was intoxicated neighbors with a boom box in the pool until @1am when they said the pool closes at 9pm. The rooms carpet needs to be cleaned or just replaced. When I booked my stay I booked a room with a king bed surprise when I got my room it was double bed. Overall not work a $200 a night price.