Ratings based on 1,798 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with retro charm

Posted Aug 27, 2016
I've stayed at The Commodore twice now, both with good experiences. It is an older hotel but well kept up. The rooms are very clean, especially given the beach location. The decor is dated, but that only adds to the charm. The staff is friendly and helpful. Great stay at a great price!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Great ocean view
Cons: Had a little trouble with finding the TV channels. At the time we were there, they were expanding the system.
Location: Walk across the road to the beach. Walk to nearby restaurants.
Nice hotel, walk across the road to the beach. Great View, all rooms have an ocean view. Staff very helpful. An older hotel, but clean and for a great view of the ocean very affordable. Our third time to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A classic to Galveston

Posted Aug 24, 2016
I've always wanted to stay at this hotel since I was young. This hotel sinners of serious updates!!!I didn't think the elevator was going to make it up to our floor, it was a scary ride. We used the stairs after that first and only ride!! Not allowing smoking on the balcony is a little strict also. I can know say I've stayed at this iconic hotel in Galveston but will book other arrangements on for our next trip. Cami Balthrop
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Good clean comfortable rooms with a nice view of beach. WIFI SUCKS and is basically non existent. Also, breakfast Sucks And not even worth getting out of bed for it. Overall for the discounted price is was totally worth if you don't care about thereWiFi because the room itself was cute and clean!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Quirky perfection!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Great location, view and unique design.
Cons: They could mention the cut off time for certain amenities.
Location: The beach was across the street and Moody Gardens was a short drive away.
Even with the last minute reservation, the price was fair. We initially looked at the "chain hotels", but quickly realized The Commodore was what we really needed to make our trip just right. This hotel is the right level of quirky with its unique shape providing every room with a clear view of the beach. It was so exciting for the kids when we opened up our door, ran to the opposite end of the room and flung open the balcony door to see the rolling waves! The pool below us was also beautiful and the kids were chomping at the bit to get in. The bathtub in this hotel was one of the cleanest I've ever seen. The breakfast may be sparse for some (cereal, oatmeal, muffins), but I was satisfied. The coffee was hot and the nook was clean. The traffic was a bit noisy, but was easily drowned out by the white noise maker on my cell phone. The only thing I could complain about was that when I called ahead to ask about a roll-away bed I was told that we just had to ask for one when we checked in. When we arrived we were told that we could not have one because the room was locked at 11 pm, 15 minutes before we checked in. I would have been there at 11 pm if I had known. It was a rough night with a kicking kid next to me. This hotel is on my radar for next trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: it was a walk away from the beach
Cons: The leaking of the front door could be improved. It was shocking to wake up to water flooding the entrance of our room.
Location: fishing roller coasters boats everything was very close range
we had an amazing trip and the view of the hotel was breath taking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Aug 15, 2016
good hotel, a little outdated but overall a great stay... Please replace that elevator!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

good hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Convenience to beach and food, good price, and ocean balcony.
Cons: Probably can't be helped, but could use more parking spaces.
Location: Gaidos, Nicks and Gumbo Diner in walking distance. Beach directly across street. Quick drive to pier and all kinds of things.
Hotel looks older so possibly gets overlooked, so it is less likely sold-out, and I was able to get a last-minute room. Decent little pool. Friendly people at front desk. Simple breakfast. Rooms were clean, super comfy beds, and every room has a private balcony with table/chairs overlooking the ocean. Old hotel was built sturdily and you cannot hear your neighbors stomping around or slamming their doors like other hotels, and you will pay twice as much at any other hotel for an ocean balcony. There is a crosswalk right in front to take you right to the beach, and fantastic restaurants Nicks/Gaidos and Gumbo Diner directly on either side.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and could use a remodel but for the price.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Top notch staff. Location can't be beat. Walking distance to peer. Short drive to everything else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vidor, Tx.

NO CONSISTENCY

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: I really like the young man who worked evenings. I am sorry I forgot his name. He was very helpful.
Cons: The rest of the staff could me more friendly. REALLY!!!
Location: The Commodore is in the center of everything and looking out at the Gulf makes if super nice.
I never did get my WI-FI working in my room for 5 days in a row. Not sure i will be going there any longer. The elevator is scary. Outside the room it was dirty and the railing seems dangerous. The hotel is in bad shape. I was a life guard there when I was 18 with the YMCA. It has not changed on ounce. By the way i am now 72.