Ratings based on 1,802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, convenient location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Make sure AC works properly, and maybe lower prices
Location: Beach, Pleasure Pier, restaurants...short drive from popular beaches, historic downtown
This was pretty much your typical, rather over-priced but convenient Galveston hotel. The rooms were decent (though our A/C only ran in the ON position, making the room occasionally almost too cold to bear), the staff seemed friendly, and being right across the street from the beach was very nice. Decent pool too, which the kids enjoyed. Walking distance to Pleasure Pier and plenty of shops/restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unaccomidating staff and disgusting bathroom

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Bathtub drain kept regurgitating sand, hair and goo into the tub into my room in little blasts splatting the tub etc. The rest of the room was clean and ok. Very very small room with semi comfitable bed. I liked staying here in past for their nice pool overlooking the gulf. But this time the room was insane expensive $180 and for that price I'd st least like a clean bath when I woke up. I told them about it and showed them pictures but they said there was nothing they could do for me since I booked thru ecpedia. Luckily expedia took care of me, but this place had rude, noncaring staff, the owner was rude when I asked him about where to park once the lot was full. Normally I liked staying here when its $100 or less cux its a 2 star quality room but since its on the beach they charge too much and do not help when a problem occurs with the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The location to the beach is the only thing good about this hotel. If you're ok with a hole in the wall kind of hotel this is perfect! Electrical wires were hanging from the ceiling not enclosed in a box and no smoke detector or sprinkler system in the room. Staff members just hanging out on the stairs and don't even speak to you. Sheets always had a damp feeling to them and tile felt like it hadn't been cleaned in days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with retro charm

Posted Aug 27, 2016
I've stayed at The Commodore twice now, both with good experiences. It is an older hotel but well kept up. The rooms are very clean, especially given the beach location. The decor is dated, but that only adds to the charm. The staff is friendly and helpful. Great stay at a great price!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Great ocean view
Cons: Had a little trouble with finding the TV channels. At the time we were there, they were expanding the system.
Location: Walk across the road to the beach. Walk to nearby restaurants.
Nice hotel, walk across the road to the beach. Great View, all rooms have an ocean view. Staff very helpful. An older hotel, but clean and for a great view of the ocean very affordable. Our third time to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A classic to Galveston

Posted Aug 24, 2016
I've always wanted to stay at this hotel since I was young. This hotel sinners of serious updates!!!I didn't think the elevator was going to make it up to our floor, it was a scary ride. We used the stairs after that first and only ride!! Not allowing smoking on the balcony is a little strict also. I can know say I've stayed at this iconic hotel in Galveston but will book other arrangements on for our next trip. Cami Balthrop
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Good clean comfortable rooms with a nice view of beach. WIFI SUCKS and is basically non existent. Also, breakfast Sucks And not even worth getting out of bed for it. Overall for the discounted price is was totally worth if you don't care about thereWiFi because the room itself was cute and clean!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Quirky perfection!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Great location, view and unique design.
Cons: They could mention the cut off time for certain amenities.
Location: The beach was across the street and Moody Gardens was a short drive away.
Even with the last minute reservation, the price was fair. We initially looked at the "chain hotels", but quickly realized The Commodore was what we really needed to make our trip just right. This hotel is the right level of quirky with its unique shape providing every room with a clear view of the beach. It was so exciting for the kids when we opened up our door, ran to the opposite end of the room and flung open the balcony door to see the rolling waves! The pool below us was also beautiful and the kids were chomping at the bit to get in. The bathtub in this hotel was one of the cleanest I've ever seen. The breakfast may be sparse for some (cereal, oatmeal, muffins), but I was satisfied. The coffee was hot and the nook was clean. The traffic was a bit noisy, but was easily drowned out by the white noise maker on my cell phone. The only thing I could complain about was that when I called ahead to ask about a roll-away bed I was told that we just had to ask for one when we checked in. When we arrived we were told that we could not have one because the room was locked at 11 pm, 15 minutes before we checked in. I would have been there at 11 pm if I had known. It was a rough night with a kicking kid next to me. This hotel is on my radar for next trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: it was a walk away from the beach
Cons: The leaking of the front door could be improved. It was shocking to wake up to water flooding the entrance of our room.
Location: fishing roller coasters boats everything was very close range
we had an amazing trip and the view of the hotel was breath taking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Aug 15, 2016
good hotel, a little outdated but overall a great stay... Please replace that elevator!!