Ratings based on 652 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Very nice and clean hotel right on the beach. Has swim up bar at pool area and tiki bar on the road front. Comfortable rooms with mini frig and microwave. Also has balcony that is beach front view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very impressed, there was some reconstruction going on on 1st floor but maintained very well!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The pool, bar and amenities.
Cons: The pillows for sure.
Location: The beach, The strand.
So the room was very nice but the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. Also people were coming off the beach and using the pool area . The staff were very helpful but basically said there was nothing they could do about the other people using the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This is my second time staying here at the Double Tree , we had a great time, loved the location right across the street from the beach ,they have shuttle service, bikes you can use free, pool , swim up pool bar and a restaurant open till 10 or 11 pm ... there is a jetty that the boys could fish off too. Excellent time !! The rooms were also updated since the last time we stayed there , very nice :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

simply perfect

Posted Aug 24, 2017
one of the best hotels in the US that we have stayed in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Hill, PA

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice location in walking distance to everything! Hotel staff very pleasant! Kids loved the pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice pool and bar

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Personnel were super fantastic. Nice room with beach view. Very nice pool with swim up bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Convenient

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The shuttle service was nice, the proximity to the beach and the view!
Cons: Our room only got cleaned once in our 5 night stay. The time it did get cleaned we didn't get any wash clothes or toilet paper.
Location: It is great location to the beach. Miller's restaurant was fabulous! And we walked to the Pier, Duck Tours, and Murdoch's.
The hotel is in a convenient location. We did a lot of walking to restaurants, the Pier, Duck Tours, and the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Best Family Hotel in Galveston

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Attitude and helpfulness of all staff, the pool, breakfast, and convenient location.
Cons: The bed pillows were very flat.
Location: Pleasure Pier and the Rainforest Café were the biggest hits with our 4 and 5 year old boys.
The best part of the hotel is the welcoming attitude of all the employees. The next best part is the pool--there's something for everyone. Our kids could splash, swim and play away all the way till 11 p.m. while we could enjoy food and beverages from the swim up pool bar. Another highlight was the breakfast. Our kids ate free, and they had a wide variety from hot foods to cereals and muffins. We've stayed here the past 3 years, and I think this year was the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place To Stay!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
This was our second time staying at this location and both times we were very pleased with our stay. The staff is fabulous and very accommodating. They allowed us early check in both times and allowed us to view the open rooms and choose the one we liked best. One thing I wish they would change is the $20/night fee for parking in their lot. There shouldn't be a cost to park in the hotels private lot. The location is fabulous - right across the street from the beach, a block away from a fabulous restaurant, Millers, and walking distance to Pleasure Pier (although Double Tree has a free shuttle that will take you anywhere on the island, within the city limits). All in all, this is a fantastic place to stay and we highly recommend it!!