Ratings based on 1,467 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Funky hotel on Galveston Pier

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: I liked the location and the industrial styling.
Cons: The breakfast room in total. No-one was around, the room was sparse and the choice was limited.
Location: Nice location in Galveston with restaurants and bars close by.
The parking is difficult to find and not easily signposted. The reception desk is uninviting although the staff were all very nice. The room was disappointing in appearance but was a good size for families. All of the doors needed attention as they didn't lock securely and left a gap. Breakfast was included but was not presented nicely and had little choice. I appreciated the industrial aesethic of the hotel but felt it could have been more comfortable. The experience was like staying in a tin shed rather than a hotel. I was expected more of the hotel for the price paid per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston%2C+tx

Super+comfy+bed+with+overhead+ceiling+fan

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Had+a+great+experience+celebrating+our+anniversary+and+husband%27s+bday.+It+is+super+hot+in+Galveston+in+August+so+it+was+great+to+come+back+to+a+super+comfy+bed+with+an+overhead+ceiling+fan.+Not+many+hotel+rooms+have+this+feature+and+it+was+much+appreciated.+Had+some+of+the+best+nights+sleep+I%27ve+had+in+a+while.+The+rest+the+room+was+clean+%28had+a+nice+industrial+feel+and+decor%29+bathroom+was+nice+and+looked+like+it+had+been+updated+recently.+The+only+thing+missing+was+a+workout+facility+or+gym.+++We+did+not+eat+breakfast+here+because+they%27re+just+too+many+great+places+to+eat.+But+if+you%27re+looking+for+a+quick+continenta+breakfast+then+the+breakfast+provided+would+be+sufficient.+If+you%27re+looking+for+bacon+and+eggs+go+somewhere+else.++Otherwise+great+stay+great+location+and+within+walking+distance+from+great+restaurants+and+shopping.+Will+def+stay+here+again%21
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Just+want+to+say+how+pleased+we+were+with+our+entire+stay+in+Galveston.+Everyone%2C+including+the+hotel+staff+were+super+friendly.+Our+hotel+hostess%2C+Dee%2C+was+the+best.+Would+come+back+just+because+of+her+and+her+hospitality+towards+us.+
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange Texas

Love the location

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Lobby very small and unimpressive. Room was nice but air-conditioner leaked
Location: Great restaurants close by. Walking distance to the Strand.
Man at front desk was very rude upon arrival. He complained to be the only one there and having to take care of everything by himself.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayou Vista, TX

Not a nice anniversary

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Location is great. We have had great visits in the past
Cons: Clean up the place--fresh paint
Location: Located next to the harbor and Strand!
To celebrate our anniversary, we stayed at Harbor House from 4-6 August 2017 in room 224, expecting the same quality and experience that we have had previously--but we were sadly disappointed. This hotel, at which we have stayed many times, used to be a Galveston favorite. On this stay, however, we found the hotel to be lacking in cleanliness and quality for the $250 a night price. Our bathroom floor had stained grout and the shower door had black mold and rust at its base--leaking on the shower floor--yes we took photos. The furniture was worn and the room smelled old and musty. The Wi-Fi did not work. This sink was clogged. The hall floors looked dirty and worn. Most frustrating, the breakfast was all sugar!! No protein options for me--a diabetic. Lastly, when I called and complained to Brian, the manager---all he said to me was, "Yeah, Yeah, I got it." No apology! Wow!! What about customer service? Despite Brian's unconcerned attitude, we did complain to Wyndham Customer Service. Maybe they will show more interest in our complaint. We also plan to complain to Expedia and right a review on their site, since we made the reservations through Expedia.com.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad view!

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: fishing
Unfortunately we could only see a huge ac out of out window. It was very disappointing. I would not recommend staying in room 209. And the lighting is really low.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your view from the room. We hope you'll consider making a return visit. Please know you can always request another room and we'll do our best to accommodate your request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: smell, hook up for electronics
Location is perfect, close to everything. No hook up for electronics; tablets, phones, etc., really upset about that. Smell from restaurants below in rooms. Bathroom not clean at all. Small trashcans that left us having to keep things out on tables.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We appreciate the insight of your stay at the hotel. We will pass along your comments to our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and hope you'll make a return visit soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Great location. Convenient to other attractions. Enjoying the view and hospitality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review of Harbor House Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed the location and the view. We look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Family Cruise

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms
Perfect hotel for the night before the cruise. Right next to the ship's pier. Eating places right around it. Rooms are spacious and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are thrilled you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay at Harbor House Hotel. We appreciate the positive review and we hope to see you again for an extended stay in Galveston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Excellent staff - especially Dee at the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star rating of Harbor House Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the service and hope to see you soon.