Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Best breakfast room and assortment
Cons: Bed comfort
Location: Great location
We stayed 4 nights at this location. Overall experience was really good. Check in required a deposit for incidentals - expected but that was charged up front - unexpected. Unless you pay cash for the room then this is waived. Ok cool, but the hotel doesn't have an ATM. Not cool. So I walked two blocks to an convenience store to make several withdrawals (charge each time of course). Bottom line get a ATM machine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Eddie Garcia, Hotel Management
We are sorry about the inconvenience, but yes we do request a credit card for incidentals. We then authorize 25.00 which usually is returned after check-out. I appreciate your feedback and will look into the ATM. Thanks again and we hope you come back to visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The room was clean but the carpet felt wet and the room had a wet muggy smell
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Eddie Garcia, Hotel Management
I am very sorry that your stay was less then perfect. We are working towards making our property better and we hope to see you again soon. You feedback is critical for us to move forward. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A night in the torture chamber.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: Some one needs to check the beds and make sure that necessary updates are performed.
Location: Galveston beach.
The hotel was very nice except for one crucial problem. The mattress was a gigantic sink Hole. I was waiting for Freddie Krueger to pull me in. I have never had a more uncomfortable Night's sleep. For a chain like Holiday Inn to think this was acceptable is a gross injustice. I would have expected someone to perform quality control periodically to ensure that the Mattresses are comfortable and supportive for a good nights rest. Therefore, as we have A choice we will NOT be returning to this property. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Eddie Garcia, Hotel Management
I am very sorry that you had to endure such a bad bed. I have to say I had to laugh just a little at the Krueger reference. Although on a serious note we are working to make our hotel better and we have just changed every matters in our hotel. I hope you comeback soon and try them out and let me know what you think. Thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean - view of ocean

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness of rooms, comfortable beds, nice linens, good pillows and good view of the ocean.
Cons: Large section of sheetrock had been repaired from door making hole in wall, but not painted. Cabinet the fridge is in was banged up pretty badly.
Location: Convenient to local attractions, yet wasn't in the hub of the actions; therefore much quieter location and less traffic.
Hotel and grounds were very nice. Room was also very nice and clean, however, could use a little sprucing up (a little too banged up for an "excellent" rating).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by mehmet, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best guest experience. Our wonderful staff works hard to deliver the Holiday Inn Express experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to your next stay. Mehmet Cetinkaya General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
It was very nice and confortable and the breakfast was so good for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by mehmet, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best guest experience. Our wonderful staff works hard to deliver the Holiday Inn Express experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to your next stay. Mehmet Cetinkaya General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Nice hotel on the Seawall

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Hotel was nice and clean. Right across the street from the Seawall. Free parking out front, also had free covered parking in the back (with access to elevators). Rooms were clean with comfortable beds. Suites had outdoor balconies facing the Seawall with a small table and two chairs. Suites had microwave, refrigerator and Keurig pod coffee makers. Also had air conditioned common areas, Free breakfast. Many restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach, reasonable price

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: the breakfast
Cons: cleaning
Location: you can reach anything in with in 10 min or less, right across from ocean
Hotel in all was good. just small things like dirty carpet in rooms and water damage on on dressers and other things in the room. other than that right in the middle of everything and not a bad price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Within half mile -walking distance- to get to sandy part of beach. Close to schlitterbahn and moody gardens. Previous guests had trashed the room - needs to be painted. Was a bed to sleep on and that's it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Quick Trip to Galveston

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good and free parking.
Cons: The dampness of the carpet in the room, the appearance of the doors, and other cosmetic items.
Location: The location is far from most things. The beach across from the hotel isn't usable. Only 1-2 close places to eat (walking distance).
The hotel was nice, but does need some work in various areas (our door looked like it was broken into and the damage was still visible). It was further away from the main attractions than we had hoped. You couldn't walk to get food or anything. You had to drive everywhere. The breakfast was good and better than most hotels (biscuits, gravy, bacon, sausage, yogurt, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, etc.). The location was a bit of a disappointment since other reviews said it was close to the beach, but the beach area wasn't usable that is directly across from the hotel. We had to walk pretty far to get to a sandy beach area that we could put our chairs and other items on. Also, the carpet in the room near the air conditioner was always damp. No where were else but in that area which included the table that had two chairs and the side of the bed. The room did have a balcony, but since we were on the first floor we didn't get to see much of the water from it, but it was good to hang items from the beach to dry. Overall it was a good stay, but based on location and other things I wouldn't return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Less than mediocre hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Down side-Elevator did not work properly. Waited over 8 minutes for elevator to come down to 1st floor when there are ONLY 4 floors total. Room was VERY stuffy & humid even with air-conditioning on. Rooms smelled like uncleaned old carpets. Up side- hotel is directly across from beach.