Ratings based on 3,199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The old hotel is very nice. My only remark is that it needs some touch up here and there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

a little worse for the wear, but good value

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Affordable nice hotel but I was a but surprised by the condition and cleanliess of the rooms and halls beyond the lobby. But overalll, for a Galveston hotel, it was quite nice. Staff was very pleasant and the location was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Wonderful stay for a few days during the week! The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cypress, Tx

A Birthday Get A Way to Remember!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel with all of its history and grandness was perfect from the moment we checked in until we departed. Cannot ask for much more. Will return.
Absolute Fantastic spur of the moment birthday get a way from the everyday hustle of life and business to experience the charm of Galveston and all it has to offer. What started out as a simple getaway for a birthday turned into an experience where we were treated like a King and Queen and had a blast. The Galvez was Great and everyone was friendly, helpful and overly interested in making our stay a pleasurable one, the restaurants we experienced where first class with great food, great staff and great atmosphere. We will return again....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Small room, expensive valet, room too far away from everything, gift shop open late, employees did not exert any enthusiasm, pool was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Staff rude, didn't inform well, old hated this hotel completely find another one better for this price, couldn't find a way of fixing the problem, and top it off with calling you a liar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Fabulous Historic Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Historic ambiance, the staff, the pool, the location! Loved it all.
Location: Location is fabulous. A couple minute walk to Pleasure Pier, historic Murdoch's shop and lookout, and restaurants. Beach right across the street.
My family and I went down here for a last minute summer get away. We could not have been more pleased. As soon as you walk in you step back in time into a gorgeous lobby full of ambiance and character lacking in so many sterile hotels today. The staff was friendly, and although they were extremely busy and booked to the max, we managed to check in 30 minutes early. The room was clean and larger than expected based on other reviews. The rooms are the size according to time period the hotel was built and are extremely comfortable and clean. There were 2 teenage daughters heights 5'10" and 6'1", my husband 6'4" and myself in the room - we had plenty of space. The full gulf view is worth the extra money. In the evenings, there is a good vibe in the lobby with the hotel bar plus the live piano and bass players. Children were also walking around with ghost meters as the hotel is supposedly haunted! Such fun! Our family absolutely loved the whole experience. Oh, and don't miss the awesome swimming pool. Great bar there as well! Staff was great all across the board also. Five Stars!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We have stayed her several times. This time we were not as pleased. Got to the hotel at 3:50 to check in. (Check in time is 4) we were told our room wasn't available yet due to them not being cleaned yet. We could understand that they were sold out the night before and had a lot of rooms to clean. Waited for an hour and checked again. Still not available. We decided to go get something to eat and called in the middle of dinner to ask and said it had just become available. That was at 6:30 pm. No offer of late check out or anything. The door of our room looked to have been peed on by dogs continually marking their spot. A bit disappointing to say the least.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Hotel Gálvez

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: La cama
Cons: Habitaciones más grandes y cambiar alfombras en todo el hotel Tener bufet incluido en el pago de tu habitación y en desayuno comida y cena
Location: No te dan información de actividades y no saben hablar español en ese hotel
La alberca muy sucia Y te quieren cobrar por todo E Los almuerzos muy pobres y caros
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The staff is great We are repeat customers and will be there again We just stayed there 4days and bartenders are great people