Ratings based on 3,729 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great place to stay. Very courteous staff. Beautiful property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loves the salt water pool!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice stay on the water. Staff were very kind and friendly and would often go out of there way to make sure you had a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We take great pride in providing our guests with an amazing stay here at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel. It delights us that you enjoyed our location and salt water pool! We're also glad that you found our team to be friendly and went above and beyond for you to make sure you had a great visit. Thank you so much for the comments and come back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Very conveniently located across from the beach and near things to do. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a really good time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa! It was our pleasure to provide you with friendly assistance. It sounds like you had a lot of fun exploring our nearby beach and local attractions, too! Your warm praise is valued, and we'd love to have you return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
It was raininy but had a great time. The hotel was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your outstanding rating of Hotel Galvez & Spa made our day! Although the weather didn't cooperate, we're glad that didn't deter you from having a wonderful time here. We hope the rest of your travels were just as enjoyable. Many thanks for your kind words, and we'd be honored to host you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watson, LA

Beautiful Hotel across from the beach

Posted Aug 2, 2017
This hotel and the staff are wonderful!! The hotel and rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff extremely helpful and friendly. It is located across from the beach and in the middle of everything. I brought my daughter and her friend to enjoy a quick trip prior to school starting. Loved the pool and walking on the beach, Pleasure Pier within walking distance and Moody Gardens and Schliterbahn Waterpark right down the road along with many restaurants. If you prefer to stay in to eat, the food at the hotel is delicious!! I can not say enough. Very much enjoyed our stay and will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stacey, It sounds like you, your daughter and her friend had a wonderful time with us! We're happy they could go back to school having experienced a trip to the beach and Pleasure Pier, and many other area attractions. Our kitchen staff will be pleased to hear you enjoyed our food just as much as the offerings at area restaurants. On behalf of everyone at the Hotel Galvez & Spa, we thank you for your positive review. We hope you'll bring your daughter and her friend back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lindale,tx

Overpriced Hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Upon arrival at The Hotel Galvez we were greeted by a rude young man that told us to pull over they don't have enough luggage carts and it would be awhile . While we waited and watched them take carts to people that had pulled in behind us . I finally had to yell at one of them that we were next and we got a cart . Get to the front desk to check in and our room isn't ready . This is after the check in time . They gave us 2 drinks . The room was very small but had a great view . The pool water was disgusting . There was a white film all near the steps which was prob bird poop . The thirdnight we stayed they did not change our sheets on our bed . They just made the bed and there was sand all over the sheets . We looked at a hotel down the street the San Luis resort and when we return we will be staying there .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stacey, Thank you for your feedback. We are dismayed that we were not able to show you the exquisite level of service and hospitality that has made our hotel a premier destination on the Gulf Coast for over 100 years. Our entire staff is highly professional and motivated to give our guests the best experience possible, and we are very sorry that you did not experience that during your arrival or in housekeeping. It was certainly not our intention to pass you over for cart service at any time. We are also sorry that you had an issue with the pool water. We have never encountered this feedback before and will take extra care to be sure that our incredible pool returns to its usual glory. Please consider us for another stay in Galveston so that we can show you the experience you deserve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The beds where comfortable, the bathroom is small we had a nice view. The walls are thin we could hear our neighbors occasionally when they were loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. It was great having you with us, and we are pleased that our accommodations were satisfactory. It is unfortunate that you could hear through the walls. Our front desk staff is always available to assist should you have issues such as noise disturbances. We look forward to your next visit with us. Take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Considering this is considered a luxury hotel, the room was more like a much more expensive Best Western, drab, too small, comfortable enough, loud air conditionner,''double beds" too small. Somewhat disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Micheline, One of the unique characteristics for Hotel Galvez & Spa that we have tried to maintain is the rich history that our hotel has enjoyed for over 100 years. Within that authenticity are rooms that are a bit smaller than more modern hotels. We hope that the overall experience that we deliver more than makes up for the smaller sized rooms, but we are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations. We regret that you were somewhat disappointed in this stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you with an even better experience the next time you are in Galveston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Humble, TX

Beautiful Old Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: There is historical information located throughout the hotel.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room. I am not hard to please but I think they should take better care when cleaning the rooms for the price that is paid.
Location: This is right across the street from the water. Easy walking to Pleasure Pier and other activities.
The Galvez is absolutely beautiful. The employees were all very nice. Our room wasn't quite ready when we got there but they called as soon as it was so we could check in. I chose this hotel because my mom was in town and I wanted something nice for us for a couple days since she doesn't get to do this kind of thing very often. I chose a water view room, which of course was more expensive. There was a tiny window in the room by the head of the bed and another window that was about 2-3' wide. Yes, it was ocean view but not a typical "water view". When we first got into our room, there was a long black hair on the bathroom floor. My mom and I both have shoulder length red hair. The second day, after the maids came, we were back in our room and there was a sunflower seed on the ground. Neither of us eat sunflower seeds. There's a chair in the room and the side of the chair looked like it had something poured down the side of it but never cleaned up. For over $300 PER NIGHT I honestly would have expected much more attention to detail when it comes to cleaning. For that, I was very disappointed. I definitely wouldn't pay this amount to stay there again even though the place is truly beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michele, Thank you for your recent feedback. Providing a wonderful stay is what we strive for at the Hotel Galvez & Spa. We agree, the hotel is quite beautiful and over 100 years old. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your room wasn't cleaned to our standards. We will certainly be speaking with housekeeping so they are aware that attention to detail is being missed which is not up to our level of service. In the future please know that a quick call to the front desk can have your room fixed up in no time. Cleanliness and comfort are always priorities for us as we want you to be happy during your stay. We will use your constructive review to continually improve upon our guest accommodations. Nonetheless, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and were able to explore the Pleasure Pier and some of the other attractions in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tomball Texas

Posted Jul 17, 2017
It was a great stay. I took my daughter and a friend of hers that was visiting from Kentucky so they could experience staying in a haunted hotel. they wanted to stay in room 501 and the staff was very kind to give us that room. the girls really enjoyed it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cynthia, Thank you for visiting the Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are excited that we could accommodate your daughter and her friend's wishes for an authentic experience in 501! It is great to hear that they had an awesome time! We love the opportunity to share the rich history of our amazing property. Please allow us the honor of hosting you again in Galveston!