Ratings based on 3,189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Fabulous Historic Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Historic ambiance, the staff, the pool, the location! Loved it all.
Location: Location is fabulous. A couple minute walk to Pleasure Pier, historic Murdoch's shop and lookout, and restaurants. Beach right across the street.
My family and I went down here for a last minute summer get away. We could not have been more pleased. As soon as you walk in you step back in time into a gorgeous lobby full of ambiance and character lacking in so many sterile hotels today. The staff was friendly, and although they were extremely busy and booked to the max, we managed to check in 30 minutes early. The room was clean and larger than expected based on other reviews. The rooms are the size according to time period the hotel was built and are extremely comfortable and clean. There were 2 teenage daughters heights 5'10" and 6'1", my husband 6'4" and myself in the room - we had plenty of space. The full gulf view is worth the extra money. In the evenings, there is a good vibe in the lobby with the hotel bar plus the live piano and bass players. Children were also walking around with ghost meters as the hotel is supposedly haunted! Such fun! Our family absolutely loved the whole experience. Oh, and don't miss the awesome swimming pool. Great bar there as well! Staff was great all across the board also. Five Stars!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The staff is great We are repeat customers and will be there again We just stayed there 4days and bartenders are great people
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. Texas

Wonderful uprade

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Booked a double bed room, ended up being given the presidential suite! Doesn't get any better than that!!! Room service was exceptional!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel. Close to beach, shops, and restaurants

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Room was quite small with a king size bed. Felt a little crammed with not much room to roam around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the pool

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Hotel staff was very helpful, from front desk, valet and cleaning crew. Restaurant was am amazing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Q

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
I'm not sure if I want to stay there again because the guests beside me at the pool ended up missing there wallets from there chairs and it happen twice to other guest. I'm not sure if I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Rooms Too Small

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Biggest complaint there were three of us in two double bed rooms with no drawers to put you clothes in. You had to live out of your suitcases. Room was extremely small. Almost claustrophobic. We could easily hear the people in the next room. On the plus side very friendly desk staff. Bellhops were the best. Nice pool area. In easy walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. When we return to Galveston next year, Hotel Galvez will not be on our list of places to stay. If you're going as a couple it would be a romantic place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington Texas

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Very attentive staff. Nice comfortable room. Beautiful pool area. Walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Loved the Gálvez!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

It is a historic hotel!

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Historical look and feel.
Cons: Better cleaning and maintenance.
Location: Very near the beach, seawall, and pleasure pier.
When you stay at a historic hotel that is what you should expect. This hotel has been restored to look and feel historic , Particularly in the public areas. The rooms have been cleaned up quite a bit and look modern, but they are not perfect. There were water temperature control issues in our room, the AC did not do a good job of dehumidifying and there was noticeable wear on doors and fixtures. The tile floors had also not been thoroughly cleaned. Overall though the stay was , well. Historic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Very nice very clean great place to stay beautiful view loved it beautiful pool