Ratings based on 3,590 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Galvez

Posted May 21, 2018
Great location Comfy beds Laid back staff Noisy pool Complimentary bike rental Charming lobby bar A little expensive for the quality
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2018
I booked at Galvaz based on some recommendations online. The hotel itself is expansive and the grounds were well kept. The lobby was nice and had a hotel bar that stayed open late. The hotel is across the street from the beach, and generally the location was exceptional. That said, I booked a 2 night stay for about $330 a night. The value for what you got was extremely poor. The room faced the back of the property, and was not much more than 300 square feet. There was used dishes in my hallway the entirety of a trip, with a wine glass that sat outside my room from the previous tenant and was not picked up until the second day we were there. The hotel had an older feel, there was water staining on the ceiling of the room, all baseboards needed re-painting, scuff marks everywhere, etc. The hotel just looked worn out for being advertised as a 5-star place. It just wasn't a $400/night stay after taxes. The hotel restaurant was also unimpressive for the price. The pool and pool bar were the highlights, and the server team was great out there, but overall I would not consider staying here for anything more than $150-$200 a night tops. Was expecting to be blown away for that price, especially in a room without a view. This just flat out is not a 5-star hotel and should not be priced as such, even if occupancy is high.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Posted May 21, 2018
My wife and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. Staff was helpful and polite. The hotel is located on the Seawall and is close to several attractions. We brought along our two small dogs. Staff treated them well too. The hotel has two good sized lots behind and to the side of it where dogs can relieve themselves. Their are clean up stations in each lot but it was clear that some people did not clean up after their pets... It would be nice if the hotel would fence at least one of the lots so dogs could run around safely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2018
This was our second stay here! We love this hotel! Everything about our stay was perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're proud to include you among our returning guests! It's wonderful to hear that you had everything you needed for a perfect stay. Please come stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2018
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2018
The room was filthy. There were dirty panties underneath the bathroom sink! The room we were in was by the vending machine and ice machine so all night long we heard every purchase and ice being dispensed. Also the stairway door kept opening and slamming shut because the latch mechanism was not keeping the door closed. We’ve stayed at this hotel many times before but this stay by far was the worst one ever. I explained all my complaints to hotel management and they did not offer to make it right. I will be rethinking my future stays here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for informing us of your concerns. We really value your return visit and are very sorry to see that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Thank you for reaching out to us so that we can work to learn and improve. We ask that you please reconsider staying with us again so that we can provide an experience of the quality that you deserve.