Ratings based on 3,659 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Wonderful experience...beautiful hotel with so much history! Located in the center of everything we wanted to do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Springville AL

great restaurant in hotel. spa was also top notch

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: the beauty and history
Cons: nothing
Location: we enjoyed all the local eateries. The Moody Gardens and the docks were great
We had never been to Galveston and were curious about the beaches. Not as nice as the Alabama and Florida Pan Handle, but the food was the best I have ever had. The area had lots of history and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, It is wonderful to learn you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Galveston. We are thrilled you had the chance to taste a variety of food from the various eateries near us and our onsite restaurant! Though you felt our beaches didn't compare to others you've been to, Galveston recently completed a nourishment project which widened the beach 100-150 ft. We would love to welcome you back again. Surely there are more restaurants in the area that you have yet to try!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel with a great location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, location and atmosphere
Close to the beach, gift shops, restaurants and Pleasire Pier. Lobby is fun to people watch and breakfast buffet is awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Emily, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you! We are proud of our elegant, historic hotel with premium amenities, upscale accommodations, outstanding service, and a location that is second to none. We are thrilled you enjoyed the modern amenities and hope you treated yourself to a day at the spa, a stroll on the beach, and some fun in the sun at the pool. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you visit Galveston. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

Hotel was close to the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Hotel was in a great location. Parking was an issue being you had to use valet because the garage was separate from hotel. Very nice and accommodating never had any issues with getting transportation. We did have issue with ordering breakfast from menu. They had buffet breakfast which was more costly but delicious. We never were waited on at table so assumed we had to use buffet. We were very pleased we did. The food was amazing. Our bed was very low to the ground and strange. The mattress seemed to conform to your body shape and was difficult to get out of. I am handicap and had to work hard to sit up and pull myself out of the bed. Overall the hotel was fabulous I will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Room a little small, but I knew it would be since it is older hotel. Very clean and very beautiful. They keep it up to date.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

We will not be returning to this hotel!!

Posted May 31, 2017
Horrible experience!! We checked in at 9pm & were told that we had to wait because our room wasn't ready. They were giving us a room that someone else didn't want and it had to be cleaned again. They did service recovery by sending a bottle of wine to apologize. The next morning I retrieved my Mercedes from the valet with a HUGE crack across the windshield. No apology or explanation at all. I advised the front desk of the damages and they were supposed to get a manager to speak with me. The manager never came to speak with me and sent a message for me to take it up with the valet company. I have stayed here for years but will not be returning due to such poor customer service. No one should be treated this way!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Nice hotel across from the beach but a few blocks down from the restaurants. Everyone was very helpful. Room service food was great! Nice sitting areas in front of the hotel in front of the hotel. Would recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, close to beach.

Posted May 26, 2017
This was my second stay at this Hotel in a year. I would definately stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel on the sea wall.

Posted May 24, 2017
I have stayed at the Galvez before and enjoyed it so much that I booked again. Unfortunately this time my room was unbelievably small. I have stayed all over the country and never stayed in a room so small. The halls on the floor smelled musty and the AC vent in the room was very dirty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older historic Hotel across from beach

Posted May 20, 2017
Rooms are small Room service worst ever Bar tenders tenders more interested in talking to each other than serving guests Would not reccommend this hotel.