Ratings based on 930 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from galveston tx

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Hotel clean, very good location, staff very nice. I have stayed here often it is close to Utmb medical center, walking distance to restraunts and across the street from beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

East end Galveston

Posted Feb 6, 2016
For a one night stay it was ok. Parking was a bit overcrowded. But everything was a three out of five.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable overnight stay

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: location, value
Cons: update and freshen the rooms and exterior
Location: Right on the seawall and close to many restaurants, tourist shops and outdoor amusement area. If you're a walker, it's walkable to downtown area also.
Stayed one night before cruising. The location was very good, right on the popular seafront in a seemingly safe area. We walked to area attractions and restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean although outdated. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Sharon at the front desk. Breakfast was what we had expected with enough variety to please anybody unless you're really picky. The price was very reasonable for this hotel and we would recommend it for a short stay in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Longview, TX

We got just what we needed

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: I like the staff,breakfast, being in walking distance of the beach/restaurants, meeting and talking with other cruisers, and the care of the staff.
Cons: Full breakfast as other LaQuintas; upgrade on the rooms.No stores nearby so snack machines should be placed on site or free in lobby.
Location: Excellent location. The beach, Pleasure Pier, Denny's, Salt Grass Steakhouse and others. It is located where I can enjoy my stay to the fullest.
My husband and I always choose to stay at this hotel pre/post our cruises because of the way that we are treated; it's close to the beach and Pleasure Pier and some excellent restaurants. The breakfast is good with making your own waffles. We were not totally satisfied with our post stay at first this time because the first room that we were given had water on the floor from the rain, things were leaning and it was not up to our standard (we did not like the conjoining room either an upgrade was needed). The second room that we were given was okay but not to our liking either and it was on the first floor (it also had a conjoining room). We chose to stay in the lobby until a room came available; we were told that it would be about 2 hrs. I was okay with that. We had a terrible experience after getting off the ship and the GM of the hotel came to me and said that she had a room that she would like to offer to us and she upgraded it at no extra charge. It was a very nice room and we had a couple of minor problems but the room was well worth our stay. After being soaking wet after getting on the ship and waiting over 2 hrs for a cab from the port the room that we were given was exactly what we needed before traveling home the next day. Thank you so much to the GM of LaQuinta East; we appreciate all that you did for us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: LOCATION, BUT THE PHOTOS ARE MISLEADING
Cons: EVERYTHING, PAINT WOULD BE A GOOD START AND WORKING A/C UNITS, CHANGE OUT THE CARPETS
This is by by far the worst place that we have ever come across, upon arrival and check in we could not find parking so we squeezed in between 2 cars hoping not to find door dings in the morning. HERE COMES THE FUN PART BOYS AND GIRLS, 1ST ROOM THE A/C WAS BROKEN AND DID NOT WORK WITH A PART ON THE FLOOR CHIPS AND TRASH ON THE FLOOR AND CARPET, LOOKED LIKE THE BED WAS THE ONLY THING THAT WAS MADE, 2ND ROOM THE A/C DID NOT WANT TO COME ON AND AFTER SWITCHING IT ON AND OFF IT FINALLY DID BUT WOULD NOT COOL AT ALL AND SHUT OFF ON ITS OWN AFTER A FEW MINUTES MY WIFE SPAYED PERFUME IN THE ROOM TO CUT THE SMELL OF A JR HIGH LOCKER ROOM, READY TO CALLED IT QUITS I GAVE THE STAFF ONE MORE CHANCE 3RD ROOM WAS THE WORST OFF ALL SOMEONE MUST HAVE SMOKED CIGARETTES AND SKINNED FISH IN THE SINK AND SMELLED LIKE DEAD FISH, IT WAS BY FAR THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER FOR SUCH A GOOD LOCATION THE PHOTOS MUST BE OLD AND ARE MISLEADING, TRUST ME I'M GIVING YOU FAIR WARNING !!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Disappointed

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Having stayed at other Laquinta hotels, I was expecting a nice clean room..... I got a dirty, crudy room instead. Very disappointed! This location is not kept clean, which is a shame since it is such a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Wisconsin

This is a motel not a hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Upon arrival the room was damp and musty- the air had not been running. It smelled. The shower was super small and you could tell the facilities hadn't been updated in a while like the sink & shower and paint job- however the bed was nice and the room was clean and quite. Once the air ran for 12+hours the smell went away. The pillows they had on the bed were super small and wore in - I asked for more pillows and they replaced them immediately. It wasn't a terrible stay- but for the right price. Breakfast was really good, many selections and kept clean and lobby opens up to ocean just across the street& with in walking distance to pleasure pier - which we found out is only open weekends on the "off season"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeffrey J.

Great Location

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Orbitz
Great location. Older property but very clean. I had a small issue at check-in which would have been a large issue had the General Manager not intervened. The young lady who checked us in was very smug and condescending. Otherwise the entire staff was outstanding. Would return to this property again. Enjoyed our entire stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Janice from Stanfield, OR

Nope, wouldn't stay there again...ever

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Cockroaches, plaster falling from the ceiling, rain coming through the wall by the windows, dirty carpet. The night clerk was fantastic but the facility needs to be torn down and rebuilt. The breakfast was good, lots of hot coffee.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Rooms were dirty.....the a c never cooled....dead roach on the floor.....another roach running around mold on the wall.........Just plain dirty....