Ratings based on 1,127 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahome

Close to beach

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Hotel was too small, parking lot just looked trashy, maids complained to each other about having to clean rooms, they only made my bed and not my daughters, the vending machine gives hot pop. Never cold. There must be a water leak somewhere because in my room you could hear what sounded like a fish tank. 24/7. It was annoying. The toilet you have to flush twice in a row in order to even go down. Maintenance looked at it and said it’s fine, just flush it twice. That wasn’t a fix. Overall, I won’t recommend this place only because the hotel itself is just not relaxing or comfortable. The employees at the front desk are great though. And you can hear almost everything in rooms around you. Walls are paper thin. If you want a relaxing beach vacation, I recommend you keep looking and pass La Quinta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Laura, We are very sorry to hear of your negative experience while staying with us. We appreciate the constructive critique, as we are continuously striving to improve our guest experience. It is only through your feedback that improvements are considered and made. Our hope is that you will give us a chance to better serve you in the future. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Danielle LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean and close to beach

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: close to beach and view of ocean
Cons: Did not get a complete set of towels in the rooom
Location: close to restaurants and attractions on the seawall
clean, close to beach and nice view of beach. within walking distance to attractions and restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodlands,TX

Hmmmm?????

Posted Mar 17, 2018
Price jacked up due to spring break. Dirty floors... promised ocean view but got the ice maker and staircase instead
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from college station

Nice and close to beach staff is really nice!🏖

Posted Feb 2, 2018
I have stayed here before and I love it. We had the beach across the street and Denny's walking distance and its in a nice location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconsiderate

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
On 1-7-18 we got to the hotel in Galveston and it was close due to being under construction. We traveled 4 hours n we were tired n cold n no place to stay!! We never got notice that the hotel was close due to construction. It took us almost 2 hours to finally find another hotel w a room available, We were taking a cruise the next day n that’s why we were staying at ur hotel, I am so disappointed at what this caused for us that cold n tiring night, a simple Email would of done for us to make other arrangements. We also had to pay a higher rate for another hotel due that we didn’t book on time!!! Again I am very disappointed at ur service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Sylvia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and will be forwarding your feedback to the hotel management team to be reviewed. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will provide us another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Respectfully, Diana - LQ Customer Care
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

The hotel was closed down

Posted Jan 10, 2018
My issue is not with the hotel, it’s with Expedia! I booked the hotel on September 5th, 4 months prior to my anticipated stay. When I got to the hotel on January 2nd after driving 4 hours to get there I learned the hotel was closed & had been closed since hurricane Harvey (late August/early September). I called Expedia who was dumb founded & didn’t even know the hotel was closed, which annoyed me even more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Jherica, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and will be forwarding your feedback to the hotel management team to be reviewed. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will provide us another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Respectfully, Diana - LQ Customer Care
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cancellation of Room

Posted Sep 7, 2017
They cancelled my reservation, but did give me a couple of days to find another hotel. which also cancelled my reservation................bad trip...................no longer will use Expedia or Travelocity or any of your type agencies......I am finished.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Sabrina , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced with your reservation. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future. Respectfully, Sabrina LQ Customer Care
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room requested not ready (rong room)

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The service in the past.
Cons: To give what we paid for it.
Location: Our favorite restaurant Benos.
We wanted to celebrate our 32th anniversary in Galveston, like we been doing for the passed 32 years and a nice hotel room, they gave us the Handicap room, and we reserved a king size room. Im very disappointed with the room and the service the front desk lady gave us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Josette, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feed back on your recent stay. I hate to hear the team did not provide you with the room or service we have in the past. It is my goal to ensure each and every one of our guest leaves with a positive experience and based on your feed back we have a bit of improvement that needs to be done. Rest assured I will share your feed back with the team and provide additional training to ensure this will not continue to be an issue. Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Galveston. Sincerely, Josette K General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Euless, Tx.

Not pleasurable.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: For the most part the staff was nice.
Cons: New mattresses and pest control. Scrambled eggs and a meat for breakfast. Plumbing to work. If cot or roll away not available advise when booking. Mat
Location: Good location with great variety of to do's.
We requested 2 queen beds and a cot or roll away. We had 2 full beds and no roll away grandson had to share sleeping space. 1 bed had a bad dip in mattress so was like sleeping in a hole. Toilet stopping up. No "Do not disturb" sign housekeeping came in without permission. Website offered breakfast that was not present. Room was infested with roaches. The grounds were in our opinion for the price paid sub standard. We do frequent La Quinta Inn quiet often but will never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for your concerns mentioned and are disappointed that our hotel did not exceed your expectations. Steps will be taken to correct those problems. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a true La Quinta experience. Respectfully, Diana - LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great location but not as nice as most La Quintas. We were a bit disappointed. Thought the room was clean and okay until we turned the lights on in the morning and roaches scattered across the walls! It is right across the street from the beach and close to restaurants but not worth the money due to the ran down atmosphere and roaches! I will pay a little more for a bug free and nicer place next time I visit Galveston. The staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Kathy, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear of your negative experience while staying with us. We appreciate the constructive critique, as we are continuously striving to improve our guest's experience. It is only through your feedback that improvements are considered and made. Our hope is that you will give us a chance to better serve you in the future. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Kathy C. General Manager