Ratings based on 1,806 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from magnolia tx

Great family hotel..

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We had two 9 yr old and they had an amazing time! Loved the pool and special activities! All of the star were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facilities but food disappointing

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Food was overpriced, basic and outdated. Not a single vegetarian option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boerne

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
There's not much to do in Galveston and this is one of the main things. The Moody Gardens attraction was over priced. Was disappointed the website didn't disclose the Moody watermark was closed until summer. Disappointed. Pool was very nice that was opened and carnival for kids was cute. Had movie night and smores for kids. Overall I would not have stayed here if I had known watermark was closed. Not worth to cost for me. Don't feel the cost matched the value this time. Pool was main attraction, which I could have gotten at another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Nice gateaway with family attractions within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

loved this hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: It was very clean & updated.Nice pool & good restraunt.
Location: Within walking distance to moody gardens & a short drive to beach & many other attractions. .
From the minute we arrived until we left the entire staff was great. Fast check in, beautiful clean rooms & walking distance to moody gardens. Restraunt was very good also. ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

Convenient, clean and courteous staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Everything was wonderful from our drive up to the hotel where we met Mr. Ron to the entire staff while on our stay. Mr. Ron took the time to orient us to the area while taking us to our room. Not just the Moody Gardens layout and activities. The room was clean, a great temperature and roomy. One of the bed mattresses was a little saggy and not as comfortable as the other queen bed. That's the only reason I didn't give a 5/5 in the room comfort category. The indoor pool was a little smaller than expected but big enough I guess. I did not get to try the restaurant or the spa but they were available. The cheesecake from the dine in menu was delicious!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean room, AC didn't get cold

Posted Mar 13, 2017
moody gardens hotel Very clean room, modern beachy decor. Comfy bed & pillows. Nice heated pools, hot tub, & fitness room. Full length mirror. Good consistent hot water. Recycle bin provided. USB charging jacks on nightstand. AC doesn't get very cold. No towel bars. Low shower water pressure. Room ethernet connection dead. Unsecured wifi (no encryption). Ceiling light was hanging loose. Nightstand lamp blocks view of clock from bed. Surprised that the rate on the hotel bill was about 40% less than what we paid to Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: very clean, comfortable bed, nice decor, close to attractions and beach, excellent, service including valet parking, easy check-in
Cons: none that I know of
Location: excellent location; close to attractions, other restaurants and the beach
service was excellent including valet parking, breakfast buffet had a lot to offer, will go back and stay longer next time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

The hotel was too old forwhat I paid.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
You are not paying for the hotel. You are paying for the outdoors. The hotel is dated and I wouldn't have paid more than 100$ per night. In addition, there was hair in our tub. But if you are there in summer, with kids, and are not a clean frak, I guess it's worth exploring the surrounding outdoors. Otherwise look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

multiple other hotels with better views

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Noisy housekeeping bugged me a little, you can hear them talk, walk, shut and open doors etc. Friendly staff. If you plan on getting a massage or so plan like way ahead. Multiple other hotels are right on the beach with beach views and so I would say check them first. Nothing against Moody Ranch they got the pyramids and those cool things. But you don't have to stay there to check them out.