Ratings based on 1,965 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy

Weekend Getaway

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Location: Next to Moody Gardens and the water park.
NIce Comfortable room for a decent price. Liked the view from the room. Very clean and I liked the way the room looked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

decent getaway from Houston

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The view!
Cons: The cleanliness, and please replenish soaps!
My husband and I needed a quick getaway from Houston, and decided to give Moody Gardens a try! We were excited to find out that they upgraded our room to a king size bed and a better view, but were a little worried about a few other things. We had our 10 month old daughter with us, and we let her crawl around on the ground for a bit, after a few minutes, I picked her up and the tops of her feet were black from the dirty carpet. We shortly later found weird splatter on the walls. It was a bit uncomfortable. The next day, I didn't get my toiletries refilled either, but didn't notice till late at night and I was too tired to wait, as silly as it sounds, so I went on without them. The hotel was beautiful, but the cleanliness has me worried. At first impression, we both thought we would return for another quick getaway, but now, not knowing how clean it actually is, we are a bit concerned. Beautiful hotel, comfortable bed, but I wish it was cleaner..don't like that I was too uncomfortable to let me daughter crawl on the ground.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Sep 11, 2017
No complementary breakfast included with a $220 room. Holiday inn even includes breakfast. Staff was very robotic. I was not impressed and overal disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very organized hotel. Convenient with many activities near by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV

Stuck In A Hurricane

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Nice room, nice attractions, the staff the staff the staff.
Cons: Could use some updates.
Location: Sea Wall beach is about 1.5 miles and old town and cruise ports are close by.
The wife and I went down to stay one night at The Moody Gardens but Hurricane Harvey decided to cancel our cruise and plans and we couldn't fly back out because the airport was closed. So we made the best of our stay and enjoyed time in Galveston. The staff at the Moody Gardens was great. Everybody was nice polite and friendly. We ate in the Cafe a couple times and also in the bar. The folks in the cafe gave great service and the food was very good. Try the Gumbo. Since we were watching the news about the hurricane we spent a lot more time in the bar where the tv's were on. Marcus , Cindy, Denise, Oscar, Sergio and Celina were all super nice and very good servers. The food was very good in the bar also, never cold even thou they had to go to the kitchen to get it. We played a lot of pool in the billiards room as well and our room was well kept by the housekeeping staff. I will admit that the prices may be a bit on the high side but the staff more than made up for it. We had to make the best of our unplanned stay but it was made easier by the staff at the Moody Gardens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Stayed here during hurricane Harvey because our cruise was cancelled. Only thing unpleasinng about our stay was that everything was closed and we had no transportation anywhere. Got bored sitting in our hotel room and if you get hungry there's no snacks to buy you can only order what's in the hotel. Other than that everything was clean, great staff, pretty hotel & nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San antonio, Tx

Very nice environment with great aesthetics.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Hotel was friendly and more affordable then what I anticipated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leander, tx

It was close to moody gardens

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Unfortunately I wasn't very happy with the room, bedding smelled funny(like a wet rotten towels), the sink wasn't draining and the shower was leaky which made noise all night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great customer service, provided a lot of information about the activities on the property. Pool was awesome, great for kids as well as adults, with a nice bar stand and hot tub. Will definitely bring the family back for another stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Everything , Especially that it was clean
Cons: Nothing
Location: Moody Gardens
Had a great time Moody gardens next door also very clean I would come back!