Ratings based on 1,949 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Ok Hotel but a bit Overated

Posted Aug 21, 2016
First off, I secured this hotel reservation through Expedia like I do all my reservations. Well, when I went to check in the front desk staff had no record of my reservation. The young, inexperienced staff provided 0 assistance and I had to call Expedia to fix the problem. Check in took about an hour total. No good. The pool was nice, which is where we spent the rest of the afternoon and evening, as my kids love the water. Hotel restaurants were good but definitely overpriced. When we returned to our room for the night, it was late and we were all exhausted. There was something wrong with the A/C unit which made it sound like a lawnmower. Very noisy which resulted in no one in my family, including my 3 kids ages 6, 7 & 9 getting any sleep that night. The next morning I requested a refund, which should have been automatic, and after some prodding the hotel did honor my request. Overall not a great stay, but the pool and overall atmosphere was nice enough that I would give this hotel another try. The staff just needs to tighten things up a bit and up their game.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We loved it the pool was awesome. The breakfest buffet was no so good. The bisquits were hard as a rock and the pancakes were not good at all. Seems it had been sitting out to long. Other than the breakfeast buffet bad and over priced everything else was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful gulf view, great pool.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The attractive room decor, fantastic view of the gulf, and the fun adult area at the pool.
Cons: The air conditioning in the room made the floor slippery. My wife actually fell.
Location: Great location for Galveston. Aviation museum is worth seeing. Good restaurants except for Guido's which we found to be over-rated. The BLVD is good.
Hotel concierge level was very nice and worth the additional money. The continental breakfast of great coffee, fresh pastries and fruit was wonderful each morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Excellent views of the hotel and very nice pool. Very close to shopping and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Needs major updating

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The many options for dining on the premises.
Cons: Guest room decor.
Location: Rainforest Cafe, The Jetty at Holiday Inn, Ihop. Short walk to the beach. Bicycle rental.
The San Luis is beautiful from the outdoors into the lobby, however the guest rooms are dated. We stayed on the 7th floor and felt we had been transported back to the 90s. Tacky color schemes, which made the hotel feel cheaper. The bathroom inside the room was small, with a shower door that would not close, which caused the entire bathroom to get wet. The bed was very firm and uncomfortable with equally uncomfortable pillows. The balcony is spaciaous but the patio setup is awkard and makes it hard to move indoors and out with ease. Also, the railing is eye level, which makes the beautiful view, obstructed. Pool access is supposed to be limited but nobody checked our wristbands or if we had our towel keys. The walk to the beach was nice. The foot showers in front of the hotel did not work, not allowing us to rinse the sand from our shoes. Our two day trip to Galveston was nice, I would rather stay in a hotel that lives up to its qualities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This Place is NICE!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Don't leave many reviews, but this is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed..... Pool is Awesome!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, welcoming and relaxing

Posted Aug 7, 2016
My experience was wonderful! I will definitely be going there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room was poor

Posted Aug 7, 2016
I recently went there for an anniversary getaway. The hotel was beautiful, but the hotel restaurant cafe food was poor, hotel bed was veey uncomfortable. The bed was sunken in the middle and we didn't sleep all night. We checked out that very next morning at 7 am. Very disappointed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Galveston tx

Very nice hotel across from the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Very nice hotel with lots of ammenities . Checkin was extremely quick.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plano, TX

Nice remodel, comfortable bed, great food !

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The Food and Bed.
Cons: Get the kids area with games working, could not get tokens to play the games.
Location: good location.
I have been staying at the San Luis now about 15 years. this was the best stay so far. we stopped eating the Hotel restaurants years ago. we tried out all three of them they were all Excellent ! even the kids loved it. talk about capturing your audience. with all the restaurants in Galveston. Great Job !