Ratings based on 2,017 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alvin,Tx.

Stay At San Luis

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Near the beach and eateries.
Cons: Update your rooms. It just did not have the pop...
The entrance was great,staff was very helpful, got to my room on the 6th floor it was clean and neat but it did not have the feel of what I paid for the nite very plain, shower door did not close right,doors to the outside need to be upgraded,room needs update...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth the price

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Galveston has the Strand...all kinds of shops and bars. The Seawall where there are many more sports bars and , of course, the beach and the Gulf of M
The room definitely was not worth the price. Broken fixtures, broken drain plug, inadequate coffee supplies, very noisy from a nearby room being remodeled, poor service at the pool bar, and a total lack of courtesy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Top quality hotel with great view of the Gulf.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Very pleasant experience. Staff was friendly and seemed happy you are there. Facilities first rate from Valet parking to check in. Restaurants in the hotel designed to please every taste. Facilities make you feel you have traveled to a tropical island resort. Highly recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beware Check in is very late!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean
Cons: Customer service at the front desk was disappointing to say the least!
Location: Location is nice
We arrived early at 2pm and were told that they would possibly get our room ready early. I went back to the front desk at 4pm and our room still wasn't ready. They ended up having it ready at 4:30. It was very annoying that they didn't make our room a priority seeing that we arrived early. I complained that the bed in room 526 had a large hole in the middle so that my husband and I kept falling into the middle of the bed. I was told by the person at the front desk that other people had also complained!! They didn't offer to move our rooms or any thing else. Just simply stated that we were not the first to complain!! Horrible customer service if you ask me! Then to top off our horrible stay, they checked us out of our room a day early. Our trip was booked Friday-Monday. On Sunday we were having a relaxing day at the pool and was told by the bartender that we couldn't charge to our room because we were no longer checked in. I went to the front desk and was told that they messed up our reservation and that we needed to go pack up all our things and move to another room!! They didn't offer any apologies, no discount, nothing! We had to stop our day at the pool and go pack our entire room and move. I think the icing on the cake was when I went to check out and there was a room charge for Sunday night!!! they ended up taking the charge off our bill after going into the long explanation of how they messed up our reservation!! Horrible customer service if you ask me!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel with a hopping pool scene

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The pool, the room, the food.
Cons: More shade at the pool.
Location: Right on the beach. Lots of restaurants around, beach activities, and other tourist attractions. Take the ferry - walk on and watch the dolphins.
Corner room was bigger than others. Nice tub, wet bar, fridge, great balcony and view. The only negative was that when we checked in, there was a Starbucks coffee cup full of cigarette butts (20-25) and water out on the balcony. It stunk. Called the front desk to make sure they knew it wasn't ours. There is a sign on the slider warning of a large fine if caught smoking in the room or on the balcony. The pool and bar was nice and we enjoyed lounging for several days. They could use more chairs in the shade. The service for drinks and food was very good. The drink prices were a little high, but they were good. I paid more for a Macallan scotch here than in many high end restaurants. I asked how much it costs for one of their all day cabanas. I got two different stories. One person told us $500 a day!! The other said it depended on the time of year and the demand. He still thought it would be like $150 or more. This is for a small cabana, with a bowl of fruit and a TV inside. The food in their cafe (Blake's) was good. Parking was free behind the hotel. Overall nice stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Described room upon reservation were not given.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Suppose be the view but hotel place us in a no view room from the balcony
Cons: Accomodation/room location
Location: Restuarants/beach
Below average service. Place in a room with no view from the balcony
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of additional repairs/renovations

Posted Sep 30, 2016
We are frequent flyers to the San Luis for two-night stay-cations, with plenty of experience on the top floors, Club 10, and the less expensive rooms on floors 4-6. To their credit, San Luis has completed some very needed renovations on aging rooms, especially in the bathrooms. However, plumbing somewhere in the building remains problematic. While we recently stayed on the sixth floor, hotel management told me there were NO ongoing repairs/renovations on the 7th floor. I have to believe there is no reason for them to lie to me. So the constant banging (hammer-like noise) from the ceiling area of our room has to be coming from plumbing when guests above are using sinks/showers/flushing toilets. Tip for travelers. Don't immediately unpack all of your belongings after check-in to your room at the San Luis. Do a room inspection to make sure there are no malfunctions in the bathroom and hang out in your room (with the balcony door closed) for a while to make sure you won't be hassled by noises coming from your ceiling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The hotel staff were extremely friendly. The hotel is beautiful. Rooms have balconies so it was nice to sit outside with a glass of wine and look at the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Nice hotel in excellent location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Facilities were excellent; room (617) had problems: 1. Bathroom door is warped or it has a loose hinge so it gets stuck, particularly after a hot shower. The occupant finds him or herself stuck in the bath and it takes real force to open the door. 2. Fluorescent lights above sink are very slow to come on. 3. Flashing red light "message" light stayed on all night, after I reported it to the operator who said, "I guess they forgot to turn it off."