Ratings based on 2,021 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel - staff run slow

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel grounds are beautiful with great restaurants within waking distance. Room seemed perfect but we found used creamer cups around the bed and no cream or sugar for our coffee. waitstaff took long in getting us drinks or even coming back to check up on us. Seemed like we were always busy trying to get them to notice us and take our order.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Great view and location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Every room has an ocean view which is nice. The restaurants on site are a little pricey. We tried the Grotto and it was very good. There are a lot of other choices down the main strip. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The only stand out negative, was how dark it was in the room. Even with all the lights on. Overall a great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, United States of America

Best hotel in Galveston.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Had a lovely stay, breakfast at the hotel was fabulous. We did need an accessible room with a walk in shower for a wheelchair but none was available. However they helped us manage by offering an alternative for bathing. Staff was very friendly. Had a memorable Happy Thanksgiving and got to celebrate my brother's Birthday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Love the views

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, views, room, and food.
Cons: The bathroom sink drain plug wasn't staying up so water couldn't go down. Not a big problem and I temporary just stick a cup lid there to keep it up.
Location: Beaches and restaurants.
From the room we were in, we were able to see the beach right in front of us and the swimming pool areas. Room was very comfortable and felt clean. The heated pool was very nice. We loved the restaurant there because breakfast buffet was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful ecperience

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Great staff that really try to accommodate you, beautiful hotel, hot water, clean bathroom, comfortable bed and a gorgious ocean view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort for a getaway

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Cons: Our only complaint was the lack of hot water in the shower. Had it turned up to the hottest setting and it's luke warm at best. They need to fix this.
We came here for a 3 night anniversary weekend, loved it! Fantastic facilities, the grounds are beautiful and every staff interaction was pleasant. Much more than expected for Galveston. The pool is heated and open late, we were swimming in mid November. Pool area includes spa tubs, a waterfall, slide and an adults only swim up bar area. H2O pool bar has a fire pit and heaters. Food was surprisingly good for a hotel. We ate at the Grotto, at the pool and the Cafe. Rooms have balconies overlooking the ocean. And the beach is an easy walk right across the street. I could go on and on about this place. We'll be back! Tip - The lower floors are under renovation, so avoid those. We were on the 9th floor and it was fully updated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The Best Ever!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The San Luis was the best experience we have ever had at a hotel! What amazing Island hospitality! I can't wait to take the rest of my family here. Thank you to your amazing staff for providing such a great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from riverdale, United States of America

Had everything

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Loved it !! Had everything! Great pool, great room and great staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Beach Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Cons: The room had too much furniture in it.
Location: Hotel is right across the street from the beach.
Everything was perfect except our breakfast got lost but Jennifer in Customer Relations fixed very fast. Plus Jennifer followed up to insure that everything perfect during the rest of the visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Weekend Get Away

Posted Nov 19, 2016
One year anniversary with my love. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The Steakhouse and Grotto staff were exceptional. Definitely planning a return trip.