Ratings based on 2,155 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: everthing
Cons: nothing
Location: Great view
Ever enjoyable Had a great time there.The view was the fantastic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The ambiance was great. The facilities are well kept up. The pool staff was awesome! There was plenty to do and the food was great.
Cons: The front desk staff was not very helpful or nice. Also, the spa staff was downright rude. The spa services also left plenty to be desired.
Location: plenty of family fun nearby
The room was clean and spacious but there was only a shower in the bathroom and my husband would have liked a tub. Also, the bed has to be the worst bed I have ever slept in. Both my husband and I suffered for 2 nights with little sleep and much back pain due to the discomfort of the bed. I have stayed here before in a suite and the bed was every comfortable so I guess it's hit or miss here. The spa services were disappointing. If I do stay here again, I will seek spa services elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Best hotel in Galveston for the money. Clean rooms with beautiful view, friendly staff, great amenities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from galveston

Close to beach

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Hotel staff at desk rude and would not split bill with 2 credit cards. I have no idea what I paid for the room they were horrible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, Texas

nice hotel, warm pool and close to beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
nice hotel. feeling age a bit. keep common areas extremely cold. nice swim up bar. all amenities you could possibly want
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Great view, great rooms, very clean. Heated pool!
Location: There's a lot of restaurants and small retail stores nearby. You can toss a rock at the beach from your room (don't do it though).
Great rooms. Even though I was on the 5th floor, my wife and I still enjoyed the view over the water. We wanted a good view of the sunrise but being on the far East side (entrance being on the south side of the building) the curvature of the building caused the condominium side to block it. However, if you're on the far West side, you'll likely get a good view of the sunrise. Also to note, our room didn't have a refrigerator or microwave. It's not a game breaker for us, but keep that in mind. It didn't dawn on me until the following morning, but the "Vending" door does go to the vending machine and ice dispenser. Not having been in many hotels, I didn't immediately put 2-and-2 together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
As a first time visitor to Galveston and to know nothing about the accommodations, I feel quite blessed to have found San Luis. The staff is amazing and could not be more hospitable and attentive to the individual guests needs. Cleaning occurs on the property literally 24 hours a day. I feel cheated on my vacation as the pool, food, and beverage options were so satisfing that we never left the property to see all Galveston had to offer. In retrospect, not really a concern as we will definitely be returning and will only stay at the San Luis!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great !

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Friendly, Clean, Beautiful view, Great Food, Awesome Pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Beautiful Hotel Centrally Located

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Hotel is in the center of everything--fishing piers, restaurants, etc.--great location. The room was nice and had a great view. Hotel front desk staff, towel girls, and a couple of the bar tenders were a little apathetic and not too friendly. The only friendly staff we encountered were the maids, the overnight front desk guy and the gift shop guy. Pool was amazing--perfect temperature for swimming anytime. The Grotto, on the other hand, was gross. The drinks at the bar are pricey, unless you get their happy hour ($5 frozen margaritas were amazing!) The guest parking in the back of the hotel was nice and it was easy to access our room from there, but during our second day there, we were hit with a rotten cheese type of smell every time we left or came back to the hotel from the bank entrance. This was a hotel issue as when we drove away, there was a clear point where the smell stopped. Thankfully this smell was not a problem near the front or pool area. There's beach access right across the street, which is nice. Despite a few concerns, we greatly enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely be going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Elm, TX

Disappointing stay

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: My 3 year old daughter loved the talking parrot in hallway.
Cons: Customer service, realistic expectations/updates in description of hotel (I.E. check in time not accurate and beach under construction)
Location: Location was great other than beach issue. IHOP for breakfast 100 yds away and great seafood places. Highly suggest Gaido's
Check in was supposed to be 4pm the day we arrived. We arrived at 4:30pm and stood in line for about 45 minutes waiting to check in. I get that Spring Break just left and that they were probably a little busier than usual, but no reason to have to wait that long. By the time we did finally check in the lady that helped us had a room on 6th floor which at the time didn't seem like too big of a deal, until she had gotten distracted and then after 5 minutes of wondering around looking for who knows what, lost that room which caused us to have to wait until room was ready (by this time its 5:15pm, over an hour after check in time). We waited another 20 minutes by the pool which was very nice by the way and were called to come and officially check in because room was ready. That room happened to be on 4th floor which had a beautiful view of a beige rooftop along with a view of a large a.c. unit (Not ocean-like at all like explained). I was pretty upset and went back down to explain to the manager that our experience at this point had been frustrating. He didn't really seem to care and blamed it on spring break. He did get us a room on 6th floor finally around 8pm after we waited for room to be cleaned (4 hours after check in)! We got to our room and found somebody elses luggage already in room and then had to wait until they figured out whose it was (another 25 minutes). BTW beach under construction in front of hotel so view was of huge pipes and trucks and their noises.