Ratings based on 2,071 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Valentine's Retreat!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We enjoyed a wonderful evening in this hotel. Everything was wonderful,with no complaints! The room was extra nice and the view was breathtaking! We walked a half-block to Landry's for some excellent seafood and then back to the Starbucks at the hotel for coffee and desert. This is truly a 5 star hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Tx

Fabulous hotel.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice facility, easy access to eateries, friendly and reliable staff, and great view of the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Highly recommended!!!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Very nice hotel, amazing view, the room was very clean and big, good quality of food in the the breakfast area, friendly stuff and the pool area was
Cons: I was promise continental breakfast and when I was there I find that the continental its only on the week ends.
Very nice hotel, amazing view, the room was very clean and big, good quality of food in the the breakfast area, friendly stuff and the pool area was beautiful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring,Texas

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Excellent hotel! Upon arrival til check out the staff was super. We needed additional towels for our room and housekeeping acted very quickly to our request. Would stay again and for sure recommend to others!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Nice place and great people. The pool is fantastic and the staff is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

It's a resort

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Once I arrived, and I never left. Great food friendly staff all good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri city, TX

Terrible Hotel stay

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Disabled parking and cleanliness.
Location: Good location with lots of restaurants nearby.
My wife and I decided to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary at the San Luis Resort. I pulled in the front driveway of the Hotel around 3:30 pm on the 7th of Feb, 2017. I am a disabled Gulf war veteran and carry a permanent disability blue placard. I was expecting to get disabled parking spot in the front. But I was informed by the rude valet parking attendant that the front parking was for valet parking only. I did not want to spend an additional amount of $19 for valet parking. In a very unfriendly manner the young valet parking attendant informed me that self parking is on the back of the hotel. It was a very inconvenient parking area, specially for disabled people. Shame on hotel management for ignoring the needs of disabled people. There was a sweaty smell on the 7th floor hallway. Temperature in the common area of the hotel was very inconsistent. Bathroom was very small. Unfriendly staff. We decided not to eat in the hotel restaurant. I will never go back to this hotel. Very bad experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYNY

Just ok

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance staff needs to learn how to adjust the closers!
Stayed three nights. The door closers to the rooms on our floor were not adjusted properly so every time a door was closed it shook the whole hallway. On our second and third night we got stuck three doors down from a family with a lot of kids frequenting the pool and running in the hallway for hours. Not the kids fault but the adults. Rang the front desk numerous times but the security staff was either unable or unwilling to do anything about it. Very disappointing. Otherwise a nice property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, TX

Ocean view retreat

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness easy access to dining and distance to tourist attractions.
Location: Is right on the seawall and the strand historic district is less than 10 minutes away.
Quick weekend getaway to Galveston. Received warm reception upon arrival from staff. Was able to get room before 3pm. Staff was helpful on suggestions for dining and getting to The Strand. The ocean view was relaxing. The room was clean and comfortable. There were many options for dining. Enjoyed late night drink at pool bar. Would recommend the resort and is family friendly. I will be returning for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

ROMANCE CITY

Posted Feb 6, 2017
wonderful stay. We really enjoyed the heated pool, hot tub and waterfall Grotto. Staff gave us a waterfront room way up on the 14th floor. Everyone was extremely kind and professional. The beds are like floating on a cloud. Tres Romantique!!