Ratings based on 2,317 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Horrible conditions and we payed for a suite and got king room with couch. No extra in room or mini bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Woodlands TX

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The many services and on-site restaurants
Cons: Room cleaning
We had a lovely stay. It's a beautiful hotel and resort. The on site restaurants were excellent. Our issues centered mainly around the cleanliness of the bathroom. The glass shower door was smeared as if it was cleaned with a dirty cloth. The faucets had some scaly residue around them. The shower walls were not cleaned properly. The floor had streaks on it. It's a shame that something as basic as proper cleaning would leave a sour taste in what otherwise was a very enjoyable experience. Keep in mind these are not cheap rooms. It cost us over $600 for the two night stay. We brought all of this to the manager's attention who was very upset and concerned that this happened. I suspect he is going to be making some changes with the cleaning department personnel. Don't take this too negatively. This could have been just an anomaly and not the normal. We really love this place and will be making arrangements to stay there longer next time and enjoy more of the many services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

No longer my fav hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We made reservations for 3 nts to celebrate our 29th anniversary. Expedia site said it was the VIP kg corner room. We esp wanted the corner because u have multiple views of water. I am disabled now n cannot walk the seawall anymore. They did not honor the request n wanted to place us on a lower floor club ten but charge us extra 30 bucks a nite. We chose to stay n a reg VIP kg room on the top floor. No apologies not any concession for the floor change offer. Well after unpacking n getting settled we kept hearing loud noises but couldn't figure it out. By bed time it was loud n clear it was the AC unit tried to call desk at 2am n they did not work. My hubby had to get dressed and go down. Fortunately, we had a nice clerk. He moved us to club ten n waived the extra fees. Once moved @3:30 am the room was so dusty I had to wipe it down. We were exhausted no need to wait for cleaning crew. We have stayed at this hotel for over 15 yrs with no less than superior service. Well it's not now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from katy texas

Amazing stay

Posted Oct 5, 2017
My husband and I have stayed at many hotels and our stay here was the best we have experienced. The staff was top notch!!! The steakhouse restaurant is a 15 on the 1 to 10 scale. Beautiful view. We felt welcomed and spoiled. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Woodlands, Tx

Posted Oct 3, 2017
We always have an awesome time at the San Luis. Been coming here for years. Mardi Grad is a great time to go as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel with great amenities. The pool is great

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We had a winderful stay and will come again. The hotel is right on the water which is great and the pool is top notch with a full bar and good food. The hotel staff are very friendly and attentive and really strive to make your stay a positive one. The room itself was the only draw back. The walls are paper thin, we were awoken by other guests several times. The room itself is small, especially the bathroom. The bed was super uncomfortable and the pillows were horrible. But honestly it only mattered a little that the room was subpar. We had a great time anyway and will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Besimont

Love the Gulf view room

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Was nice stay and enjoyed our trip for our Anniversary
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful campus and very personable service.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Beautiful venue. Good service.
Location: We were having a getaway visit and enjoyed walking on the beach near the hotel. The resort is located in a prime location along the beach area.
The facility is beautiful. The staff are very service oriented. You can tell that they have been trained and that the management puts value on personable service. We ate our dinner on site and found the circumstance delightful and the food a good value. Our overall rating was impacted by two things. First, our bathroom floor was wet from condensation. The air conditioning had been turned off and then on again prior to our check in and we suspect that this was the cause. It was a warm and high humidity day. The bathroom was wet with small puddles of water, and very slippery.. My suspicion is that the housekeeping staff did an excellent job of cleaning the room , but the condensation took place after they had left. We used a towel to clean up the water and it was fully saturated when we were finished. Second, the television was on when we walked into our room after check in. At check out, we were asked if we had used their pay t.v. movie service. We had not turned the t.v. on at any time in our stay, so the answer was no. The final bill was corrected at check out. However, our credit card was still charged for the movie. Small issue, but a cause for me to recommend that guests be very attentive to the charges on the bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Great weekend getaway with my girls. Enjoyed lounging by the pool and hot tub. Waitstaff very friendly. Rooms were nice and clean. Close to the beach easy to walk across the street. Close to restaurants and strand. We will definitely be back for another stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pleasantly surprised with the hotel and spa... nice the hotel