Ratings based on 1,826 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

2nd STAY! JUST BEAUTIFUL!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: EVerything. Location. Space. and Decor
Cons: Nothing. The roof top bar stay open later.
Location: Its by all major restaurants and the port where the cruise ships come in. walking distance to all. you have to drive to the beach.
This hotel is simply beautiful. I try to send all my clients to this hotel when they stay in Galveston. Its a hidden treat. High Ceilings, Beautiful decor and HUGE rooms. The beds are very very comfortable and the rooftop bar is the icing on the cake. To lounge on top of the hotel viewing the port and the city at once is a treat. Ready to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Most elegant stay in Galveston.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
A great, elegant historic hotel right on the Strand. Caring, professional staff, excellent rooms, and two lovely bars. Highly recommended by a hotel snob.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: 5th avenue great place to eat
Great staff,nice clean rooms.Great spot to stay,easy parking very safe area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ms.

nice hotel large rooms good location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: quiet
Cons: different type of food
Location: too many to list
staff was friendly rooms nice and clean no outside noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful historic hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Girls time together was great at this beautifully decorated old hotel. Staff at checkin and parking valets were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, TX

This Hotel is EVERYTHING plus more

Posted Mar 31, 2017
This hotel is beautiful. My best friend and I booked this hotel last minute and it was the best decision we made. The staff is friendly, the rooms are beautiful, and the overall ambiance of the hotel is amazing. Would 10/10 recommend and be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Historic with all modern conveniences.
Cons: Adjustable lights in the bathroom would be nice.
Location: Near shops and restaurants
We enjoyed walking to restaurants and shops. Great area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room and parking amenities inadequate

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The first inconvenience is the issue with parking....all street parking is meter or hotel valet. The second issue relates to the room itself...no refrigerator, no microwave, no table and chairs for your own enjoyment. I expected a 5 star hotel....staying at places like the Venetian and Omni Cancun...the accommodations at this hotel were a disappointment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and costly with alright amenities

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff is alright.
Cons: Everything needs to be updated from their meal policy to simple things like a small fridge in the room, to parking etc.
Location: Nothing to do nearby for kids, it was a total shutout. Maybe good for bachelors or couples who like to drink in a bar nearby but nothing stellar.
When I booked room in a 4 star hotel, I expected it to have excellent amenities and complimentary breakfast which a much lower grade hotels cover these days. They have no parking and the view outside the window reminds you of a third world country. It was a total disappointment staying there and I could not wait to get out of there. I will never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

messed up my reservation

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I booked this hotel through Expedia and asked for 2 queen beds. When I got to the hotel, I was told that Expedia never made such a request and they don't have a room with 2 queen beds. I was moved to a different hotel and was asked to pay $40 extra for 2 queen beds. When I got home, I called Expedia and the person confirmed that they had indeed talked with the hotel staff and provided a reference. The hotel didn't honor the request they had been told about and then lied about it.