Ratings based on 1,580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Elegant hotel in heart of historic district

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Cons: Breakfast was poor and not in keeping with the otherwise high standards.
The Tremont is a stylish hotel with elegant decor throughout. The room was comfortable and large, and the location was very good. The rooftop bar looked great but unfortunately it was too cold to use it while we were there, but the lobby bar was very pleasant. The only real issue was that breakfast was poor. The restaurant was overrun with guests and understaffed, and with everything having to be ordered at the counter, there was a long wait to be served and another long wait to get the food. Service was poor, my wife's food came 10 minutes before mine, then another serving came later indicating the first order was probably for someone else. The food quality was poor also, certainly not in keeping with the overall standard of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita Falls, TX

Beautiful and roomy accommodations. Lobby was ver

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The roominess and the atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind that needs improvement.
Location: This hotel is located one street over from the Strand. There were lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.
Came to meet 2 girlfriends I hadn't seen in 20+ years and needed a place to meet. I booked a King deluxe suite and it was beyond my expectations It was a good fit where 3 women could catch up. When the shuttle to The Galvez (sister property) wasn't available the valet team brought the hotel SUV to take us over to it so we could enjoy the pool and again for the unbelievable Sunday Brunch. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our room was given away!!? $#!@?!!

Posted Apr 6, 2016
We were comped at a much lesser hotel. Waiting for reimbursement
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Romantic Weekend Getaway

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Décor, location, comfort.
Location: casual and fine dining, live music, shopping, bars, candy/soda shoppe
My husband and I only stayed one night, but I can't wait to stay at the Tremont again in the future. This hotel is beautiful and so romantic. I recommend a stay for any special occasion to make your lady (or man) feel special: birthday, anniversary, wedding, Valentine's Day, etc. If I weren't already married. I'd want to get married here. The Tremont House has a way of making you feel very special. Our room was also beautiful--so much attention to detail in the décor. I love the high ceilings, old-fashioned looking doors, old framed pictures of the hotel, crown molding, wood floors and everything else about the room. The bed is comfy. It's really neat to look outside your bedroom windows and see down to the dining area. Very unique. As for location, the hotel is conveniently located near several restaurants, both casual and upscale, shopping, bars, live music--anything you might want. I definitely recommend the Tremont House. It's one of my favorite places I've ever stayed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beautiful hotel in an leak location in Galveston.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
That staff is gracious and friendly. The decor is well done throughout and the location is ideal. What more could you ask for. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsport, PA

When In Galveston, Stay Here!

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Customer service -- historic aspects, the "old luxury" feel.
Cons: Nothingj
Location: Near the cruise port and oil rig museum
We arrived early for our reservation. Instead of being told our room wasn't ready, we were upgraded to a suite! And, our suite was fabulous, with two bathrooms, a kitchenette, dining area, living area, two flat screen televisions . . . I could go on and on. The king-size bed was super comfortable. There were plenty of towels and the toiletries were luxury brand, Gilchrist & Soames. Everyone at the hotel was friendly; we didn't encounter a single person who was unhappy. We enjoyed a drink at the top of the Tremont, at the Sky Bar. That was nice as well. There's an old luxury feel to this hotel, with high ceilings and high end furnishings. We walked around, reading the displayed plaques about The Tremont's history.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olathe, Kansas

I couldn't be happier with our stay!

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of the staff.
Cons: The room, overall, was clean and tidy. However, there were a few areas that could have been cleaner in the bathroom.
Location: Shopping and activities within walking distance were wonderful. Antiques, book stores, souvenirs, and restaurants within just blocks of the hotel.
My husband and I honeymooned at Treemont House. The front desk staff was very pleasant, giving suggestions of things to see and do in Galveston. When they learned that we were honeymooning, they upgraded us to a suite (which was BEAUTIFUL)! I couldn't be happier with the staff, services, and facilities!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hempstead, TX

Beautiful hotel on the Strand

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Hotel was absolutely beautiful and the room was the best I've ever stayed in. The attention to detail was amazing and everything was spotless. There were two weddings on our first night and we were worried about the noise level but it quieted down by the time we were ready for bed and was surprisingly quiet. Also the array of live music in the lobby was fantastic, you can hear it throughout the hotel and it was very romantic. Would absolutely recommend and will definitely be staying again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Great!!!

Posted Mar 20, 2016
We went for a quick overnight trip and loved it. Being on the strand you can everywhere and then also easily get to Hotel Gálvez or the Beach!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful hotel with one exception

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful looking hotel modern and clean door staff excellent.
Cons: The location and the operating hours of the bar.
Location: Not much to do around the hotel.Once you've walked around the shopping strip that's about it.
Staff were mostly excellent,never had to open a door.A courtesy car drove and picked us up to any nearby places ,that was great. Hotel was ultra clean and tidy,old but modern inside. One major problem I had was the design of the hotel which is basically a chimney shaped building with the rooms surrounding the void up to the top floor.On the ground floor in the centre of the void is a bar open until 1am.If you've arrived after a long flight or need to get up early forget about a peaceful rest.The bar just gets noisier as the night progresses and the sound amplifies up to the top floor.Finally after about 12:30 am it became unbearable,a call to the front desk was met with 'the bar closes at 1am it will get quieter then' I then explained we needed to get up early and were already exhausted after along flight and can they request the bar patrons to keep the noise down.This request was declined. A hotel is supposed to be a place for travelers to rest not a night club with rooms attached. The hotel needs to rethink the location of the bar