Ratings based on 1,529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Wonderful Stay for Mardi Gras!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Location: Go to MOD coffee shop on Postoffice... easy walk from the Tremont
We stay at the Tremont every year for Mardi Gras! Great location and a beautiful hotel. Staff is always wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The staff and the atmosphere.
Location: Great place to stay for visiting the Strand, especially during Mardi Gras.
Came down to Galveston to participate in the Mardi Gras Umbrella Parade. Always enjoy staying at the Tremont House. The beauty, atmosphere, staff and location are just great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful floors and wooden bar detail.
Cons: Desk staff and quality of food.
Location: Strand and downtown shopping - walking distance to restaurants and harbor where the ships dock.
We made my reservation over 6 months in advance and got the smallest room in the hotel. The girl at the desk when ask if we could move was not very gracious or helpful at all, needless to say we did not move. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The bar staff where very nice and attentive, the bar is beautiful. The breakfast area was nice, but the food was about a 2.8 in quality. Location was great and for the Galveston downtown area. Overall for the hotel it was a 3.5 - 4, but could be a 5+ very easily with a little work with the staff and upgrade on the quality of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Great Hotel, Excellent Strand Location

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Professional staff, great location, beautiful and comfortable hotel.
Location: A block away from the Strand. Short drive to the beach. Tremont hotel guests have access to the Galvez pool and amenities.
I was surprised at the excellent quality of this hotel. Beginning with the valet staff....they were very professional, friendly and knowledgable about the area. Check in was quick and problem free. The lobby is incredible, with high ceilings and plenty of seating areas to chat, have a cup of coffee or work. There is a Starbucks at the hotel cafe, along with an excellent variety of menu choices (hotel specialties, not just Starbucks menu choices). The lobby bar is also very nice, where you can also order food. The room that I stayed in opened up to the lobby, as opposed to outside. I thought that this would have a claustrophobic, but that was not the case at all. The inside rooms have door that open, which was nice because you can faintly hear the lobby music. The room was very quiet (with the doors shut, you cannot hear lobby noise). There is a coffee maker in the room, however there is not a microwave in the standard room that I stayed in. The rooftop bar is open air and has comfortable couch seating. It is a perfect place to start your evening. The hotel is close to the best restaurants in Galveston. It is within walking distance to the Strand and the bay, where there are many chain/tourist restaurants. There are many hidden gems around the hotel. The valet staff was very knowledgable about where to find good spots. They have access to a hotel shuttle, so they can drop you off somewhere if you don't want to walk. Uber is not available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Our favorite place to stay in Galveston

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: A very comfortable bed and a shower that actually had enough pressure to make the pulse setting on the shower head a real treat.
Cons: Sound from the lobby lounge could be heard easily through the room's glass door and balcony overlooking the lounge, but it was quiet after 11 PM or so
Location: The hotel sits right on the Strand, which is Galveston's main shopping and entertainment area. Also very near the cruise ship docks.
My husband and I came to Galveston to attend a chili and beer festival on the Strand and to see a play at the Grand Opera House. The Tremont House is easy walking distance from both events. The hotel itself is beautiful and classy, with a rooftop bar, live music in the lobby lounge, a modern fitness center, and cozy, European-style rooms. The staff are friendly and attentive, making sure your needs are being met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Historical

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Great hotel. We did stay the nite before a cruise and they do park your car for free as long as you pay for valet the first night you're here. Which is great and u save a ton of money compared to port parking but you do have to load everything back up and take the car about a 1.5 miles to there sister hotel. So for a big large family it would of been a hassle. But still a great hotel and a good experience to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Trip

Posted Dec 29, 2015
The staff & hotel were amazing!! I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

More glitz than quality for the rooms.

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: all the lobby, entertainment, and exterior apperance
I had to relocate due to a noise in the room, it sounded like a a/c motor but was told that is was the service elevator. Bed was uncomfortable and very poorly made, the one of the pillow cases had stains on it, door to the entertainment cabinet wouldn't stay open, and the towels needed to be retired. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the service was very good, quality of room was a disapointment, doubt if I'll return and I've always liked staying at the Tremont because this was my 6th visit over the years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex UK

Well located old style city hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Location ,helpful check in staff,quick response to shower problem ,hard working shuttle driver Greg.
Location: At check in we were made aware of the Galveston ' Artwalk' which I believe is staged every few weeks and is held in adjoining streets .
Departing on a cruise the following day The Tremont proved a good choice and free shuttle to terminal a bonus. Operating handle on shower failed to operate but engineer attended within minutes to rectify.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Located in the Strand

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Historic hotel in the center of the Strand. Very clean and comfortable. I would stay there again. They offer valet parking. If you are cruising, they will keep your car for you (cheaper than port parking, and 3 blocks away).