Ratings based on 1,208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet, friendly and inexpensive

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Reception staff - friendly and helpful. Close to beach but quiet
Cons: Good clean in all the corners of the room.
Location: Have breakfast in the Gumbo Diner instead - huevos rancheros
Ideally placed, close to the beach, but away from the traffic noise of the main road (runs along the beach front and can be noisy). The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was OK, a bit tired and could do with a deep clean, but the bedding and bathroom were clean. Had a fridge and microwave. Breakfast was a bit basic and carbohydrate-based. Plenty of parking. All in all, a good experience on a personal level, but the room could do with a good clean in all the corners.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have listed all rooms as uninhabitable

Posted Oct 15, 2016
I knew this hotel would be trouble when we were registering. There was a note on the side of the printer (in FULL view) listing which rooms shouldn't be checked out. Reasons were "bedbugs" and -no joke- "hole in floor." But it was late as hell, we were tired, and at least if they knew what rooms didn't have bedbugs, we'd be safe from that. But the room quality was abysmal. The room STANK of mildew, the bottom of the door in the bathroom looked like it had been chewed by rats, and the toilet needed a minor repair (which we thankfully knew how to do) before it would flush. The bed was awful - creaked so loud I was surprised it didn't have springs sticking out. We noticed that the top comforter smelled like urine, at least the sheets were okay. Overall, it was awful. Shell out the extra $20 a night and get a decent room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB


Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Dirty
By far the dirtiest hotel I have ever encountered. Dirt on the floor, cockroaches in the room, spiders at the window. Elevator very dirty. Ugh. Travelodge should take their name off this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Smelled of marijuana and bugs coming in

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: the bed was cofortable
Cons: read review
Location: lots of dinning and an amuzment park
they just put chemicals into the pool right at check in time and it wouldnt be ready until the next morning. room smelled like marijauna. Bugs were coming in from under the door. could be updated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange, TX

Not worth the price!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: My niece liked the Texas shaped waffle maker.
Cons: Reduce the price or remodel / freshen up the entire hotel. If the hotel is charging extra for additional guests in the room, they supply extra linens.
Location: The hotel is near the beach, if that's the purpose of your visit.
There was a rat on the third floor landing. Everything smelled like mildew. We reserved a room for 3 adults, one child and an infant, yet there were only two full size towels in the bathroom. Galveston is losing tourism. Overpriced, underwhelming accommodations and services like this could be a big part of the reason.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Generally unpleasant experience

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Overall, I did not have a pleasant stay. Both the TV and the coffee maker were broken, and there were dirty towels left from previous guests. The hotel employee got confused and gave the next guests who checked in my room number, so they were outside my door trying to get in, and then the employee called to ask who was in my room because she hadn't written it down. I was also awoken several times in the night, though I'm not sure if the noises were from other guests or mechanical sounds from the old building. I really wouldn't recommend this hotel, as I barely got 4 hours sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There was a rat in our room!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Honest to God, there was a rat in our room! Plus the shower was broken
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Improvements needed

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Overall condition of the hotel is poor. Could use an uplifting makeover. Staff great, needs met.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Room was hot, sheets felt like they were full of sand. Roaches crawling on the phone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin Tx.

Bad hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It could be cleaned.
Got there late room was dirty & no internet. Got in bed without checking it out. Got up early left for the day when we got back that evening the room hadn't been cleaned. I notice there is a blood stain on the bed where I slept the night before and still no internet. I called the office they said the help told them they cleaned all rooms, they missed ours. Since it was so late there was nothing they could do. The lady at the desk was nice but of no help. She couldn't get the manager on the phone without getting herself in trouble. We canceled the rest of our stay & went to another hotel. This place is a dump. Don't ruin your trip by staying here.