Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Nothing can be improved. This place is terrible.
Location: Drink and never sleep.
First off, its filthy. The shower clogged and it took a while to get someone to fix it. The plumbing was bad. The beds are awful, the sheets are terrible. One pillow which was like a cardboard sleeve. My card was charged twice. This place is awful. Loud noise keeps you up at night always.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Value, but noisy

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great location in the main social area of Galway. Hostel was clean and as described. Be prepared for some noise given its proximity to the main street including people and street cleaners in the early morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place for a party.

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Honestly the place was great was just really quite loud it's right in the Latin quarter and it's a great area. But it was recycle day so loud first thing in the morning also. Also I couldn't use the plug in my bunk because the bar stopped the cord from going down. Luckily there wasn't someone in the bunk above so I could use that outlet. Was really clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and great value for money!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast, friendly staff, very clean and comfortable beds.
Cons: We were not aware that we needed our own towels. Considering bedding is provided you would assume that a towel would be too.
We had a great time at Barnacles and were surprised by the range of travellers we encountered ; school groups, families, older couples and young travellers. Check in was an easy process, although located right in the heart of Galway's main tourist area we slept comfortably and were not disturbed. We felt safe at all times and loved the convenient location. Staff were exceptional when I realised I had left my passport behind (rookie error!) They made every effort to contact me and then posted my documents to my next accommodation express postage. I cant thank you enough Barnacle's team.
5 out of 5
by Renee from Florida

Great place to stay even if you aren't quite a you

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
This was our first Hostel experience, we would certainly stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Stephanie from Faulkton

Amazing City Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely lovely! Out of all of my stays so far this one I would have to say is the best! Great people (Adam!), great service, great value! There was so much to do I'm sad we were only able to stay two nights! There was so much more to do and see, so when I return to Ireland, I know exactly where I will be staying! Thank you so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: location and price
the quadraple we have is quite clamp room facing to the main road very noisy at night when there is pub crawler at restaurant opposite us. location of hotel is fantastic helpful front desk not recommend for 4person with big luggage in quadruple, you are hardly able to open 2 bags at a time.
3 out of 5
by Briege

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Noel from Ireland

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Towels on stairs .....?????