Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Too expensive and didn't deliver on items

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We are travelling on our honeymoon and this was our "splurge" hotel. I was looking forward to some features promised such as slippers and robes, turn down service, coffee machine etc. unfortunately none of these were there. I'm not sure why as I saw other guests with these items. I'm not sure if I was punished for booking through an external agent (Expedia) or not but I was really sorry that we spent so much money on a room that was basic. Bathroom was tired, no fridge. Bed was good though and I did tell them it was my honeymoon and they gave us a bottle of red wine which was lovely and very appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Aisling Clifford , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate your feedback. Can you let us know what type of room you booked as this will show us which amenities should have been in your room? Also, we would be happy to provide you with slippers & robes if these were requested. We definitely would not "punish" people for booking on any platform as they are our partners who we work with. If you pass on the details of your reservation I would be happy to look into this for you. Looking forward to your reply. Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location and a view of the water

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great location and view of the water.
Cons: New bar and grill manager to help train the staff in the meaning of actually serving patrons with drinks and food.
Location: Right off the water with many bars and restaurants within walking distance. Get out and explore!
I was visiting Galway on business for the first time. At first I thought the hotel was excellent, but then a few rough edges caused me to lower my overall rating. The location is outstanding, with lots of restaurants and sights within walking distance. I had a beautiful view of the water from my very well appointed room. The desk staff were efficient and pleasant. One of the things I needed to use frequently with a room on the 3rd floor (which is the 4th floor where I come from) were the two elevators - they were difficult to understand how to use the key to access the room floors, very slow, and would often just stop on a floor and refuse to move again and you would have to exit and take the stairs in frustration. The bar was also a bit "off". I sat down at a table near other guests at about 12:30 pm yet received no notice at all. Strange as there were at least 2 behind the bar, 2 out serving tables, covering an area only about 20% occupied with customers. I finally walked up to a server and asked if I could get service and she did bring a menu to my table but did not come back until I stopped her a second time. I visited plenty of other bars and restaurants in the area, and never had such indifferent service. But I will say the morning breakfast in main dining room, included in my room rate, was excellent and the service there was very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Aisling Clifford, Hotel Management
Dear Rance, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We do really appreciate your feedback in regards to the bar staff. I have sent this review to the team for their consideration. We are delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay so much and we hope you will be back again the next time you are in Galway. Best Regards, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great location and pleasant experience

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room, breakfast buffet and overall atmosphere.
Cons: Roomkey was req'd to press your desired floor on elevator-never worked for us or many other guests though worked on room door and electricity in room.
Location: Bus/train transportation near by, Eyre Square, restaurants and shops, Spanish Arch on waterfront.
Great location near Ceannt train station and Coach Station/bus depot. Minutes walk to Eyre Square, the city centre and the Spanish Arch. Hotel was lovely and the reception/front desk staff were top notch. They helped with any requirements including tours and transportation. Room was large, comfortable and clean. Nice restaurant/bar and a patio overlooking the water Lough Atalia. We did not have time to participate in the spa offerings but was nice to know it was available. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely trip to Galway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Aisling Clifford , Hotel Management
Dear Kate, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate all of your feedback, which I will pass on to the team here in the hotel. We hope you will come back and stay the next time you are in Galway. Best Regards, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great hotel in Galway

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff Well equipped and spacious rooms Excellent. Reakfast Lovely views of the sea
Cons: Nothing obvious
Location: Erg close to Eyre square with shops and restaurants on your doorstep.
I spent a very relaxing and comfortable night here in September. Easy access to hotel from underground car park. The room was very spacious with a king bed and a relaxing lounge chair with a stool to lounge in . There was a mini fridge with cold milk in for the array of hot drinks to choose from. All in all a lovely experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Aisling Clifford , Hotel Management
Dear Rita, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made such a great impression on you. We hope you will come back to stay the next time you are in Galway. Best Regards, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Great staff Had dinner in the restaurant and was very hood
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Aisling Clifford, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your reply. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and we hope you come back again the next time you are in Galway. Many thanks, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Already shared an extensive review with the hotel itself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Aisling Clifford , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope after speaking with the team your issues were resolved. Best Regards, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Myers FL

Galway

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location was OK
Cons: Rating of 4.3 out of 5 did not match our experience
1. No hot water to take a shower morning we left. 2. Bathroom was so small that there wasn't even a place to set the toiletries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Aisling Clifford , Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate all of your feedback. Were you able to let the team know at the Front Desk about the issues you faced when you were in the hotel? Unfortunately, we are not able to assist if we don't know what the issue is. We could potentially have moved you to another room during your stay. We do hope that you will come back again the next time you are in Galway. Best Regards, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Niceblarger hotel in Galway!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Well located, nice large hotel. Modern rooms, comfy bed, great buffet breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Aisling Clifford , Hotel Management
Dear Andi, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you had a good stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in Galway. Best Regards, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Room was a bit warm but otherwise just perfect for our needs. Loved the close proximity to Quay street
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Aisling Clifford, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you liked the location and I will make note of the heat in the room for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel the next time you are in Galway. Many thanks, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager
5 out of 5
by Bethani

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Bethani, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will stay again the next time you are in Galway. Many thanks, Aisling Clifford Sales Manager