Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2019
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Apr 23, 2019
The pics of the property are NOT a true representation. While the night staff (Hugo) was helpful and accommodating, the property is in need of upgrades to compare to the pictures posted as representation. While I did opt for a ‘mix dorm’, I would have been the only female (let alone a mid-aged female) in the dorm. There was a drunk young man laying across the bunk that was supposed to be mine. Hugo put me into a ‘single’ room. It was the window facing Quay Bar....needless to say, I did not sleep until after 4:00am. (After traveling for 16 hours) I turned in the door card the next morning and the young man at the bar seemed surprised that I wasn’t staying the full booking. His reply: ‘Well, you won’t be refunded.’ It was well worth the $100 I lost to NOT stay there!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Apr 10, 2019
I had an excellent stay here (2 nights) as a solo traveler. The location is awesome, within about 10 minutes walking of the downtown Galway area, but also near tons of restaurants and pubs. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, the location quiet (they provided ear plugs), and there was even an attached bathroom and shower in the room which were separated so one person could use each at a time. I had a mixed room, and there actually was a mix of genders, which is always a relief. The kitchen is spacious, with a microwave and even refrigerators and cubbies you can use to store food for longer periods of time. Breakfast in the morning was basic--coffee, toast, cereal--but I enjoyed the community of a bunch of people hanging out there together. A downstairs lounge area with a TV and two computers was also a nice place to hang out for a few hours while I was trying to kill some time. I think this is a great hostel for solo travelers, and people staying at a hostel for longer periods of time. The staff was very friendly, too, which I think is a plus. I highly recommend this hostel; it's probably one of the best ones I've stayed at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2019
The rooms are very small, no wifi in rooms, bathroom also small...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2018
Very comfortable hostel budget . Close to all amenities
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Nov 22, 2018
Overall great experience- the hostels name has changed though and that was a little confusing. The shower also was an experience in itself, but overall it was a great hostel with a great location! Would go back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2018 on Hotels
Great place to stay, great location, very clean and good variety for breakfast. Would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Posted Nov 19, 2018
Would not recommend as there was musoc blaring all night from a pub next door and found it very difficult to get any sleep. The room was like a matchbox and the shower was the smallest ive ever seen. Very dissapointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 9, 2018
Location was perfect, from driving in, parking location, day walks and night entertainment. Facility was fairly clean floor in room needed cleaning. Bedding and towels well used.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

10/10 recommend the private room for couples

Posted Oct 28, 2018 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in a private room overlooking the Main Street and we had a great time! I loved the location and would definitely stay again. Just be aware that it is right next to the bars and shops so it might be noisy depending on what side of the hostel you’re on. We closed our window and had no trouble sleeping.