Ratings based on 904 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Absolutely lovely hotel in the heart of town.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The hotel was simply beautiful. The location was perfect.
Location: There are many pubs, restaurants, and shops within walking distance. The town is so charming.
I wish I had more time to spend in this lovely hotel. It was nicer than anticipated and located in a great area for dining, shopping and strolling. My family loved our stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leitrim

Nice hotel near shopping area

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Room clean and warm small but comfortable. Had one evening meal was just ok. Staff very helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Nice hotel very near to city centre. Convenient underground parking. Staff were great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Western Hotel November 2017

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The hotel is easy walking distance to the bus and coach stations. Eyre Square and the Latin Quarter are also nearby. My room was clean. There is a hair dryer provided. The tv was a very old model (not a flat screen) that received a handful of stations. The shower curtain was not adequate to keep the water from flooding the floor. I hung the card outside my door for maid service for new towels and they never came. That evening I asked at the front desk for towels and though I was assured they would be brought up-they weren't. Finally there was no cover sheet on the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Oh

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location, free parking, separate beds for the 3 people in our party.
Cons: it was great
Location: pub live music museums
Hotel had free underground parking, elevator assessable, friendly staff, and close to all the nightlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Oh

Great hotel, very nice

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location, how modern it was, friendliness of the staff.
Cons: room was a little hot had to turn off the heaters when coming into the room.
Location: Pubs, night life, museums
This was an awesome hotel, very modern, right in the heart of the city. Pricing was excellent. They were handicap accessible, and had a great vibe. Parking will cost ya to stay in the garage overnight (extra cost that we didn't know about) , but the staff was friendly and told us the hot spots to go to at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Great location to central Galway

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Smooth checkin Shame about all the stairs and doors on the level I stayed on
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Real Irish hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The Western is a great hotel to stay in for many reasons. It's only a few blocks from the pedestrian area in Galway, with all the shops, restaurants and pubs. The pub in the hotel serves as the "local" for the neighborhood, so it provides a chance to meet Irish folks and not be surrounded by other tourists. The staff is very good -- helpful and friendly. The music in the pub (six nights a week) is also good. There was an excellent traditional session on Thursday night, and Friday night there was a fellow who sang vintage rock & roll who was also outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walton on thames

Perfect location close to Galway city

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Couldn’t ask for a better hotel for being so close to the town restaurants and pubs would highly recommend
5 out of 5
by Pat

Awesome

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place, great location the staff was wonderful. I will come back