Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

A bit worn down at the edges, but still okay.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, great breakfasts
Cons: Hotel needs attention to detail. We had a repair in our room ceiling that was sloppy and obviously done by an amateur. It took away from the ambiance.
Location: The nearby Kylemore Abby was a treat as were many other sights around Clifton.
Very nice staff, scones and coffee and champagne were a nice touch. Some kind of a fuel truck in the front destroyed the view of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Treated Royally

Posted Sep 29, 2016
It was raining in Clifden so we spent most of our stay at the Castle, really enjoyed the lecture and champagne reception, dinner and breakfast was excellent. Our room overlooked the town and gardens, beautiful. Great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy, quaint hotel close to town

Posted Sep 27, 2016
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abbeyglen Castle. Room was spacious and comfortable including a large bathroom with soaking clawfoot tub. Staff and amenities (afternoon tea and scones, champagne happy hour with informational talk) were "brilliant" as they say in Ireland. We highly recommend the hotel if one is looking for a comfortable, "old world" experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Awesome place to stay

Posted Sep 24, 2016
You really felt like you were staying in a castle here!! The rooms are wonderful and very large! We were welcomed in with complimentary champagne with bottomless refills for a half hour before we made our way upstairs for dinner!! Dinner was great and breakfast was delicious too!! the staff are very friendly and make sure that all needs are met!! Would recommend this place to anyone!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle in a lovely setting

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The service and amenities were wonderful. From the champagne reception to the cod dinner it was a fine stay. The suite was large but missing those high ceilings one comes to expect in Castles. Although modernized this hotel has kept much of the older characteristics. The views across the golf course in the misty rain were wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Staff and Adorable Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The hotel sits on a beautiful view. Our room faced that view as well, so we got to wake up to it each morning. It was absolutely lovely. The room itself was nice and spacious, clean, and very charming. The whole hotel has this great charm about it. The warm and inviting staff just add to that as well. If you go to dinner, not only will you have a phenomenal meal, you will be greeted by the owner to have a picture to remember your stay. I could tell just how much he loves this hotel. It really is an experience you don't want to pass up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ee

Great atmosphere by the owner

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The hotel has his tranquility, clise to the village , but out of the rush activity. The view is exceptional and the dinner athmosphere is great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Magical time in a magical location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
We were so pleased we chose this hotel - more expensive than our usual price bracket, but a great place to just be as well as to tour the beautiful Connemara. We spent four nights, three days here: one day chilling, one day driving the Sky Road, one day visiting Kylemore Abbey. The people - owners and staff - could not have been more kind and helpful. The dinners were excellent, up to first class international standard, and breakfasts (in our room, for an extra charge) stoked us up well for a hard day's relaxing. Complementary tea and scones (beautifully light) and champagne reception each day were a bonus. Well worth the journey (1.5 hours drive from Galway). We will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Room was very warm and even though we opened small windows still stayed warm. Some kind of fuel truck was parked right in from so it spoiled our view. Dinner was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful, nice staff, but out of the way location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was sweet and accommodating, the spa was relaxing, restaurant bar and hotel were pleasant.
Cons: The only downside was the location. It was very far outside Galway not exactly worth it for only 2 nights. Castle was just not grand enough.
Location: Cute village with pubs and local shops.
Abbeyglen Castle was spacious and accommodating. My sister & I arrived very late the first night. We called ahead and the staff left food for us in our room. There was still live music playing when we arrived at the hotel bar. The restaurant doesn't have the largest menu but everything was delicious. The spa deal is highly recommended. 3 of Massage/facial/eyebrows/manicure/pedicure for only $80 euros. The village where you can shop or go to local pubs is located within walking distance from the Abbeyglen. Serious downside is this castle is a good hour and a half outside Galway. If you come, you will want to stay for 3 days minimum because of location/driving.