Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Beautiful Property

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Ballynahinch is like no place I have ever stayed. It is a castle but not like the traditional castle one would first think of. It is more like a manor or old gentlemen's hunting lodge. The service was mostly excellent. I say mostly because I feel the restaurant/bar service was lacking a bit in both attitude and speed. The food was average, nothing amazing that would make me excited to eat more but not complaints either. The common rooms of the castle are nice and the fires were kept alive making them a nice place to relax with a drink and a book. Our room was large and the bathroom huge. Both were decorated nicely and kept with the theme and decor of the overall hotel. My most favorite part of my stay was the property grounds. Tons of walking trails to discover. We spent both days here just walking around and exploring. There are other activities offered here as well such as shooting, biking, and fishing but we just stuck with walking. This hotel is a great place to enjoy nature and be outside.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean a

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous stay very relaxing lovely bright room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great experience

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: History of area and strong management and service oversight
Beautiful Venue, terrific outdoors experience and hiking trails, accommodating staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nature retreat with 5 star comfort

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed one night at the Ballynahinch and it was perfection. Beautiful setting on a river surrounded by forests, impeccably maintained with solid and friendly service. We had a superior river view room on the 2nd floor overlooking the adjacent river and it was very restful. Rooms are well maintained and appointed and the soundproofing excellent. We took some of the nature walks in the area but didn't have time to try all the activities offered but saw other people fishing right outside the hotel. A beautiful place if you're looking for a nature retreat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Great views! Wonderful atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Really nice hotel with outstanding surroundings

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The room, very spacious and clean with outstanding view (overlooking the river). The surroundings and walks around the hotel. The breakfast, amazing.
Cons: The matresses could be made of memory foam so that you don't feel the sprungs. They were old and you sunk in the middle.Mixed up order in the pub.
Location: The location is unique, in the middle of a beautiful forrest of outstanding beauty. The hotel provides with walks to do around the hotel. Fishing
We had a fantastic time. The surroundings are of outstanding beauty as well as the hotel. There are walks that you can do as well as other activities which we weren't involved like fishing and kayaking. If it weren't for the matresses it would have been perfect stay.
3 out of 5
by Gerard from Donegal.

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

Nice hotel in Connemara, a beautiful place.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Impressively enjoyable! Beautiful grounds, pleasant hiking, staff provided helpful advice about the area: