Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Lots of history and appeal

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything. The drinks by the fireplace worked well for us. The staff was nice.
Location: The local setting is for people who like the outdoors. Rivers, trees, fish and game. Galway is about one hour away.
This is a beautiful hotel estate that has a interesting history. The staff was very friendly and some very interesting to talk to. The food was outstanding and the scenery was breathtaking. The baths were very modern and even had heated mirrors and towel racks. the furniture and artwork were beautiful pieces. The chocolates on the bed were almost as nice a touch as the unbelievably great tasting cupcakes that were left for us in our rooms at bedtime. The staff was so nice and accommodating. They made us feel special. We will definitely be heading back next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Beautiful Property

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Ballynahinch is like no place I have ever stayed. It is a castle but not like the traditional castle one would first think of. It is more like a manor or old gentlemen's hunting lodge. The service was mostly excellent. I say mostly because I feel the restaurant/bar service was lacking a bit in both attitude and speed. The food was average, nothing amazing that would make me excited to eat more but not complaints either. The common rooms of the castle are nice and the fires were kept alive making them a nice place to relax with a drink and a book. Our room was large and the bathroom huge. Both were decorated nicely and kept with the theme and decor of the overall hotel. My most favorite part of my stay was the property grounds. Tons of walking trails to discover. We spent both days here just walking around and exploring. There are other activities offered here as well such as shooting, biking, and fishing but we just stuck with walking. This hotel is a great place to enjoy nature and be outside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great retreat in the west of Ireland

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great place for a little break, leave the kids with the grandparents and enjoy the peace and quiet. The staff and so friendly, like a small close family. We decided to go there for a bit of RnR, and it was the perfect place. The food was amazing (dinner and breakfast), and rooms are large and very spacious. There is a great atmosphere in the hotel and there beautiful unintrusive Irish music heard throughout the hotel. We enjoyed our time there so much and would recommend it. It's a little expensive, and that needs should be considered when booking. The restaurant is a set price, so at €65 per head without wine, it is an expensive meal for two when you include a drink. Look past that, and you will enjoy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean a

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous stay very relaxing lovely bright room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great experience

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: History of area and strong management and service oversight
Beautiful Venue, terrific outdoors experience and hiking trails, accommodating staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nature retreat with 5 star comfort

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed one night at the Ballynahinch and it was perfection. Beautiful setting on a river surrounded by forests, impeccably maintained with solid and friendly service. We had a superior river view room on the 2nd floor overlooking the adjacent river and it was very restful. Rooms are well maintained and appointed and the soundproofing excellent. We took some of the nature walks in the area but didn't have time to try all the activities offered but saw other people fishing right outside the hotel. A beautiful place if you're looking for a nature retreat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Great views! Wonderful atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff pleasant.