Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Spacious Suite
Cons: Cleanliness of the public toilets
We booked for 2 nights but once we seen the amazing room we had we extended to 3 nights and what a great decision. The hotel is located outside the city and have plenty of parking. There is a bus that stops directly outside the hotel which will have you in Eyre Square in 30 minutes. Check in was efficient and professional and the ambiance is welcoming. As we both work we decided to upgrade to a Suite and wow it was amazing. The room was spacious and we had a separate sitting area and bedroom area. The big was massive and so comfortable. The bathroom has a large bathtub with a spacious shower. Wi-fi is great and the television had music on it which was quiet relaxing. In fact we are already planning our next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice, but nothing too special

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Really friendly staff.
Location: There's a SuperValu supermarket, a bakery, and a KFC right down the road - a three minute walk. This will save you some money if you're not eating out
The hotel was clean, service was friendly, but the hotel was not in the city center and just wasn't a "wow." Really nothing else to knock it on besides that, and for the price, that doesn't end up being too bad of a deal. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel that'll have you in the city center in 15 minutes, so as long as you don't mind public transportation (and the buses were much nicer than American anyway) you'll be fine. It's more so just knowing this ahead of time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, comfortable rooms

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Cons: Staff should have told us about traffic problems in town , we could have walked the 3 miles much quicker than trying to drive
Hotel is a bit out of town , rooms are comfortable and surprisingly quiet, I say surprisingly because it seems to be a very popular place for local weddings, there was one both days the weekend we were there, the lobby and bars were very busy and noisy but we never heard a sound in our rooms. Galway traffic is worse than Dublin , something I didn't think was possible. We drove to downtown and parked a few blocks away, it took 45 minutes just to get out of the car park onto to the grid locked roads. I thought Vancouver traffic was bad but I've never seen traffic as bad a Galway and Dublin, if we come back both these cities would be ones to avoid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakfield N.S.

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Our room was amazing along with the staff who were very accommodating and the breakfast was lovely.
Cons: We cannot say anything negative about this hotel.
Location: The location was great with the bus stop just out front including a mall just across the street.
Our room was lovely and very welcoming. There was lots of room to just relax and enjoy including the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great comfort close to city

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Enjoy the facilities had great night in the city, eat both in and out of the city, also privileged to enjoy live music for a wedding reception in the bar, foyer area. Great time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Well situated nice rooms
Cons: Food ,at breakfast if you didn't like scrambled eggs there wasn't an alternative
Room was very nice ,staff were fine ,but the quality of the food was not good .We had a meal on the first evening and it was inedible,when we complained we were offered 10percent off and a free drink which wasn't really acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Was pleasantly surprised by our hotel. Great modern room, super friendly staff, comfortable bed. The hotel restaurant was a treat too - the meal we had there was phenomenal. Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Most comfortable beds of any hotel during our recent trip to Ireland.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Two out of three complaints could quickly be fixed

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The location just off the main highway was useful.
The worn hallway carpeting is the slowest to likely be remedied. The small rubber bath mat could quickly be changed out for the standard longer one to allow people to easily enter and exit the very slippery tub. Staff could be assigned areas in the lounge to properly look after guests. We sat for more than 5 minutes completely ignored until I got up and went to the barman and asked if we could have service. It seemed no server was really responsible for any area in the lounge -- many went past us but nobody paid attention to us. The food was great, it's just training the staff and assigning sections that needs to be done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Wonderful hotel with exceptional staff

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Loads of museums, art galleries, the Aran Isles
Our stay at Clayton Hotel was exemplary! After booking the room, I realized that I had two twin beds instead of a Queen or King. As this trip is part of our 42nd anniversary, I wanted to be in the same bed with my beautiful bride. I called the hotel from Virginia, USA and spoke with Conner the night porter and he checked on things and said that the hotel was completely booked because of a wedding, but he would see what he could do. When we arrived at the hotel, I was delighted to find out that we had the wedding suite, because the bride and groom were in the presidential suite. Imagine my wife's delight when she entered the room!! I couldn't be more pleased. The room was beautiful, our stay a delight. Then when I was unable to book the medieval banquet at Bunratty castle on line, the person at the desk arranged to call the castle while we were visiting Innis Mor. SO helpful!!