Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic abbey on grounds and beautiful golf cours

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: There is not much to dislike about this property. It was stately, reserved and the attention to detail was everywhere.
Cons: A price where I could return. The rooms were double what we normally pay. It was a special treat for us.
Location: A little removed from the center of town.
We enjoyed the wine cellar and the dining room. It's an easy commute to the downtown center. The hotel room was large and luxurious. Beautiful grounds surround the property including beautiful plantings, hedges and a golf course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Canada

Excellent Galway hotel on the road to Connemarra

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location, service and character
Cons: Room design and bed/pillows comfort
Location: On the way to Connemarra region and close to Galway town
We stayed two nights in September. Hotel had a wedding reception on the Sunday but we were not yo bothered by that. We had dinner at the Pullman restaurant which was an exquisite experience! Room was comfortable although in need of some design and the bed and pillows could have been more comfortable. Staff was amazingly polite and friendly everywhere at the hotel. Bar offers some of the same dishes as the Pullman, which we found a bit disappointing....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Excellent, friendly staff. Beautiful grounds, true comfort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the area.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Wonderful staff and perfect location to explore Galway and the Connemarra Loop with all of its attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kings Park, NY

The Most Amazing Honeymoon Ever

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The room, the staff, the food, the pub, the amazing grounds. EVERYTHING.
Cons: Nothng.
Location: Close proximity to Galway and all of the fun things there. Also close for a day trip to Connemara and the Cliffs of Moher.
We arrived after a long flight from the US to a wonderful reception. We had lunch in the bar as they had our room set up early. They had set us up with sweets and a note from the GM welcoming us for our honeymoon. We had amazing tea and a sandwich in the pub downstairs which is so authentic. The room was spectacular and breath taking. The grounds are breathtaking. Every meal, cocktail, and tea we had there felt like the best of our life. You have to check this place out. We go to pretty nice places, but this blew away any experience we have had in the past. The staff should be commended for their hard work and diligence yet allowing for a not too stuffy experience. Thank you for everything. We cannot wait to come back. In fact, we are planning another trip to Ireland just to stay at the Abbey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful hotel, relaxing setting

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. Room was spacious and nicely decorated. Pretty dining area.
Location: 10-15 minute drive to Galway city
Beautiful hotel. Spacious, well-decorated rooms, nice grounds, excellent staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but old bathrooms

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Hotel is in a good location with excellent staff and food. Bathroom (at least in room 202) was out dated and no moisturizer, shaving cream etc. Also, while breakfast in room was very good, certain breakfast items did not arrive. Maybe there's a limit on what you can order. Overall 4 out of 5 for those reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful weekend break

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Very enjoyable and relaxing weekend in this hotel with very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Almost everything !
Cons: More stations on the tv for extra rainy days
Location: We drove all over the country, so we did not do very much right near the hotel
The hotel is beautiful, and the staff is warm and helpful with all of your needs. Wonderful dining room and food for breakfast, and the cellar had great drinks and food as well. Very comfortable bedding , in fact we slept as good here as we do at home. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay or enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Frisco TX

A quite peaceful place 10 mins away from everythin

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautiful, the entire place made us very relaxed and peaceful.
Cons: They need better Wifi, but that's only if you need to work, and you really shouldn't at this place
Location: If you golf, it is a great location, if you want quiet and out of the way this is the place, if you want active night life, just call a cab
Wow, is all I can say this place is beautiful, Classy and just breath taking. It's just 10 minutes away from the Center of Galway, where all the Shopping, Dinning and Entertainment is, but it is so relaxing. Set on a Beautiful and scenic golf course, with well manicured grounds, it's nice to just get out and walk. Nice bars and restaurants onsite, with life music on weekends. IF you get a chance book the falconry show, we didn't but saw one and wished we had. The Staff is supper attentive and the rooms are very, very roomy. Great place for a romantic get away.