Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely, Unique Irish resort!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
We were so glad that we stayed at this unique hotel! It's not walkable to downtown which I initially hesitated on, but it's an easy drive and it was so peaceful that I was so happy with our choice! The staff was so friendly, the hotel was gorgeous and comfortable and the food was excellent. I highly recommend dining in the Pullman Car restaurant as well. A bit of a treat but totally worth it for the experience! The only thing the hotel is missing is a fitness center but luckily the weather was nice and they had lovely trails to jog on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Elegant hotel in Irish countryside.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: It was beautiful, comfortable and well maintained. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Breakfasts were very nice.
Cons: I cannot think of any improvements.
Location: It is in the country but taxis take one into town. Tour companies pick you up to transport to Conamara and the Cliffs of Moher.
We enjoyed our daily breakfasts prepared in a beautiful setting. The grounds were verdant and well maintained. The sitting areas were elegant with flowers, warm fireplace, candles. A piano played in afternoon. The billiards bar served great meals and cocktails. The staff was professional and very helpful in helping with taxis and any other service required. The abbey was impressive with its arched windows and old stone walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Great place to stay!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Glenlo Abbey was clean, quite and elegant. The staff was very friendly and the food here was very good.
Cons: Our room was nice but the bed for me was a bit soft.
We really enjoyed our stay here at Glenlo Abbey. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Had the opportunity to do Falconry and absolutely loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa fe

Excellent location & superb golf course

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Very comfortable residence - rooms a high standard & other facilities first class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Old world elegance

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Location: Walking and biking, lovely 9 hole gol course. Easy day trips to Cliffs of Morer, Connamara, Aran Islands. An introduction to falconry.
Beautiful old world elegance with updated amenities. Lovely setting on a golf course with panoramic views and walking or biking spaces. Many photo opportunities in the changing light afforded by Irish weather. It is a brief drive into the city, but since a car is the best way to visit rural Galway, this is no problem. There are several great restaurants in town, and wonderful areas to explore within easy driving distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surfside Beach, TX

Don't mss dinner in The Orient Express

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Attractive, comfortable, perfect. The Restaurant in the Orient Express.
We booked last minute - very happy. The place is a converted mansion, quite lovely. Room was large, great bathroom, very comfortable bed. Highlight was dinner in the Train Cars. Originals from the Orient Express. Fantastic! Brunch was also very nice - especially because of the gorgeous room. Service was terrific.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dungannon

Great hotel close to galway

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The food was great, the rooms were class great comfort and the breakfast was class, all the staff were so friendly and helpful,
Cons: I don't know of anything I would change.
Location: we were down on a business trip.
we had seen the hotel on a recent visit to cong and said we would book it on are next visit, it was great we will return shortly,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent Hotel and Restaurant

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Grounds are beautiful, rooms are large, staff is warm and very helpful and the Pullman Restaurant deserves two Michelin stars. Overall, fantastic experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice enough but not worth the cost

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Nice grounds while you were outside on the lake/golf course side.
Location: Be prepared to drive.
Had a one-night reservation here. Got a room facing a walled yard because a wedding got all the rooms facing the lake and golf course. From the room, we could hear people attending the wedding talking in the halls all evening. This is a restored structure, so it was old though mostly modernized. The basement restaurant/bar was good. For the most part the stay was OK, but it was far pricier than other hotels we stayed at on our trip and that we considered to be much better in their fundamental offerings, as well as in the service and incidental amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa canada

Glen love Abbey

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Beautiful setting and a grand old house. Golf course is is fantastic.