Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Average, inconsiderate people in room coming in at 4am. Would recommend a curfew if 2am
5 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by MAO from UK

Excellent hostel

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect accommodation and enjoyable circumstance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Excellent Hostel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The service
Cons: The cleanliness
Location: Location is convenient to every thing in Galway
The staff and service were as good as any I have experienced in ant hotel and I have stayed in places like The Homestead and the Waldorf Astoria. The accommodations were what you expect for a high end hostel. Location was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich

Very nice hostel, very central

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Ideal location (bus stations + train station in 5 min walking distance), nice staff, we got an upgrade of our room - perfect!
5 out of 5
by Carl from California

Why pay for a hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
If all you want is a place to stay that's comfortable and convenient, this hostel fills every need. It's unbelievably convenient--around the corner from the train station and major bus stops and more or less in the old section of Galway. It's clean and well run and pleasant. The staff is friendly and very helpful. So why pay three or four times as much for a downscale hotel room?
5 out of 5
by sonia chen from belfast

good vlaue and pleasant experience

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
Staff is helpful and warm, he can even remember my name and spoke my language...
5 out of 5
by Sangmin from Cork

Fantastic Galway trip

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
I recommend this hostel. Quality of service is so nice !!!
5 out of 5
by PC from Melbourne

Great Location

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
I wasn't sure how I would handle the shared room thing but the Kinlay made it easy. The culture is great and the other guests are very respectful of others privacy, and sleeping hours. The hostel is well run and very efficient. The staff are incredibly helpful and made the experience really enjoyable. It is an older building but well maintained and very functional. I was very happy staying there. The rates are very reasonable. Highly recommend it. The location is very close to all the action in Galway city.
4 out of 5
by valerie from u.s.

convenient

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
This was a convenient spot in galway and the staff was super friendly. Met some lovely people staying in the room. Spent more time exploring than in the venue. Nice to have computers and public space but that space seemed to be occupied fully most of the time I passed thru. I didnt realize that children under the age of 5 were allowed in hostels and another in my room commented that it was a trend. I dont particularly enjoy beig around screaming children who run around without any supervision attempting to play with a pool table they cant even reach. Blame the parents on this more than the kids but it left me disappointed to not be able to participate in the typical communal setting of a hostel. This place also seemed to host a giant group so personally I would attempt to find a place a bit smaller on my next trip. If I had wanted to cook, the kitchen was very crowded and finding a place to sit during breakfast was challenging. Being gluten free a continental breakfast of cereal and toast doesnt cut it so it wasnt that big of a deal - but missed out on lovely morning conversations. I also forget that many places do not have a/c or fans in the room so in the height of summer it is quite miserable to sleep with a window that barely opens. Only an overhead light and really randomly placed flourescents on one side of room not near my bed. Not enough outlets for everyone to charge their devices.