Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phelan, CA

old School Charm

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: Staff and ambience
Cons: Gin selection
This is a grand old hotel that speaks clearly of a time past. The building is beautiful , with dark wood and marble and many windows. Check in was quick and efficient as well as friendly and inviting. Our rooms (we travelled as a family of 7 and needed 3 rooms) had wonderful views. The rooms were comfy and the baths had heated towel racks. Now, I have read some negative reviews that noted rusty water from the pipes. My reply is that it harms nothing and there is no charge for the mineral bath! The breakfasts were replete with good food and the bar was stocked with some great whiskey. The barman and all the staff were friendly and helpful. One can enjoy a great stroll around the grounds or by the beach. Come stay here and you will feel like royalty. Nearby is Kylemore Abbey, a magical side trip. You can also have a slow drive through the local countryside and enjoy dinner at the nearby Bard's Den. Here is the bottom line. Want a slick place with modern furniture, blended cocktails and au currant entertainment? Go elsewhere . . .maybe a different country. want to live a refined, upscale, relaxed few days - try Renvyle House.
5 out of 5
by Liam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jean from Los Angeles

Old world charm

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely separate rooms to pop into. Nice mix of people in the common rooms. Gorgeous breakfast. Great staff.
5 out of 5
by Bridget from Lucan

Best advert for holidaying in Ireland

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
We had a fantastic time despite the weather....so much to do in and around hotel and locally. Service and food were second to none ...home from home!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent...jewel of a place

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent, jewel of a place...true to the signage at the entrance...you are entering a stress free zone. Great service, very friendly staff and what a lovely setting. Felt more like home than a hotel
4 out of 5
by Diane

Relaxing break

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely olde worlde hotel in a stunning location
4 out of 5
by Philippe from ERMONT FRANCE

Un Hôtel super sympathique dans un cadre de Nature

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Mai 2015 Nous avions réservé une chambre triple avec notre fils et avons apprécié le calme de celle-ci. La restauration a été la meilleure de notre périple dans le Connemara! Le cadre de l'Etablissement offre un lac prisé des pêcheurs et une vue sur la mer. Le soir, nous avons terminé la journée en écoutant des musiciens/chanteurs. Très agréable! Une nuit ce n'est pas assez ! Endroit à refaire plusieurs jours en été.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Ptown

At the end of Europe next to Cape Cod

Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
Full of wonderful experiences: people, place, food, music & history!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Blustery days, Great stay

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Physical setting, food, respect for history, tradition and Irish literature.
Cons: Weather.
Location: Good hike (weather permitting) over to ruins of a nearby castle. Probably 3 to 4 km. Staff underestimates distance.
Renvyle House is a beautifully situated and historic country inn. The owners have preserved much memorabilia from its early days as a home of a noted Irish writer and surgeon. The food in the dining rooms is excellent quality and well prepared and served. The waitstaff is international and works hard to please. The surrounding countryside is rugged and beautiful. Our room was spacious and well furnished. Special recognition for the upstairs library, the house bar/pub, and the turf fires on either end of the adjacent lobby area. As a special treat, local performers put on a play in the library one evening about Sligo native William Butler Yeats and the women in his life.
4 out of 5
by Mary from Charlelville

Renvlyeicious

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
We had a most enjoyable stay. We love the Hotel and will be back soon. The staff were lovely most helpful Food excellent. (weather was also good)