Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights Friday - Monday and had a great time. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great sea view. We used the bar, Prom restaurant and buffet breakfast. The food was excellent and plentiful and all the staff we encountered were both professional and friendly. We would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Family break

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: the staff. the position on the promenade. the spacious rooms. the food and the hospitality whish is so sadly lacking in so many eurpoean hotels.
Cons: the chairs in the restaurant could do with updating.
Location: lovely beaches and walks. great cafes.
we chose well to stay in this hotel. it was well situated on the front and well appointed. the staff were exceptional, especially the restaurant staff and the front desk. a lady, called Shannon gave us a very warm welcome and the whole stay was very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

lovely stay! Great location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Locations and cleanliness
Cons: Menu..just add a few specials in the bar
Location: Galway is a great city and this hotel has a great location across from the beach.
Had a nice break away. Lovely room and staff. A change in the menu would be nice,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Meath, Ireland

Disappointed in the room and the staff's reaction.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: The standard and decor of the rooms; the food and the training of the staff.
Location: We didn't stay long enough to travel into Galway but the view of the Bay was fantastic.
After initially changing our room because neither the heating or room worked we ate some overpriced tasteless food in the bar before heading to bed. We'd a good night's sleep & got up early to get ready for the conference we were attending. I had noticed the rooms looked a bit '1990s' and obviously hadn't been refurbished in a while but this really became apparent when the shower head fell apart. I tried to put it back together myself instead of calling for maintenance & succeeded to an extent, but water was still spurting out in all directions. The thing that annoyed me was the reaction at reception the next morning whilst checking out. Without complaining strongly we mentioned the issues we had & suggested they get maintenance to the room. The lady thanked us for highlighting it & then the conversation continued: Receptionist: "Are you having breakfast with us this morning?" Me: "Yes" Receptionist: "Have you paid for it yet?" Me "Yes we paid for the room & breakfast together upon check-in" (wouldn't normally do this but I was using a debit card and they can only pre-swipe credit cards) Receptionist: "Ah, did you pay by card?" Me: "Yes" Receptionist: "OK...do you come to Galway often?" Me: "Not really, just every so often" Receptionist: "OK, well thanks for letting us know about the shower, have a good day." For me she might as well have said "I'd refund your breakfast but it's too much hassle, & you don't even come to Galway much anyway, so I don't care."
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Business trip

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and pleasent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Okay room. Bathroom good. Soundproofing in room very poor. Could here next rooms television. And conversation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended. Good value. Friendly staff.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel. Really good service. Friendly staff. Excellent leisure centre with two swimming pools, sauna, steam room available for use by the hotel guests. Really good choice of foods for the breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Really lovely hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
we were upgraded by the hotel with their complements really enjoyed the surprise when we arrived. We had a ball and the staff were very friendly. We have stayed there many times and would go back