Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Bar!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We loved staying here, the bar and live music were a lot of fun! Room was spacious. Twenty minute walk to Eyre Square, walked there, but took a cab back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Galway City Center

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: This hotel needs an update and it is very noisy.
Location: This hotel is a short bus ride to Galway City Center.
This hotel is fine. It's old, not very well kept up and very noisy. If you are adults traveling together, you should be aware that this hotel is very much a family hotel with lots of young children. The staff is very pleasent and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great location for Galway Races

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Good entertainment during races week, friendly staff, good breakfast, relatively comfortable room although pillows were absolutely dire, why couldn't they have spent just a little more and given guests a more comfortable sleep
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rimling

Hôtel décevant pour le prix

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Pas grand chose
Cons: Voir ci-dessus
Location: L'hôtel est à environ 30 mns de la ville.
Cet hôtel avait été une étape pour nous entre le Conemara et les falaises de Moher, mais nous avons été très déçu par l'hôtel. L'établissement était moche de l'extérieur. L'accès à la piscine était un véritable labyrinthe. Les règles à la piscine sont horribles : port du bonnet de bain obligatoire, interdiction de faire des photos, enfants interdits dans les jaccuzis et j'en passe. La chambre était grande, le personnel plutôt froid par rapport aux autres personnes d'Irlande. Il y avait également d'énormes difficultés à trouver une place de parking. Beaucoup trop cher pour les prestations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great facilities and staff

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Good atmosphere and stag very helpful in a hotel with great facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richester, NY

Nice room, no so much the facilities

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Our stay was fine except that our son couldn't use the pool because it was after 8 pm when we got there and their policy is no kids after 8 pm. They have a laundry room but the machines don't work. First there are no instructions on how to use them and after a long time trying to figure it out our clothes got washed but the dryer didnt work. I stayed up until 1 am waiting for clothes to dry but they never did. We had to take very wet clothes on a suitcase in a plane on our way to London. That didn't make us very happy. It was late and no laundromat was open. Our next flight was out if Dublin and we had to be on the road at 6:30 am.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwick,England

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Cons: Room tired ,dusty,ripped curtains hanging off rail,thin towels,cold with no way to adjust heat.All room for improvement.
Very busy,canteen style restaurant,lots of children , no quiet areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, WA

Very clean, has everything you might need

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Clean. Had a restaurant, room service, and gym.
Cons: Outside could use some touch up.
Location: You will need to take taxi into Galway where most all of the shopping and restaurants are located. It's approximately a 10 Euro fare.
We stayed at the Connacht for 2 nights on our way through from Dublin to Galway. We checked in on a Saturday afternoon and fortunately beat the rush of Hen and Stag party check-in's. The hotel advertises for these types of events and the place was full of them. They were having a fine time running up and down our hallway at 4:30 a.m. as well:) The good news is that Sunday morning was a very quiet breakfast:) It looks a little rundown when you first pull up but don't let that intimidate you, the inside is very clean. The rooms have everything you need, although ours was missing the ironing board and iron and when we called down for one it never arrived. The hotel has restaurant, pool, and gym. We used the gym, a little worn but has every piece of equipment you might need. Room service menu is limited. We didn't use the pool because swim caps were required but it looked very nice. We were busy exploring the town of Galway and the Aran Islands so we didn't spend much time at the hotel. For the price we paid it was worth the stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland CA USA

Comfortable enough, good facilities for exercise

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Workout facilities.
Cons: No shampoo or conditioner in bathroom--just a squeeze bottle with same stuff for body and hair. No place to hang towels in bathroom.
If you want to work out while traveling, this is the place. Club connected to hotel has good cardio and weights, and fabulous indoor swimming pool. Need to have a swim cap which will cost you E 2.5. Rooms and bathrooms on the small side. No refrigerators. Windows open only a tiny bit. Woman at desk checking us in was great. It appears that much of their business is tour groups. Downtown Galway a cab (E 10) or bus (E 2) ride away, not really walkable, especially if rain is threatening. Breakfast good but seems a bit overpriced at E10.50.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Great location for a stay in Galway

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Liked the location as it provided quick access to down-town Galway. The room was comfortable and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: A short drive to the downtown area and one can walk the streets, visit the shops and restaurants and experience a bit of the Irish music and culture.
Great room for the price. Near downtown Galway. We had driven across Ireland from Dublin. Plenty of parking. Checkin was quick. Restaurant on the premises as well as a swimming pool.