Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel very clean & great staff

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Friendly staff nice hotel . Just disappointed as we requested 1 double & 2 singles but got 2 doubles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Washcloths? :)
Location: It is in an easy to find location. Bus stop nearby. Great neighborhood and park close by. Convenience store across the street. It was perfect I think.
The food was wonderful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a good location. Overall a super value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delhi

Very hospitable, clean and excellent fsciliyies

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Very well connected. Good parking. Nice food and near the town centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter UK

Room comfort

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: The generator noise for some rooms and more light.
Location: A bus stop nearby so one could leave the car at the hotel and go by bus to the city center and explore Galway
When we arrived we were allocated a room just above a humming generator. It was also very dark due to brown wallpaper, brown wall hangings and deep brown lampshades. Reading one's book was certainly not an option, but unfortunately that's the case in many hotel rooms. The generator though was very unpleasant and we asked reception about an other room. They assured us the G. would be switched off at 9 pm. At 11.30 pm however it was still going strong. When we mentioned this the next morning the reception staff was very understanding and helpful and immediately offered us an other room. When we arrived back that evening all our luggage had been moved and we not only lost the G. but the room itself was very much lighter and pleasant. I could actually read my book! From then on we could not fault the hotel or their staff and had a very pleasant stay. It was very conveniently placed for traveling through to other places and had lots of parking places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Isle Of Wight, England

A Functional Hotel with no frills.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: One of the best swimming pools we have encountered on our travels. It has great areas for children whilst leaving serious swimmers plenty of room.
Cons: Many people would welcome what The Connacht Hotel has to offer. It just wasn't for us.
Location: About ten minutes away is the old part of Galway which fascinating to visit. Not much further away is Salthill which is a lovely sea side venue.
The Connacht is a very big hotel which caters for large groups of people so is ideal for conferences, conventions, coach parties and travelling sports teams with accompanying fans. It also has good facilities for young families with children. Unfortunately, the expansive restaurant and bar areas amplify sound so the only escape from the noise is outside in the conservatory area which is quite cold. In fact, the hotel is cold throughout. Our room was a good size but lacked the comfort we have grown to expect for the same price, on our travels. Other Spa hotels provide bathrobes - this one doesn't. Staff members are pleasant and helpful and the hotel boasts some excellent gym and Spa facilities. Generally there is a good choice of food, especially at breakfast time, although it is necessary to request tea spoons with which to stir coffee or tea! For us - as an elderly couple wanting a bit of comfort and finesse whilst on holiday - this hotel was not what we had hoped for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Nice big room ,

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice big room, clean, real king bed, so nice! Restaurant had great dinner close to town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Large hotel far from downtown

Posted Sep 16, 2017
It is a 25-30 minute walk to downtown Galway from this hotel. Rooms are outdated. Hotel is always very busy. Breakfast was good paid 8 euro pp at check in to add. A bonus was a free washer and dryer for guest use in each wing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel has seen better days

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Bathroom and room were clean. Front desk staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.
Cons: Updates to hotel would improve the ambience. Restaurant staff could be more attentive.
Location: It is about a 25 minute walk to downtown. Traffic in Galway was chaotic. It was easier to walk.
Hotel room was ok, but a bit "tired" looking. Staff at front desk were very helpful, but the restaurant staff were not very attentive. Food for breakfast was ok. Dinner and bar food were good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Dated hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Pool was ok. They looked like they had a great kids club, but we did not utilise it. The food in the restaurant was nice.
Cons: Friendliness and attention of staff could be improved.
Location: Walked into town - about 20 minutes away.
Hotel seemed dated and tired. Access was a bit scary getting in and out of the driveway on such a busy road. Pool was nice, but very shallow - and we had to walk through reception and quite a long way to get there. We had a meal in the hotel which was nice, but staff were not very attentive. Reception staff were not very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large hotel with on site bar, restaurant, gym

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Overall a good place. About a half hour walk to city center. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast selection. We had a couple staying above us who yelled at each other throughout the night. The staff were very understanding and quick to respond to the situation. The couple was kicked out the next day. There were little things to improve on: knocking when entering rooms for routine housekeeping and ensuring things like salt, pepper, cream on every table for breakfast. We would stay here again.