Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, less than ideal hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Nice location, but not great hotel. Clean, but sparse. Good for a night or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and very nice place

Posted May 17, 2017
I rate this based on the qualit of the stay and the price I paid. Great place for a great value. It is not a 5 star with spas, pool etc but very nice. Staff very friendly and accomodsting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Galway Spot--Very Close to Bus Station

Posted May 8, 2017
We loved the Western Hotel. When we took the bus from Dublin to Galway, it was only a two block walk to the hotel. We had lined up various bus tours, which were so close by each day. The free breakfasts each morning were really great, too. I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at the Western. Great place!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location in the centre of Galway

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast buffet the following morning was really nice and fresh!
Location: The hotel is right beside Eyre Square and therefore in the heart of the shopping area, John F Kennedy park, the iconic Cathedral and lots more.
I had actually reserved the room for the wrong night but the hotel honoured my booking and straightened it all out for me with no extra charges! Not alone that - I got a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment which made our brief stay all the more enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Nice three star hotel. Short walk to pubs and restaurants downtown. Free parking with valet was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dade City, Florida

Fantastic location & charming hotel.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Charming, central location, comfortable room with good storage.
Charming character yet modern amenities. Food and service were excellent. Great location to walk to the sights in Galway. Definitely would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Stayed one night. Quick walk to happenings in Galway. Room was clean but needs a little updating. We went to open mic night in hotel bar , drink prices were very reasonable and staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel right in the city

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The room was spacious and clean. I just wish we had a fan because it got a little warm. It was within walking distance to s bunch of bars, restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was great location and was a quiet nights sleep! Room had sizable bathroom with hot water and great water pressure. Great breakfast and parking available. Great value and highly recommen!.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Reasonable hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Good for a one night stay in Galway. Cheap and central.