Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Breakfast can be included in your room price. Same day laundry service is available. Good breakfast. Quick service.
Cons: Drainage of bathroom sink.
Location: One block off Eyre Square. Shops and restaurants close by. Bus and Coach stations within a few blocks.
Quick check in. Tour buses picked up here. Patio out back and in front for all the smokers. Slow elevators. Just your average hotel. Nothing bad or spectacular.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tired but central hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Hotel was fine for what we needed (cheap one night stay in city centre). Could do with a bit of a spruce up (curtains didnt cover windows etc)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc ny

Ripoff during Galway Race Week

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Overly expensive for a run down hotel with zero amenities or charm. No a/c, broken windows in public areas, next to a bus station with seagulls to wake you at dawn. Do yourself a favor and stay in a nicer hotel around the corner. Never again shall I stay here. Staff were fine but facilities are well below par.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location, nicer hotel than I thought

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, price, location
Cons: Air conditioning option
Location: See Galway city center
This hotel is right in the main area, within walking distance of almost everything. It looked unappealing from the front, and it is located around the corner from the train station so I was very concerned - no need! We heard NOTHING except the call of seagulls when the fishermen left docks in the morning- also a block away. The room and hotel are very clean, well decorated and nice. Hot water and clean American style bathroom. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was plentiful. Two minor complaints- my bed needed a new mattress, it was lumpy. And we happened to be there on the by hottest day of the summer and there is no air conditioning. The other nights were not bad, since the weather is usually cool at night. I would return there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Hotel in central Galway

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The Victoria is a convenient hotel, just off Eyre Square in the center of Galway, and within easy walking distance of shops, pubs, and restaurants. Tour buses stop just a few steps from the front door.. We stayed twice, first in a top floor rear room with no view (overlooking the railroad station) but relatively quiet. Our second stay was in a third-floor room on the front of the hotel, above the hotel entrance and a busy right-angle turn, with loud vehicle traffic, mostly from diesel buses, and noisy hotel and pub patrons. There was a choice between noise, light from a street lamp opposite, and fresh air.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Old, but not rustic

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Check in receptionist was great
Cons: All amenities
Location: Great strip and it is nice to have a pub in house, bit it is Ireland - pubs everywhere!
The hotel is priced less than competitors, but the facilities are old and worn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Nice and cozy. Cleaning staff smoke in this non smoking hotel which is a little off putting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Proximity to everything.
Cons: Decor could be improved, rather gloomy.
Location: Close to good shops,buses, eating places,entertainment,everything.
Weather dry, a bonus for Galway. Easy to get about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Great stay! Clean room, exceeded our expectations!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough for one night

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Clean, inexpensive
Cons: Waiters need training
Location: Walk to all sorts of stuff: eyrie square, Spanish arch, Galway cathedral
Just stayed one night as a stopover on the way south. Roon was clean but old. Trash bags were in the hallway when we came in, probably part of their cleaning routine but yuck. Front desk staff was nice but dining room servers were lax. Ok for one night but wouldn't stay there long.