Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Pretty But----

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Was under renovation, so noisy and food choices limited and costly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, the jungle was amazing. Had a great tour guide for a bird walk and a river tour (Thanks JOSE!). Just walking around the hotel was amazing - so many birds, so much wildlife, always the howler monkeys in the distance when the parrots and parakeets were a little quiet....the only drawback was the food. Because we were in the jungle, the food options were all in the hotel and the food was not that great. Was ok, just not great....
5 out of 5
by Anne from Phoenix, AZ

Not to miss experience!

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was beautiful and amazing. A little aging, yes, but if it were any more upgraded I couldn't afford it so i was pleased to be able to be at this epic, amazing location. Hotel staff were GREAT. Yes, Definitely helps to know Spanish. I had a maintenance issue in my room, it was addressed immediately. Requested coffee at dinner, the manager practically sprinted to get it for me. Everyone was so nice. Definitely, Definitely go to the conservation center. Amazing up close animal experiences.
3 out of 5
by Dawit from Calgary

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
It's a great place but the food is a little bit overpriced and lack choices.
5 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, US

Great in the off season

Posted Jun 29, 2016
We were there in the low season (June) and it was great. Not crowded at all. Rooms were clean and views from the balconies couldn't be any better. We had no problem getting on tours at the last minute etc. Most of their tours are not really for the serious wildlife enthusiast, but the guides were knowledgeable and the canopy aerial tram was fun never the less. There are plenty of trails you can walk by yourself if you care to get out and we saw wildlife from the balcony and hotel walkways. With your own car you can get to lots of good day trips, so a good base for exploring from.
3 out of 5
by Bruce from Baltimore

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
An issue that the hotel has is that there is a mold problem throughout the entire complex
4 out of 5
by SARAH from tortola

Hotel in rainforest half an hour from Panama City!

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We loved it! Fairly basic hotel, comfortable but shabby, set in the most amazing setting of river and rainforest jungle. Loads to do and see if you like nature and walking, also varied trips into the canal with loads of monkeys, wildlife and birds... A horde of green parrots nested outside our room each night! Their restaurant Coratu is nice - it had a special buffet each night we were there - Italian, Caribbean, International etc - all very tasty and reasonably priced - $25 all you can manage- and there was lots! Breakfast was Ok -$16 - not amazing value really but actually the only place where you could get any breakfast I think! (One tip - There were no shops that we could find so take everything you need such as sunscreen and insect repellent etc.) We were very sad to leave this most beautiful spot and will definitely be back to stay there and explore other parts of amazing Panama!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Incredible experience! Not luxury-

Posted May 3, 2016 on Orbitz
By all means NOT a luxury resort, but coming into it knowing that, it definitely exceeded all expectations. The hotel itself is nice enough, not super done up, the toilet didn't flush properly but the shower was lovely. There were obvious cosmetic things they could do to the hotel to real improve upon it as well, so if you are looking for luxury and super clean, this isn't for you. But if you are looking for a truly amazing experience then this is the place! Waking up every morning watching the fog lift from the rain forest and seeing the agouti's and toucans wake up all while drinking your coffee sitting on the hammock was incredible. There are also numerous trails around the grounds that you could walk for days and days. The only downfall is that there was no early morning taxi service. If you need an early morning service you need to pre book it. We wanted to go to pipeline road for birding at 7:00 am and we would have had to wait 40 minutes for a taxi from Panama City to arrive. The hotel should really provide a shuttle to these types of places as they are only 5-10 minutes drive and the location of the hotel attracts a lot of wildlife enthusiasts so this could be a positive thing for them to do. Also, a suggestion, they need to add a vending machine or a shop in which to buy water or Gatorade or snacks. Since there is really nothing nearby, it is difficult to keep yourself hydrated and fed in the heat. The food at the restaurant was very good albeit expensive.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels