Ratings based on 1,573 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice hotel great area

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: We loved the sauna and plunge pool. Would recommended it to anyone.
Cons: It does need a bit of TLC. A bit of a painting
Location: Many bars and restaurants, old town great to explore. Palace a 2 minute walk, with sight seeing tours by bus and boat.
The hotel is situated in the old town, it is a very lively and picturesque area. The staff were marvellous and made the stay very memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel in a great location in the Old Town.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The hotel is situated brilliantly to explore Stockholm, close by the palace and the hop on hop off bus and boat tour stops with great views. We chose a room with a view rather than a balcony, which was ideal. The room was comfortable and well equipped. Staff we're all very friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfasts were great and we also enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Excellent hotel! Well localized, in old Stockholm near all attractions! Good breakfast. In bonus, our own sauna in the room!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the middle of everything

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Nice hotel in the best location in town. Very good breakfast to start the day. The sauna is an excellent idea after walking all day. I had a room with water view on the fifth floor. It was the best view I ever had at any hotel in any city. If you want a great place to stay in Stockholm in the middle of everything, then First Hotel Reisen is an excellent choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location; great breakfast and reception staff

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: We were able to check in early (when we arrived at 11:00). Reception staff were very helpful. Buffet breakfast was very good
Cons: Surprised there was no safe in the room. BBC World on the TV guide turned out to be Al-Jazeera
Location: In old city (Gamla Stan). View to harbour (via a cleverly placed mirror in the case of our room). Short walk to Royal Palace and ferries.
We stayed 2 nights at the end of a Baltic cruise in order to visit some of the museums.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Tomas Tegfors, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I give top grades back to you for the prompt feedback as there is something for us to improve on. The TV channel I was not aware of and will correct immediately. Safe will be in all rooms shortly as we are going into a phase of refurbishing. Welcome back to enjoy more of Stockholm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation

Posted Sep 2, 2017
This was a very old hotel small rooms in need of updating. There was no climate control in rooms and no air conditioner. There was no ice, the machine was broken. The lighting was very dim. You could not read in the evening. Mold was in the bath tiles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Tomas Tegfors, Hotel Management
We appreciate to hear from you after your recent visit. The hotel is fitted into an excisting building dating back to early 17th Century, therefore there are a big variation of room types and sizes. Due to weather in Sweden we do not have hotels with air condition, however the climate control should work, thank you for letting us know and we will look into this. We are very proud to be able to announce that the hotel is now moving into a phase of refurbishing bit by bit. We will close off one floor at a time not to disturb all our guests. We hope to see you back with us to review the new rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sc/sc usa

Nice location to harbors and sights

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Loved the breakfast and hotel location very much.tho the beds were clean they were not as comfortable as we expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel with fantastic view!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
excellent breakfast buffet- we will miss it! quiet hotel in a great location!! nice staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Tomas Tegfors, Hotel Management
We are delighted to see you enjoyed our breakfast, we are proud of this and lay down a lot of effort. Hope to see you back in Stockholm soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Location, location, location. You can't do better that this!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel in good location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The staff. The breakfast. The location
Cons: The rooms as above
Location: Great location on Gamla Stan. Lots to do.
The staff at this hotel are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a good location, although I consider that the photograph of the exterior is misleading - it's looks like a very big hotel when in reality it is quite small. The breakfast was good. The disappointing thing was the rooms. Although we had a so-called superior room it was very small and the bathroom was incredibly small and poky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Tomas Tegfors, Hotel Management
We appreciate to hear from you after your recent visit. The hotel is fitted into an existing building from early 17th Century and there is a large variation of sizes of rooms and bathrooms. Please let us know you preferences upon your next visit and we will make sure you get a room you will like. Hope to see you soon.