Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington Dc

Sleeping with History

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Great location, amazing staff. Great coffee. If you’re interested in staying in Gamla Stan and sleeping in a 400 year old building now a hotel, this is the place. 5 our of 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Lovely place to stay

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Staff were very accommodating. Room was very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was good, prompt and hot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Hanna-Triin, Hotel Management
Dearest Pam, thank you so much for your feedback! We work hard to make sure that everyone enjoys their stay to the fullest and wish to cater a lovely place to stay in our beautiful capital, so it makes our hearts smile to know that we succeeded. Until next time! Hanna-Triin Hotel Sven Vintappare
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Accessibility to all the local attractions
Cons: The breakfast could be more robust.
Location: The location is in the center of Gamla Stan. You are within walking distance of
This is the tiniest hotel in Stockholm with only 7 guest rooms. It is extremely clean and within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping, and restaurants. It doesn't look like much on the outside , but the rooms are fantastic. There is no elevator because of the age of the building. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful.
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Koji

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tyler

Charm and charm

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. We stayed in the suite and had plenty of room. The climb up the steps was fun, but to be fair could be tiring. We decided it would be fun. The only other issue was the bathroom had a drying pole that could throw heat (of course we are not used to this type of accessory and so might have made this worse) and the windows needed to be shut to sleep with the late sun and street sounds. But besides this the staff were amazing, sweet and wonderful to deal with. The Cafe' was a delight and breakfast was substantial without being overdone. The baking of the buns and other pastries made the place smell wonderful most of the day. Our 11 yo boy loved the old medieval room and with the TinTin store up the street made for a comfortable child. We loved the place. You should love the place, but some people might find it not their style. I found it was the best place for us and will be on future visits.
5 out of 5
by Arthur

Nice place

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay
5 out of 5
by Toni

A great 4 night stay in Gamla Stan!

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful place to stay in Stockholm! Everybody there is so nice and friendly. They are so helpful too. We really loved it so much. I am definitely staying here again soon. Next time I will bring my adult kids and their families because it is the perfect spot to walk to everything and a great place to come home to at night. I have stayed in many hotels and this is truly a wonderful experience in Gamla Stan. Thank you to all of the staff! We miss you all already!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON

Such a fantastic stay at hotel Sven Ventaparre!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, authenticity, hostory, cozy
Cons: Shampoo, soap,
Location: Lots to see right in the old town- the palace, shops and old neighborhood.
We loved this hotel for its warmth and charm. If you need a modern, full amenities hotel, this is not for you. It is an authentic experience in the old town of Stockholm. John and the rest of the staff are warm helpful and freindly. European style breakfasts are so nice in the cosy breakfast room. The hotel is an original 1607 house, restored in the required way- so walls and floors are sloping and floors creak- you get a huge old brass key for the room. Bathrooms are modern and efficient, although small. (Shower is simply a curtain drawn around a corner in the bathroom.) My only improvements would be offering facecloths and bars of soap. Internet was sometimes off and on. Difficult for business sometimes. Much better for a romantic getaway! Excellent all around. Thanks very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm springs

Charming

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Charming 400 year old building. Cheerful helpful staff