Ratings based on 1,019 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Characterful centrally located hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Located in Gamla Stan but on a quiet street, it was exactly what we wished for. The only minor quibble was that there was insufficient fresh fruit at the breakfast buffet so although the platters of cheese and meat were replenished, the fruit wasn't. Considering they offered breakfast from 7 until 10 and by 8.30 one morning all the fruit had gone, that was a pity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Amazing bed, fantastic bathroom and the decor of the hotel means that just walking around in the Victory is an adventure. Very close to 19 Glas and Flying Elk. Will be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Great place To Stay in Gamla Stan

Posted May 18, 2017
Read several reviews online and felt reviews were very accurate. Room was very small but quaint. Beds were comfortable. Great location in old town. Close to metro shopping and dining options. Front desk Staff were wonderful and accommodating and made every effort to make our stay a memorable one. I am not one to write reviews but felt compelled to do so as this hotel is a local hidden gem and staff truly care for their guests. Only downside is that the elevator is out of order and carrying luggage up the stairs can be challenge. Staff were quick to provide assistance and it wasn't an inconvenience. Would definitely return when I come back to Stockholm.
5 out of 5
by James

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful historic hotel in Old town Stockholm. Only problem was that the elevator was broken and I felt they should have offered at least a glass of wine to make up for the inconvenience of walking up 4 very long steep flights of stairs to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somewhere in Norway

A piece of Swedish history

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Refer above
Cons: Can`t think of anything in particular - except that the boiled eggs could be a bit hotter.
Location: Too long a story - read about it yourselves.
Very friendly staff, always helpful. Excellent maritime atmosphere, something of an education.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay in Stockholm

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: I liked the breakfast, the look of the place, the facilities downstairs including a Sauna and generally an interesting place to stay.
Cons: I think the rooms look a little bare and having no tea and coffee inside the rooms seems a little cheap. Strange as they were generous.
Location: Very good location and an easy walk to the other islands.
The Victory Hotel is well located in the old town of Gamla Stan. There is a metro stop very close by and the location is generally quiet. The hotel is very interesting inside, done to look like the inside of a ship, with like cabins and many old features downstairs. Breakfast was generous and the facilities were good. The lack of tea and coffee inside the room was perhaps a little disappointing, although this is provided in the corridor. I received a small bottle of Port each night, which was a very generous thought. I really liked this hotel and staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Feliks

A very pleasant place with lots of character

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very nice small hotel, located right at the outskirts of the picturesque Old Town, an easy 20 minute walk from the central train station. If you turn one way, you're in the middle of Gamla Staden, if you feel like avoiding tourist traps, you can just turn the other way. The hotel itself is very nice, with a distinctively nautical decor. Very clean. My single-double room was a bit on the small side, but well designed, with good furniture, suitable for a longer stay (though if I had a really large suitcase I wouldn't really know where to put it). The bathroom quite big, with two washbasins (nice touch if you are a couple). Shower very nice to look at, quite modern, though made to look a like an old one. Once you figure out how to use it (might be a problem for the jet-lagged) it's quite satisfactory, though of course it lacks the massage-mode one gets used to in the US. The floor right outside the shower cabin gets a bit wet, but not a major problem. Staff very helpful and friendly, though I did experience a bit of a mix-up in the morning. I had to get up early, so ordered a small breakfast for 6:30 and a wake-up call for 6:15. The call came at 6:32, and the breakfast was made ready at 6:15 (coffee got cold). The night guy said, disarmingly: "I got a new (wake-up) machine". A very human touch, much nicer than a standard apology. :-) All in all, highly recommended. I would choose it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex,England

Small friendly hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet room and excellent breakfast.
Location: Within easy reach of central Stockholm' s main museums, palaces and the waterfront
The Victory Hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of old Stockholm so ideal for visiting the city on foot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Flying Stockholm visit

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel in great location, ideal for seeing Stockholm sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, with lots of charm

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Not your vanilla cookie cutter big box hotel, but something with real charm. Has a nautical theme and is bang in the old town (Gamla Stan) which makes it convenient. Stayed with my wife and 2 young kids and couldn't be more pleased. If you can, get the Captain's luxury suite (room109) - its huge, beautifully decorated and more than big enough for a family of 4. And the jacuzzi in the bathroom is a lot of fun with kids. Highly recommended!