Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great break before flying out

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Close to airport. Good buffet and clean rooms.
The Gateway Hotel is a nice bit of luxury before your flight out of Sri Lanka. Clean rooms, good customer service from friendly hotel staff and a very good buffet dinner. Nice and close to the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice Hotel close to the Airport

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Service, Convenience
Location: Close to the Airport
Very conveniently located if you have to catch an early morning flight. Enjoyed the stay in general . The service at the restaurant was outstanding. Will certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel close to the airport

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We booked this hotel for one night but we only needed few hours to shower and sleep due to a late night flight. The room is clean and good size. We asked for early check-in and the staff accommodated for that. The buffet lunch has a great selection of food; we only wanted a light lunch before sleeping but unfortunately we were told no a-la-carte so we complied with the bufet lunch which was quite expensive for Sri Lanka (about 30 AUD) since all we wanted was a salad. Overall a good stay and less than 10 minutes from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes UK

Stay in a pleasant hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: No improvements neded
Location: Airport nearby and shops within easy reach.
Our stay at the Taj Gateway Airport Hotel was amazing. It was situated amongst an appealing coconut estate. Stall was pleasant and helpful and very polite. Situated near to airport was an asset that o us who had an early morning flight out of Colombo. We were greeted with a complimentary suite upgrade. The suite as amazing. Breakfast was top class and Services exceptional Staff arranged all transfer to airport . Can't fault in any way.. will use again.
5 out of 5
by Mittal

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
hi,hotel is very nice I specially thanks to mr riyaz for upgrade room thanks for your service & your hospitality .we stay for 1 day its was wonderful stay at gate way hotel .and I want to thanks to restaurant mr bharat ,mrs princy ,mr siddiq,they r very helpful,for veg they prepare for us veg food was very tasty thanks ,I 100 % recommended .all people r very helpful from manager to bellboy.thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great location close to airport, clean, comfortable and good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

easy stay

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Location and buffet
Quick taxi ride from airport. Clean, comfortable room. Beautiful pool and grounds. Great buffet breakfast with good selection of Sri Lankan favorites and international food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uae

Good stopover hoyel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Everything was perfect except it was fully booked and the only room available was a room with seperate beds. Only when you want airport transfer they tell you its $9. Airport is 2km away. Find out at in the morning that the wall plug was not suitable for a 15amp international plug. Therefore i could not use my hair accessories.
3 out of 5
by Peter

Convenient Clean near Airport

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is very Chinese - huge, impersonal, money oriented completely lacking in charm. Staff are helpful and kind always willing to help. Convenient if you have to stay near the airport.
4 out of 5
by Anna

Convenient and good hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Very good hotel