Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lucas

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
It was an excellent experience. Hotel staff were friendly, bar staff were superb. My only concern - we lost wifi for most of the 2 days spent there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Recently renovated

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Updated rooms and dining area.
Cons: The room will improve as the odor of curing glues dissipates. Gym could use a few more amenities. Scrambled eggs overcooked. Pub has no atmosphere.
Hotel Gander will be changing it's name to Quality Inn soon. Rooms are small but updated. Gym is a little short of equipment. Only had the included breakfast buffet which is not great. My room had a double bed as a queen would be a little crammed. OK for one person.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Tanya , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gander, nl

Gander Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel is currently Undergoing renovations and is very unappealing beyond the main floor. Hallways are very cold and the room wasn't the cleanest. Breakfast was great and the staff were great as well. I hope it's nicer throughout when the renovations are complete. Staff should try to place guests in a more apppealing part of the hotel when they have high vacancy. There were only 7 rooms booked when w stayed there and I'm sure we were given the least appealing one in the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nope

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Room smelled, carpet was incredibly damp even wet, room tidied up late and found things in garbage that we didn't leave, and our flat iron plugged in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stop over from St. John's to Corner Brook

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Was a little pricey considering it was under major renovations there was no compensation for the "mess" and the lack of restaurant services!
3 out of 5
by Gerard from NL

Hotel was OK..Good location

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in the middle of a complete renovation, so I cut them a little slack..!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

In spite of renovations very satisfied

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: Tim's nearby, easy to find. Silent Witness Memorial very worthwhile to visit.
Great staff, good check in and out experience, renovations underway but staff did everything to make our experience pleasurable. Good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We are usually not the type of people to write reviews however this was the one hotel that we would not recommend during our stay in Newfoundland. The other guests on the second floor were incredibly loud till past 1am. Neither of us were able to sleep and we are surprised it was not stopped. Besides that, it provided us with the basics of a hotel and had a convenient location.
3 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels