Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Friendly and comfortable hotel near Pont du Gard

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Location: Ideal for visiting Pont du Gard and walking in the Gardon valley
Delightful and quiet location in small village close to Pont du Gard. Old stone building tastefully renovated. Superb dinners served on shaded terrace. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Secure off-street parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The ambiance
Location: Charming town, kayaking, biking, hiking.
We booked this hotel as a stopover from Carcassonne to Dijon. If we had known how wonderful this hotel was, we would have stayed much longer. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, extremely clean, and incredibly romantic. The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect. There are so many activities in the area, we could have kept ourselves busy for days. This hotel was our favorite in our travels throughout France.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland

Nice hotel in a medieval French town

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The old building, staff
Cons: There should be a written instruction on how to use the egg cooker for breakfast buffet. The wifi was pretty much useless.
Location: There really isn't much to do in the town other than to hit the beach by the river. You can drive to Pont du Gard or Uzes for site seeing
This is newly renovated hotel in a old building reside in a French medieval town. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and spoke very good English. The room we had was a corner room and had to walk outside first to get to our room, which we thought was a bit odd, but once we are in our room, it was a very charming room with exposed wooden beams on the ceiling. This town has very little to offer in terms of site seeing, but there is a nice river within a 5-minute walk and Pont du Gard is a 15 minute drive away. Also we visited Uzes the town was build in early 1200, and the castle tour was very nice. This hotel has a swimming pool but you have to walk through the dining area of the restaurant, but during the middle of the day, there was nobody, so was not a problem. We did not eat in the restaurant since it was a Michelin star restaurant and I didn't think our 5 year old would appreciate such affair. In stead, we walked over to the river and there was a very nice restaurant with good food reasonably priced. We opted for the breakfast buffet which was a bit pricey but it was worth the price. The wifi did not work at all although you can see wifi access directions in the hotel directory. The bottled water was very expensive at the hotel. I suggest walk down a few minutes to a local general store to get bottled water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lol from Buckinghamshire, UK

Couples retreat

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: Beautiful, peaceful setting, pretty garden.
Cons: Distant parking, intermittent wifi.
Location: Perfect for a quiet couples weekend.
Beautiful setting, boutique style hotel, helpful staff. The hotel is in a very pretty village, which means a narrow cobbled street to drive onto to get to the entrance. The parking area is a short distance away and is secure. The hotel is made up of several buildings, and it was a short walk to our room, however we had quite a lot of luggage, and there are no lifts. The hotel advertises wifi availability, but there was none in our room, we needed it for business reasons, after several attempts by reception staff to remedy the situation, we were moved to a lovely room in main building, where the connection was fine. The staff were very helpful, in this regard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Franz from Miami, FL

Quaint, but far

Posted Sep 26, 2011
Pros: Loved the "character" of the hotel, very midieval feel to it, large bathroom with tub in middle of room, castle-like walls and windows. The dinner was EXCELLENT, French cuisine, so don't expect American food. Beautiful garden as well, and a small pool. Cons: Location. Very far from everything, we arrived at night and drove half hour down tiny winding roads, was very worried the road was going to end! When we did get there the restaurant was closed, and there was nothing in the whole village open to get something to eat. We could have driven back half hour to get McDonald's, but didn't want to risk the drive at night again. The mini bar didn't have any food... The double-bed was actually two singles pushed together, and there is no elevator so pack light (we had to go up two narrow flights and had 4 bags!). Overall though I liked the place, as I mentioned food was very elegant and good, great wine and service excellent. Just come prepared. Wifi available for free but not compatble with Macs/iPad/iPhone (seemed kind of weird).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Country Gem

Posted Jul 23, 2009
Hotel Le Castellas is an incredible place to stay. Nestled in the small village of Collias near Pont du Gard, 5 star restaurant, pricey but well worth the splurge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Book early

Posted May 13, 2009
This hotel on two sides of the street is a testament to provencal hospitality. The stone walls and painted ceilings make it seem as if you're in a film set. Its all authentic and its all beautiful. To cap it all, there's a Michelin starred restaurant. Too formal for my liking but highly recommended. If you want to get a table, make sure you contact the hotel and make a booking as early as possible
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scotch Plains, NJ

Wonderful, beautiful, will definitely stay here again.

Posted Jul 18, 2007
Loved this friendly little hotel. The staff is very nice and sophisticated at the same time. The dining room is wonderful little tables in a garden with candles and exceptionally good food. Our room was Provence perfect looking through shutters at a church and the village. Just loved it and will be back with my family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Disappointing New Year's Eve meal

Posted Jan 22, 2007
My wife and I were shocked at the arrogance of the hotelier when we had the "nerve" to complain about the extremely poor service we received at this 31st Dec meal. It was going to be the highlight of our stay at the hotel over New Year and indeed the first 7 courses (of 12) went fine.We commenced our meal at 8pm approx and had completed the first 7 courses by 10pm. Our plates were cleared away by 10.15pm and we then waited and waited until 10.40pm before I left the dining room ( 1 of 3 being used that night)to express our dissatisfaction with the delay . I spoke to 2 senior waiting staff including the sommerlier , who agreed that our service was unsatisfactory.The French couple seated adjacent to us had , in the interim , had 2 further courses , received their bill , paid and left!!As they left and being aware that we had stopped being served ,they asked us if we were due to be there "all" night!! After a further 15 minutes (it was now 55 minutes between courses)we left the dining room feeling totally defeated and totally ignored. As we left the same 2 staff acknowledged that there was a problem in the kitchen! When checking out the owner told us that it was our problem , we had been impatient!! She could not accept that her hotel at been at fault but she did re-adjust our bill (very slightly!) It was the utter arrogance of the owner that caused most hurt and prompted this review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick

Well situated: attractive decor and pleasant staff

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The situation. The dining room and outdoor terrace.
Cons: A kettle in the bedroom to be able to prepare hot drinks.
Location: The Pont du Gard and its museum is stupendous. Our reason for the visit. Also excellent area for outdoor activities. We walked.
The superior bedroom had been recently refurbished and was comfortable. In particular the balcony was nice. Expedia price competitive but €20 per head for breakfast seemed high. A pity the restaurant is not open for dinner every night.