Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gregory from Burbank

Great Hotel, Service & Food

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
I was impressed with the overall service of everyone in the hotel. The food in the lower-level restaurant was of superior quality and contained the best dessert buffet I've ever seen. My only complaint would be that the hotel is far from any nearby restaurants or businesses, and since there's not a single vending machine in the hotel, one must resort to buying the snacks in the hotel room, indulge in a large meal, or drive some distance to the closest restaurant where you can obtain a light meal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleepless Night

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
Room had no A/C, due to the fact that management decided to switch on the heat for winter (despite the fact that it was 72F/22C outside). Room was unbearably hot during the evening. Left with the choice of sweating all night or opening the window. If choosing the latter, one is greeted with loud noise from the highway, hungry hungry mosquitoes, and bright lights aimed conveniently into your room. Asked for a fan at front desk - said they had none. Seems like poor decision making on the part of management. Front desk personnel were kind and helpful within their limited powers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Client, We, the management team and students’ of Vatel, are happy that you have chosen Vatel for your stay. We apologise that your stay didn’t go as planned. The Vatel Hotel is currently equipped with centralized heating, which is controlled due to the general demands of the customers. The decision to turn on the heater, although the 22°c (the unexpected rise of the heat in the middle of winter) needs understanding. Your stay in our hotel was in the middle of November, which is usually a cold and windy weather at this time of year. We hope to see you again and will try our best to make your future stay with us as pleasant as possible. Yours Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by Steve from London

New Year's Day

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived on 1 January mid day, when hotel restaurant was fully booked for celebration meal. Couldn't find a place to park but managers took care of this for us once we finally reached reception. Pool was closed for cleaning but we only received an email about this after we had checkin in. So we cancelled second night of booking as pool was important for us. Of course we understand pools need cleaning some time, so we were just unlucky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Aguilar, Hotel Management
Sir, Thank for taking time to write about your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you couldn’t enjoy the pool (it was notified on our website) and we hope to receive you again for your next vacancy in France. Best regards The Direction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wonderful Hotel experience, Nimes not so great....

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The most comfortable bed and pillows in four weeks of travelling.
Cons: We had to ask for an extra towel a few times as we had not been given the correct number for our family. They need pool towels as well.
Location: Nimes did not have much to offer as a tourist visiting. No restaurants open in town -sat night! Surrounding sights - approx 1 hours drive away- good.
The Hotel was very welcoming, even when we asked to change rooms because we had been allocated a smoking room, this was not a problem for them. We had a wonderful buffet dinner at the hotel and enjoyed the pool and spa. When we booked in for a beauty treatment this was very professionally done. Great range of treatments for those who have been on the road a while.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Anne Maud Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff professional and helpful. It is always pleasant to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide good service are appreciated by those who receive it. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind Regards.
1 out of 5
by Florence from London

very disappointing and incompetent staff

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
despite asking twice (once in my booking, and once at the check-in) for a non-smoking room, i was given a smoking room, which stunk of cigarette. when i asked the staff for a different room, they were aggressive and told me it was my fault.Several times, I asked the staff simple questions and each time, they were not able to answer the questions (what time the gym opens etc) . Overall, i found the staff really unpleasant and quite incompent.The gym is nice but opens between 9am and 8pm, which is good if you are on holiday. but if you are there for work, then it's a bit useless. On the whole, the hotel is nice, but again, it was wasted by having a smoking room and by the staff being unpleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, let us say that we are extremely concerned to read about your review. We really appreciate receiving comments from our guests to strengthen our service and give our customers the quality service they expect. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointments you may have during your stay at Vatel and we are looking forward to surprise you and delight you on your next trip to Vatel Nîmes. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Ma.

Great relaxing hotel

Posted May 2, 2014
Staff were very attentive and professional. I am a swimmer, so I appreciated the pool each day. However, it does not officially open until 9 a.m. I like to work out at 7 or 8 a.m. Would like to have had the opportunity to o my own routine then. Instead i had to join classes with the coach and others. The room was wonderful, clean and many extras with coffee and chocolates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Anne Maud Aguilar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us to let us your comments. All feedbacks are very important in order to improve our quality and services, that is why we speak with the Spa manager about the opening time. We are extremely concerned about the satisfaction of our guests and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Vatel. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by tonybentley from UK-Spain

Fantastic service

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
We arrived late (after a 15 hour drive) and had, just, missed dinner. However the reception staff spoke with the chef and we got a marvellous dinner, complete with excellent service that we really appreciated. The room was excellent, breakfast a treat and we couldn't fault anything.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Chicago-USA

Great hotel for a night.

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels
In spite of the fact the hotel was clean, comfortable and staffed by a great group on young people, if you arrive hungry and wish order a snack, forget it you're out of luck until the kitchen opens at 8PM, local time.... I recommend bring a your own food and enjoy a cocktail in the dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Houston, Texas, US

A comfortable place to stay in Nimes

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: The size of this room and the fact that it had AC!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nearby (with a short cab ride) are the Ampitheatre, The Jardins de la Fountain, and the Maison Carrée.
Well, while this hotel is not located in the heart of City Center, it was a 'GREAT' place to stay. After being in a small apartment in Paris during the summer heatwave of 2013, the room we had here was a palace. The size was comparable to what we are use to in the US. Likewise, the bathroom was more than adequate. Other amenities included a pool and gym. Also, the morning breakfast buffet was filling and had many different meal options for different nationalities. The staff were friendly and are multilingual. If you don't need to be located in the middle then I would highly recommend this hotel. Cheers!